Vote at the MRAs 2011 here!



Friday, July 29, 2011
Billboard Update



LMFAO's Party Rock Anthem is still reigning at #1 on the Hot 100, but Katy Perry is really gaining some serious ground with latest single Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.), peaking at #2 this week with the Airplay Gainer Title. Bad Meets Evil aka Eminem and Royce da 5'9" have a new single out featuring Bruno Mars called Lighters which hops on the trend of singers singing on rapper's tracks at enters the Top 10 at #10 thanks to the Digital Gainer Title. Britney's new tune I Wanna Go is also inching closer to the Top 10, landing just outside at #11 this week. Beyonce's dreary and completely dull ballad Best Thing I Never Had moves up to #19 this week, the first time any of Bey's songs from the 4 era has made it into the Top 20. Rihanna's summer ballad California King Bed shoots up ten spots to #37 this week while Nicole Scherzinger stays firmly at #39 with Right There. Selena Gomez & The Scene's Love You Like A Love Song continues free falling down the chart, landing at #44 this week. But I guess this week's biggest faller is Demi Lovato's Skyscraper. Despite the pop ballad becoming Lovato's highest charting song on the Hot 100 to date at #10, it's slipped all the way to #51 this week. Oof. But it's not all bleak in the pop world as Jennifer Lopez' I'm Into You rises further to #55 despite not having any proper promotion in the States. Avril Lavigne's Smile is entrenched at #80 this week. Making its way up is Adele's Someone Like You, inching up to #85 this week.

Parent album 21 has also regained top spot over on the Billboard 200 Albums Chart. Since her untimely death, Amy Winehouse has seen a massive resurgence in terms of album and single sales, and second album Back to Black re-enters the chart at #9 while first album Frank debuts at #57, actually marking a new peak for the album. Falling out of the Top 10 and at #15 this week is Colbie Caillat's third disc All of You. Christina Perri's debut set Lovestrong skyrockets up the chart at #54 up from #90 the previous week. David Cook continues plummeting down the chart as This Loud Morning falls to #73 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:06 PM | comment link here





Sunday, July 24, 2011
Jessica Mauboy - Inescapable [Music Video Premiere]



So it appears Get 'Em Girls isn't dead yet. Aussie pop diva Jessica Mauboy enjoyed some massive success with her debut album's six successful singles which firmly placed her as Aussie's Stars To Watch. Then she recorded and released the ghetto Beyonce-esque single Get 'Em Girls which was Jessica going all 'look guys, I can really do the urban/dance sexy style of music too!'. But the music video got it all wrong and she fell off the tracks. Quickly, she hopped onto the dance/pop trend and managed to score a Aussie Top 10 hit Saturday Night which eventually went Platinum, then closing the entire album era with album stunner What Happened To Us featuring Jay Sean.

All in all, still underwhelming by Jessica's standards.

But then there were plans to release a new single Inescapable. A brand new album seemed too quick but we're all enlightened now. Jess and her label are planning to relaunch the flop album by injecting some new songs and throwaway remixes we've all heard before. They seemed to have gotten a couple things right so far.



First the single cover for Inescapable, showing off a clean and simple yet sophisticated look. And this continues with the deluxe edition of the Get 'Em Girls album cover below.



Top marks in my books. However, the premiere of the music video for Inescapable is where Jessica faltered again.

It's the kind of track you'd bop along nicely to on the radio when it comes on, but not good enough to make you want to find out what song is playing. Also, even though the video for Inescapable is hardly the train wreck that Get 'Em Girls was, it's way too childish and amateur for me. The track itself is too on some levels in terms of production.

Mmmm, Jess? I'll really need you to get your shit together and release the effing amazing track Dance It Off that leaked earlier this year, thanks.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:37 PM | comment link here





Saturday, July 23, 2011
Big News: Listen to The Saturdays' new single All Fired Up



British pop princesses The Saturdays have always been the reigning girl group ever since uber successful girl group icons Girls Aloud took a break in 2009, and have won over audiences with their radio-friendly pop sing-a-long big choruses which have earned them eight Top 10 UK singles. Then, Parade and Wonderland, two new girl groups came along with Parade doing the exact same music The Saturdays were doing except they looked more hipster while Wonderland did your not-so-typical girl group sound of Hot AC.

