Vote at the MRAs 2011 here!

Friday, September 10, 2010
JoJo - Can't Take That Away From Me (Mixtape Review)

Track Listing:
1. Can’t Take That Away From Me
2. Running on Empty
3. Pretty Please
4. Why Didn’t You Call
5. Just a Dream
6. When Does It Go Away feat. Travis Garland
7. My Time Is Money
8. What You Like feat. Jordan Gatsby
9. In the Dark
10. Boy Without a Heart
11. All I Want Is Everything

It only takes one listen to JoJo's new mixtape Can't Take That Away From Me for you to realise how much fans have missed her presence in the music industry. Fortunately, Can't Take That Away From Me doesn't disappoint and is a serious return to form for the 12 year old girl who came out of nowhere and grabbed everyone's attention with her debut single Leave (Get Out). She described the mixtape as experimental but the whole mixtape isn't very left-field besides the lead single In The Dark, in which JoJo ditches her powerhouse vocals for whispers and autotune. Besides that, the rest of the tracks on the mixtape sounds like they could be on her "mainstream" album All I Want Is Everything. Well, it makes you wonder if that's what her album will be called especially since All I Want Is Everything appears here on Can't Take That Away From Me. But actually, on first listen, the song that really grabs you is My Time Is Money, which sees JoJo pulling of a big, sassy, soulful number and JoJo is completely after Beyonce's blood with this track. That one is definitely a personal favourite of mine besides some pretty ballads such as Boy Without A Heart and Just A Dream. Another standout is When Does It Go Away, a smooth rythmic jam featuring Travis Garland that is a serious grower and could repeat the success of Jordin Sparks and Chris Brown's duet on No Air back in 2007/2008.

With Can't Take That Away From Me, JoJo's proved something. She's back and better than ever. Hold on tight!

Verdict: ☻☻☻☻☺

Download Link: HERE
Music Reviews 10 @ 12:12 AM | comment link here