Vote at the MRAs 2011 here!



Wednesday, September 29, 2010
Big News: Rihanna premieres "LOUD" album cover!



Despite the fact that there's nothing loud about it except it's red, Rihanna does look better than her current normal look, yeap, the one with the red do. I'm still not feeling the red as much but oh well. Who am I to judge? LOUD will be in stores November 16th!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:56 PM | comment link here





Michael Buble - Hollywood [Music Video Premiere]



Jaz/pop crooner Michael Buble is looking as charming as ever in his latest music video for Hollywood, the current single which is taken off his Crazy Love re-release coming out later this year. This song is incredibly catchy and is even better than Haven't Met You Yet. The video sees Buble acting as different Hollywood stereotypes, including a jab at Justin Bieber that I completely laughed. I'm dying for more catchy pop songs like these from Michael Buble.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:36 PM | comment link here





Shakira - Loca [Music Video Premiere]




Latin pop star Shakira just premiered the video for her lastest single Loca and while the song is fun and catchy, the video doesn't make me like the song more. It's just alright in my opinion but of course, she can really move. But I preferred the look she pulled off in the She Wolf era. Hopefully this does something on the charts..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:01 PM | comment link here





Tuesday, September 28, 2010
Pixie Lott - Cry Me Out & Turn It Up live @ A Concert For Heroes



I'm so sorry I missed this, but better late than never. Gorgeous UK pop star Pixie Lott recently played a gig at A Concert For Heroes and the clip for Boys And Girls surfaced online before subequent performances Cry Me Out and Turn It Up did and I only chanced upon it recently. I usually wouldn't post something that is so late but what makes these two performances so good is that during Cry Me Out, she was too tired to drag her notes and do that annoying warble that plagues a lot of her performances. So all in all, it was a sterling performance. The warble does return for a while in Turn It Up but it's still one of the best, if not the best performance she's ever done in a while. Check out Cry Me Out above and peep Turn It Up below. Have I mentioned she looked gorgeous?

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:20 PM | comment link here





Big News: Jordin Sparks hits the studio with Claude Kelly!



So much for that little break Jordin Sparks was talking about. Jordin recently landed the role of Nina Rosario in the Tony Award-winning Broadway show In the Heights, playing a limited 12-week Broadway debut engagement at the Richard Rodgers Theatre from August 19 through November 14. And that came straight after the moderate-selling Battlefield Tour.

But Broadway isn't over yet and she recently tweeted that she has returned to the studio with Claude Kelly to work on her third studio album. This means a release date of 2011, also the hottest year in music after a rather lacklustre 2010 so far. But like I said before, what Jordin needs now is an epic ballad showcasing that brilliant vocal range she has, like what Bleeding Love did for Leona Lewis, it's just what Jordin needs to put her back on top.

PS. I have both of her albums and Battlefield was a good album, just that the wrong singles were chosen. S.O.S. (Let The Music Play) should have never been the second single. It definitely should have gone to Emergency (911) and then No Parade, followed by Was I The Only One and Watch You Go should've ended the Battlefield era. Yeah, Jive sucks, I know. They'd better not screw up the third album.

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:49 PM | comment link here





Big News: Go behind the scenes of Jessica Mauboy's Get 'Em Girls



Aussie pop/R&B/urban diva Jessica Mauboy just gave us a sneak peek behind the upcoming clip for Get 'Em Girls, the lead single from her upcoming solo sophomore album (she was with the Young Divas for a while) of the same title. Apparently, the song was inspired by high heels (albeit not as painfully obvious as Jennifer Lopez' Louboutins) & the video will feature some high fashion and scenes where Mauboy and her girlfriends will go shoe shopping. Feature artist Snoop Dogg will play a shoe store owner. Okay then.

Mauboy is also lined up to co-host the 2010 Nickelodeon Australian Kids' Choice Awards with Liam Hemsworth and iCarly's Jerry Trainor on October 8, 2010. This could mean a performance by Mauboy herself. The album will be released November 5th, but if Get 'Em Girls doesn't take off like it should, she's already ready with the second single off the album, confirmed to be Saturday Night featuring Ludacris. Just a question, what's up with all the rent-a-rappers? Oh well.

But it shouldn't fail with major performances lined up and a guest star like Snoop Dogg. Plus, Get 'Em Girls recently debuted at #22 on the ARIA Top 40 Digital Tracks Chart.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:35 PM | comment link here





Big News: Jessie James' Daughter of a Gypsy pushed back to Spring!



I totally saw this coming. Pop/country star Jessie James often shuffles back and forth with the pop and country genres but has often stuck with the more pop side of country. So she did when she released the lead single Boys In The Summer from her sophomore effort Daughter of a Gypsy which led to a poor showing on the charts. Soon after, all news and release dates for Jessie's album were all pulled from Amazon, Wikipedia etc. and no one knew what was going on. She then tweeted out news she was heading to the studio when the album was supposed to have been finished long before. She has now confirmed that the album won't see the light of day till Spring, which means she will be competing in a very high stakes release year next year. Lady Gaga, Britney Spears, Beyonce (could be the end of the year), Mariah Carey, Adam Lambert, David Cook, Kelly Clarkson etc.

Jessie's new video just premiered on VEVO and it's called Dear John. Hmmmm.