With The Saturdays being Queens of the British girlband throne, they had to switch up their sound and took things a notch, kicking their songs into overdrive and the new sound was indicated by Notorious, one of the first pop groups to employ the On Air/On Sale way of selling their single, their fanbase still managed to pull the group to another Top 10 spot of #8, but it plummeted down the Top 40 Singles Chart due to its drastic change in sound which left many diehard fans stunned.

Now that Notorious is trying to stay afloat, hovering around the #20+ spots on the UK Singles Chart, The Saturdays have premiered their brand new single All Fired Up which follows their new sound of being clubbier. But while Notorious was a bold club stomper, All Fired Up is a little more Europop and sounds more like something you'd rave to.

And it is coincidentally, sounding like it could be their best single so far. While UK pop bands are all following their particular formula, The Saturdays are breaking out and showing many different sides, slaying almost everybody in the pop game.



Unfortunately, the girls will have to perform this live someday, debuting at a summer festival today in fact, and I somehow can't see them pulling off this crazily paced dancefloor-filling number which would require frenetic choreography, and we all know they're not exactly the best dancers..

Still, now that we're used to The Saturdays slaying the clubs now, let's hope this one sticks around more than Notorious could.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:14 PM | comment link here





Friday, July 22, 2011
Billboard Update



Party Rock Anthem and Pitbull's Give Me Everything have both maintained their first two spots on the Hot 100, but Katy Perry's gaining serious momentum now with Last Friday Night racking up the Airplay Gainer Title. OneRepublic have also stayed dead on at #8 while Demi Lovato's knocks out her highest debut on the Hot 100 so far as Skyscraper arrives at #10. On its way up is I Wanna Go, the third single lifted off Britney's latest disc Femme Fatale, peaking at #13 this week. After peaking at #35 last week, Selena Gomez' lulzy new single Love You Like A Love Song has slipped two spots down to #37 while Nicole Scherzinger's not unpleasant midtempo number Right There rises to #39 this week. The Kelly Clarkson assisted track Don't You Wanna Stay by Jason Aldean has re-arrived at #48. The currently single Jennifer Lopez' current single I'm Into You moves up to #66. Colbie Caillat's album All of You has dropped and album cut What If debuts at #77 while Avril Lavigne's current single Smile rises to a new peak of #80 this week. Adele, fresh off the back of her 7 VMA nominations, has got a new song on the Hot 100 that's not Rolling In The Deep. It's her most recent UK #1 - Someone Like You, re-entering the Hot 100 at #97 after a brief one week stay the week 21 was released.

Blake Shelton's new album Red River Blue bows at #1 over on the Billboard 200 Album Chart while Colbie Caillat's new disc All Of You debuts at #6, mostly due to little hype around the project. Selena Gomez & the Scene's third album When The Sun Goes Down falls to #10 this week. Scotty McCreery's sure got a loyal fanbase with his American Idol Season 10 Highlights disc attaining the Greatest Gainer Title at #20 this week. America really needed a Country American Idol again after all. In its third week out, David Cook's This Loud Morning is plummeting down the chart at #57 this week. This man really needs a mega crossover hit right now, though nothing on This Loud Morning would do it for him though. Adele's iTunes Festival EP has debuted at #62 this week. Avril Lavigne's Goodbye Lullaby album has risen exactly twenty spot to #149 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:14 PM | comment link here





What Cheryl Cole should do next.



Simply because the pop music scene is rather painfully slow at the minute. Here's what Britain's best pop star Cheryl Cole should do next.

1. Severe all ties with The X Factor. On the other side of the drama, we saw headlines of The X Factor US and FOX bosses ripping Cheryl to shreds firing her, and then replacing her with the rather, rather dull and emotionless Nicole Scherzinger. Of course, it's not the first time The X Factor has made use of her and thrown her under the bus. She did come under fire with X Factor UK reject Gamu and she was only on The X Factor UK because she'd be the reason millions tuned in to watch Simon Cowell's manipulative reality tv singing competition The X Factor. It's time to axe The X Factor out of your life, Chez.

2. Get together with Girls Aloud. And I don't mean a permanent reunion, no. Nicola Roberts' solo material, Cheryl's performing skills and Girls Aloud's image as British girl group icons is more than enough for me. Furthermore, there's only room for one British girl group giant, currently held by The Saturdays, and some rookie girl groups - Parade, Wonderland, Belle Amie etc. at any one point. Girls Aloud needs to get together for a one off reunion at the Olympics 2012 Ceremony London will be hosting, and to make it their biggest and best live performance ever. I'm hoping for a medley including The Promise, Sound of the Underground, Sexy! No No No.. and Something Kinda Ooooh. A couple of arena dates for a reunion tour could work as well if the Olympics gig doesn't happen.

3. Record better solo material. We all know Cheryl knows very well how to work a crowd, bringing in fierce choreography, confidence that would shake Nicola Roberts to the core, and a nice outfit that would have every straight man in the world sit up. But her albums are shit. No, no, her singles are fine, namely the pop classics Fight For This Love, Parachute, and 3 Words (the album) cut Stand Up. But we all know her albums as a whole underwhelm and overall are just really terrible. She's already started work on her third album and has been recording in LA, so let's hope she's landing some better material this time round, not some Britney rejects.

4. Perform her comeback single at the London Olympics. Yes I do want Cheryl/Girls Aloud to be involved at the Olympics somehow. It's only right. She's Britain's biggest popstar and Girls Aloud are.. Girls Aloud. This performance shall be on the same level as her Fight For This Love performance at the 2010 Brit Awards and slay everyone watching.

Then she'll have the world at her feet in minutes. Sounds like a good plan. Get to work Cheryl.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:59 PM | comment link here





Sunday, July 17, 2011
Billboard Update



The annoying Party Rock Anthem has found its way to the top of the Hot 100, trailed behind by Pitbull's Give Me Everything. Katy Perry seems unable to move past #4 with her latest single Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.). But it appears OneRepublic is on track to score their first mega hit since Apologize went to #2 a couple years back, with latest single Good Life vaulting into the Top 10, collecting the Digital Gainer Title standing at #8 this week. Jason DeRulo and Britney Spears are also both heading upwards this week, with Don't Wanna Go Home moving up to #16 and I Wanna Go rising to #17. Beyonce could very well get her first proper hit this era with Best Thing I Never Had rising to #23. Putting two mega country stars together often means big sales, and Brad Paisley's collaboration with Carrie Underwood on Remind Me seems to be doing a neat job for itself, hitting a new peak of #27 with virtually no promotion. And this streak of moving upwards is even affecting Disney darling Selena Gomez and her hypnotically robotic new single Love You Like A Love Song leaping from #66 to #35 this week. Rihanna's summer ballad California King Bed is also inching its way to the top, moving to #47 this week. You thought you'd never see this day coming, but Nicole Scherzinger's Right There seems to be rubbing American audiences the right way, peaking at #52 this week while fellow reality TV singing competition judge Jennifer Lopez, amidst her divorce with husband Marc Anthony, moves up the chart with I'm Into You at an all time high of #72. Avril Lavigne's new single Smile has finally arrived on the Hot 100, debuting at #94.

Over on the Albums Chart, Beyonce and Adele are non-movers with 4 and 21 holding the top two positions on the chart in that order while Selena Gomez & Her Virtual Band's new disc When The Sun Goes Down rises a spot to #3 after debuting at #4 last week. David Cook, however, has taken a little tumble as This Loud Morning falls from #7 to #26 this week. For reasons no one knows, the soundtrack to Christina Aguilera's debut film Burlesque scoops the Greatest Gainer Award as the album shoots up to #68 up from #147. British pop artist Ellie Goulding has found her way back to the chart as Lights re-enters at #127.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:53 AM | comment link here





Friday, July 15, 2011
Pixie Lott - All About Tonight [Music Video Premiere]



British pop/soul songstress Pixie Lott has decided to ditch her blonde locks for a new shorter look the same way Dianna Agron has, and along with the new look comes some new music. She's had some delightful hits such as the sassy Mama Do and the zingy Boys and Girls, but All About Tonight sees Pixie embracing the clubbier side of pop music, infusing it with some europop sensibilities.

I'm not completely sold on the song just yet - the chorus isn't big enough, the production isn't banging and the vocals aren't showstopping. But it might just grow on me so we'll see.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:02 PM | comment link here





Big News: Leona Lewis to return with new single 'Collide'



British pop princess Leona Lewis enjoyed colossal success by the millions when her first album Spirit dropped where she was hailed as the British Mariah Carey, mesmerising listeners with her angelic voice. However, her career took a slight detour when Leona was replaced by Leonabot on sophomore album Echo which though sold a decent number of copies in the UK, pretty much everywhere else, no one was really into it.

After two not entirely successful singles, Leona ditched the album and headed to record her upcoming third album, now with a tentative November release date. Previous reports said her upcoming album will be "darker, fiercer, and edgier", and that it would follow the pop/dance trend, and it might even include dubstep.

It appears Leona will be returning to prove herself once again for her make or break third album era, with the new single Collide which she's described as having "all the great ingredients of a summer anthem" and to be released September 4th and the dance/pop track is built around a staccato piano riff and was written by Autumn Rowe while production was placed in the hands of by acclaimed hitmaker Sandy Vee.

Combining all that we know about her album and single news so far, I'm guessing Leona's Collide will go head to head with British girl group's Sugababes new single Freedom, which coincidentally the girls have described as more dark and edgy while the song includes dubstep. Leona may say it could be a summer anthem, but I think it means something like The Saturdays' Notorious, bit more clubby than summery.

British pop music blog Popjustice have tweeted out that Collide is "amazing", and "dancey but not in a crap Guetta sort of way".

Alright then.

UPDATE: Leona's single has premiered and I think I'm just alright with what I'm hearing. Maybe it'll grow on me.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:41 PM | comment link here





Introducing: Olly Murs + Heart Skips A Beat [Music Video Premiere]



If you haven't got an inkling who Olly Murs, it's time you do. The British reggae-pop artist lost to Joe McElderry on The X Factor (UK) two seasons ago, which I wouldn't blame you if you've scoffed at that since Joe's most recent accomplishment is winning the honestly dreadful Popstar to Operastar rubbish after Simon Cowell dropped Joe from his label a while back after debut single Ambitions, follow-up single Someone Wake Me Up, though tagged to the last instalment of Chronicles of Narnia, and first album Wide Awake all tanked in the UK charts. Although reports say he has landed a new record deal with Universal's Decca Records after winning Popstar to Operastar. Meh, we'll see how he does.

However, without being tagged to a ginormous movie, Olly Murs has kept things simple, fusing reggae with pop and bringing the most delightfully summery tracks. Think a male version of Colbie Caillat. His hits from double platinum selling self-titled debut album include UK #1 Please Don't Let Me Go, UK #4 Thinking of Me, and latter two singles Heart on My Sleeve and Busy which peaked at #20 and #45 respectively. I blame this one on terrible promotion.

Nevertheless, Olly Murs was released last year and it's time to move on to another album era. The Wanted's Glad You Came may be leading the UK Midweeks Chart at the minute, but Olly's got his eye on this summer's British pop anthem as well with his newest single Heart Skips A Beat, one that grows on you much like his previous efforts and doesn't try to hard to be anything but Olly.

You can check out the music video for Heart Skips A Beat below.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:24 PM | comment link here





Thursday, July 14, 2011
Demi Lovato - Skyscraper [Music Video Premiere]



The seriously sexy Demi Lovato has decided to return to the music industry with a ballad about overcoming one's fears and insecurities and rising above the ground like a "skyscraper" despite describing her upcoming album which she says will be ready very very soon, dancier and more fun. I'd suppose this means she's going to trade some Kelly Clarkson riffs for Rihanna-esque beats.

Either way, it's all about putting herself out there right now and we have Lovato's video premiere for Skyscraper. The video isn't much, as we just see Lovato walking around a desert barefoot and letting it all out emotionally.

The video and song's just alright, but obviously with such a simple video, this is just for us to get ready for Demi's takeover with a harder sound hopefully soon.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:20 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, July 13, 2011
Nicola Roberts - Beat of My Drum live @ Daybreak



Nicola Roberts has been stepping up her act as a solo pop act over the various live performances. Without Cheryl's fierce dancing, Nadine's never failing vocals, Kimberley's bum (lol I had to), and Sarah's boisterous loudness, Nicola has to rely on herself to really sell her performances now. When she first stepped out to deliver her live performances, she was awkward, timid, terrified and way too shy for a song this big (in performance level).

However, after some live performances done, Nicola dropped by British breakfast television show Daybreak to turn in one of her best performances ever, smiling and finally being confident on stage again.

Nicola's finally gonna be a threat, y'all.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:30 PM | comment link here





Big News: The X Factor releases teaser



Simon Cowell and co. have decided it's time to start promotions for his American version of The X Factor, starting with using Cheryl Cole for publicity and to rile up UK audiences even though it's going to be American now, to releasing some teasers like you see in the one above.

While Cheryl's out and about with fellow Girls Aloud member Kimberley Walsh taking a break, it's work work work for Simon, Paula, Nicole and L.A. Reid. However, this teaser wasn't exactly what I was gunning for.

I hated the fact the judges on American Idol's most recent and tenth season were ridiculously nice even if the performances were utter crap. I hated that even I could drink a bowl of alphabet soup and shit out a better commentary than they did most of the time. But what The X Factor US shows me in this teaser is that Simon's being a bitter old hag again. And I can't get over how he said "it's not about me, it's about them [the contestants] this time" and the main star of the clip is without a doubt centered around the harsh British judge. But as he says in the clip, "what else did you expect?"

This teaser doesn't make me want to watch the show for it seems too overly negative, except for Nicole shedding crocodile tears for being "moved". So X Factor has rubbed me the wrong way in more ways than one, the Idol judges were a puddle of mush, but rookie show The Voice seemed more genuine to me and nailed the being contructive part instead of being downright annoying and obnoxious.

Right then.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:39 PM | comment link here





Monday, July 11, 2011
The Wanted - Glad You Came live at T4 on the Beach



It's single release week for British boyband The Wanted as they gear up for second album era promotions, performing lead single Glad You Came, released this week, live at T4 on the Beach. It might start off a little ballady like Gold Forever, but once Max does his solo, the tempo kicks into overdrive and the crowd starts jumping. Almost perfect for summer, methinks. Sure they were average to ugh live but we already know they can sing, just watch their cover of Neon Trees' Animal at BBC's Radio 1 Live Lounge, or their take on Iris by The Goo Goo Dolls.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:31 PM | comment link here





Sunday, July 10, 2011
Nicola Roberts - Beat of My Drum live @ T4 on the Beach



All of the UK's top pop artists are all busy busy busy this summer, playing their pop hits to sold out summer gigs. T4 on the Beach just started and the Ginger Queen aka Nicola Roberts brought her summery debut single Beat of My Drum to the summer festival. Nicola seemed to have fun basking in the sunshine and jumping around, with her ever chilling opera-drama-filled voice booming through the speakers.. Before it started to take a minor detour when a little random guy comes running on the stage donning Nicola's "Team Ginger" jacket and randomly adding his "beats" to the song.

Nicola.. You really didn't need him.

But regardless.. L! O! V! E! Dance to the beat of my drum! Dance to the beat of my drum!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:47 PM | comment link here





The Saturdays - T In The Park



The Saturdays have got their summer booked out, gigging all across the UK at summer festivals. The five piece have already played festivals like Chester Rocks, Alton Towers, In: Demand, Metro Radio, etc. But none have been filmed and released to the public. Now however, their most recent gig at T In The Park was filmed and you can check out the pop group don on their shiny outfits and strut their stuff to songs like Work, Issues, I Need A Dollar/Buzzin', and closing the show with Higher.

It's funny how Vanessa's having all these vocal issues but still stays the most on key at these festivals where the crowds tend to get really noisy and the performers can't hear themselves..

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:26 AM | comment link here





Saturday, July 9, 2011
Nicola Roberts - Beat of My Drum live @ Paul O' Grady



Nicola Roberts was never much of a dancer, but during Girls Aloud's Out of Control Tour, she managed to hold her ground against fellow bandmate Cheryl Cole. However, stepping out on her own as a solo artist means the never shaking confidence of the other girls can't rub off her, and Nicola still seems like a little girl coming out of her shell.

However her solo debut single Beat of My Drum is a confident, summer strutter that should go on to become one of this summer's spanking pop anthems. Nicola hasn't exactly been able to sell this song live without pulling any choreography live on the small stages. But most recently, the Ginger Princess went on the Paul O Grady Show to perform Beat of My Drum which has so far been underperforming on the chart.

She kicked things off with a little acapella intro, hitting a big note to prove all the naysayers wrong. But then the beat kicked in and Nicola crawled back into her shell. I just wish she'd show a personality as colourful as the song when she's performing. However, she did seem a lot happier than usual and smiled more during her interview which you can check out below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:44 PM | comment link here





Beyonce - Best Thing I Never Had [Music Video Premiere]



If there's a pop diva queen that is renowned for marrying ballads with a little bit of skin, it's Mariah Carey. However, Beyonce's video for her latest single Best Thing I Never Had, which rose up the charts last week thanks to the actual album release of 4, looks exactly like Mariah's video for her uber-smash We Belong Together. In fact, you'd be forgiven if you thought you were watching Bey on the exact same set.

The song still sounds generic and the video doesn't help matters. True, she is pretty, but she could've done better, both with the video, and the actual single chosen.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:07 AM | comment link here





Wednesday, July 6, 2011
Big News: Demi Lovato premieres Skyscraper single cover!



It seems troubled Disney star Demi Lovato has managed to overcome her problems and is finally ready to return to the music industry this year. Earlier this week, Lovato herself premiered the artwork for her comeback single, officially titled Skyscraper, which was shot in the desert. The single cover sees Demi all grown up and looking all hawt.

However, this sort of brought Charice' Pyramid to mind, especially because Demi said the direction in which her third album was headed was going to be pop/R&B in the vein of Rihanna and Keri Hilson. Then I remembered the catastrophe that was the dated single that Charice first put out - Pyramid. Furthermore, Demi's single is called Skyscraper. Yikes. Let's hope it's just a coincidence and that the best vocalist out of all the Disney pop tarts has gone in a more soulful, Jazmine Sullivan direction instead of whatever dreary commercial Top 40 material they're giving to Charice to get her a hit.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:44 PM | comment link here





Sunday, July 3, 2011
Billboard Update



Pitbull has finally gotten his first #1 single with Give Me Everything rising a spot to reign on the Hot 100, closely followed by Adele's mega smash hit Rolling in the Deep. Katy Perry had the Summer Song of 2010 with California Gurls, and since then, she's now onto her fifth single Last Friday Night (TGIF) which could very well go on to be the Summer Song of 2011, rocketing to #4 this week with the Airplay Gainer Title. Maroon 5's Christina Aguilera assisted track Moves Like Jagger debuts at a shockingly high spot of #8. Impressive. The release of When The Sun Goes Down has boosted its first single, with Selena Gomez & The Scene's platinum-selling hit Who Says hitting a new peak of #21 while Selena's latest single lifted off the album Love You Like A Song debuts at #72 this week. Landing the Digital Gainer Title is Britney Spears, as latest single I Wanna Go vaults up to a brand new peak of #29. Rihanna's California King Bed seems to have stalled at #53, a tad too slow for summer, no? However, Man Down is still headed upwards, rising to #59 this week. Beyonce's Best Thing I Never Had moves upwards as well, hitting #58 this week. Nicole Scherzinger's not doing too bad for herself, as Right There moves to a new peak of #62. While Top 3 smash On The Floor is falling down the chart, JLo's I'm Into You is slowly making its way up, moving to #88 this week.

Over on the Albums Chart, Jill Scott's The Light of the Sun, Bon Iver's album of the same name, and Adele's 21 are at #1, #2 and #3 respectively.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:43 PM | comment link here





Joe Jonas - See No More live @ Paul O Grady



It appears Joe Jonas still can make the tween girls scream till they go hoarse. The Jonas Brother hottie was on The Paul O' Grady Show to deliver the first televised performance of his debut single as a solo artist See No More. Which is suprising because according to Joe, the single doesn't get released till a month later in the UK, but he's doing promotions over there instead of the US where See No More isn't doing well.

Nevertheless, this performance was average. He performed over a backing track while his paper thin vocals tried to work its way to hitting notes, more miss than hit. He even ran out of breath once or twice, oversinging and straining his voice. His movements were also awkward on stage and he didn't seem seasoned with the mic.

But I still like the song and the recently premiered music video, but someone needs to polish Joe's skills.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:34 PM | comment link here





Friday, July 1, 2011
Big News: Diana Vickers parts ways with RCA Records!



Remember when I posted about The X Factor (UK) winner Alexandra Burke leaving SyCo to head to RCA? Well, it appears a contestant from that same season, British pop tart Diana Vickers has parted ways with RCA Records.

In her blog post, Diana explains:
Myself and RCA have decided to part company, purely based on a creative level. I will always be really thankful for the time we’ve spent together and the support they’ve given me. But, I’ve grown up a lot since the first album and whilst the past couple years have been a lot of fun and a great success, I’m now ready to take a wander down a different, very exciting path! In order to grow, this change has to be made.


With all this shifting of record labels down at The X Factor camp, what's going on? The only logical explanation for this is that Simon has signed a new deal with another record company to link to his upcoming American version of The X Factor, and has indirectly affected his British acts from the UK show as well. He previously dropped other X Factor winners Shayne Ward and Joe McElderry from his label SyCo, mainly because he can't promote male pop acts for shit, but this shouldn't really affect the Vickers.

However, Diana did reassure fans her new album is coming along well, and added:
I’m so proud of where the second album is right now and I’m counting down the minutes until it’s all ready and you guys can finally hear it! I’ve been having the best time over the past 6 months- being creative, working with so many inspirational people, falling in love with LA and growing as an artist.


Read her blog post about it at her Tumblr.

I'm just confused right now.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:22 PM | comment link here





Joe Jonas - See No More [Music Video Premiere]



The Jonas Brothers have been making the hearts of little girls flutter since they broke out a couple years back. However, I always thought they were pretty shit and didn't have much good music, so I didn't exactly think they'd last long.

However, one of the most charismatic brothers is Joe, who's easily the best looking, and who'd make it on his own without the Disney machine behind him. His introductory single See No More serves as his first offering as a solo artist, and it's years ahead of the Disney production that has made much of the Jonas Brothers' discography so cheesy.

The music video has finally arrived, and it's pretty decent. I'm definitely looking out for him now, but he's less than vocally impressive live, so we'll see if he'll be able to pull it off live on a big stage instead of those small theatre tours.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:08 PM | comment link here