But nevertheless, she calls the album a country record "you are going to love". Okay then.

Source: HERE
Source 2: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:10 PM | comment link here





Selena Gomez - Round And Round live in the UK



Disney pop starlet Selena Gomez hit the UK for a string of performances to promote the lead single Round And Round from her upcoming sophomore record A Year Without Rain that is due for an October release in the UK while it just came out this week in the US. It looks like she's focusing on doing more promotion in the UK. Okay then. The Disney princess did Blue Peter and was the usual Selena Gomez performance. Not striking vocally but not that bad either.



The video below is yet another performance of Round And Round in the UK, this time live on Daybreak. It's about the same, only this time, she actually seems a little more tired when she reaches the very last chorus.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:52 PM | comment link here





Sunday, September 26, 2010
Shakira - Loca live @ David Letterman



Sounding more live a carnival fest, Latin American superstar Shakira shook, shimmied, popped her way through her performance of Loca on David Letterman. Well, if the performance does get a little suggestive, imagine if Miley Cyrus did the dance. Loca is the first single off her new album Sale El Sol.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:36 AM | comment link here





Big News: Katy Perry & Sesame Street



Sesame Street producers will not be airing the cute Katy Perry/Elmo duet Hot and Cold on Sesame Street. The classic children’s show decided to pull the clip in the wake of complaints after the duet was posted to YouTube. The whole issue is apparently with Katy Perry's cleavage. Honestly, I think some Disney stars dress a little more revealing. Nevertheless, peep the video above and tell me what you think.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:27 AM | comment link here





Carrie Underwood - Mama's Song [Music Video Premiere]



A sweet song, sweet video, reflects on her current life for Mrs Carrie Fisher.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:58 AM | comment link here





Friday, September 24, 2010
Billboard Update



Katy Perry's Teenage Dream has been knocked off the top spot, falling to #4 this week while Bruno Mars conquers the Hot 100 with his debut single Just The Way You Are. Making a ginormous leap into the Top 3 is Rihanna with Only Girl (In The World) flying up from #75 to #3. Ke$ha sits outside the Top 10 at #11 this week with her latest single Take It Off, trailed behind by Taylor Swift's Mine which stands at #12 this week. Adam Lambert struts his way into the Top 30 with his latest release If I Had You moving up a spot to #30 this week. Daughtry's latest single September is still inching up the chart standing at a peak of #53 this week. After debuting high at #35 last week, Selena Gomez & The Scene's A Year Without Rain falls 30 spots down to #65 this week. Fantasia's Bittersweet moves a spot up to #84 this week after two consecutive weeks of falling. Justin Bieber's Somebody To Love returns to the Hot 100 this week at #90 after that VMA performance.

On the Billboard 200 albums chart, Linkin Park debuts at #1 with A Thousand Suns while Katy Perry's Teenage Dream falls to #9 this week. Last week's #1, Sara Bareilles' Kaleidoscope Heart falls to #12, trailed behind by Fantasia's Back To Me at #13. The Camp Rock 2: The Final Jam soundtrack falls thirteen spots to #23. Ke$ha's debut album Animal sits outside the Top 40 at #41 this week. Carrie Underwood's third studio album Play On falls to #76 this week from #47 last week. Miley Cyrus' third studio release Can't Be Tamed falls to #126 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:23 PM | comment link here





Big News: Pixie Lott's Turn It Up Louder - details!



UK pop sensation Pixie Lott may have just starred in her first movie role playing Judy on Fred: The Movie but the gorgeous blonde songstress isn't giving up on her singing career. She's milking every last drop of her debut album Turn It Up and is set to be a lot busier when Turn It Up Louder is released in the UK. That's right, Turn It Up Louder is a re-release of Turn It Up which has since gone double platinum in the UK after scoring Pixie five consecutive Top 20 UK singles.

Turn It Up Louder will feature 10 brand new tracks compared to the standard album. They've also merged some tracks from the UK iTunes deluxe edition album for some reason, which features covers of Kings of Leon's Use Somebody, When Love Takes Over originally by Kelly Rowland, and finally the other 8 are all originals. The track listing is as follows:

1. Mama Do (Uh Oh, Uh Oh)
2. Cry Me Out
3. Band Aid
4. Turn It Up
5. Boys and Girls
6. Gravity
7. My Love
8. Jack
9. Nothing Compares
10. Here We Go Again
11. The Way the World Works
12. Hold Me in Your Arms
13. Use Somebody
14. When Love Takes Over
15. Without You
16. Rolling Stone
17. Want You
18. Broken Arrow"
19. Coming Home" (featuring Jason Derulo)
20. Doing Fine (Without You)"
21. Can't Make This Over"
22. Catching Snowflakes

The first 12 songs are as per normal, and Turn It Up Louder will be preceded by her upcoming single Broken Arrow which is set to be released October 12th while the re-release itself will hit stores October 18th.

Pixie is set to conquer the States with debut single Boys And Girls (which was her second consecutive UK #1) and the reworked Stateside version will be released early 2011.

Peep the video for Broken Arrow below which I still haven't gotten tired of yet.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:25 PM | comment link here





Big News: We Are The Fallen unveils single cover "Tear The World Down"



The title track and second single lifted from We Are The Fallen's debut album will be released October 12th and the radio edit is said to cut the song's original length from about 6 minutes to about 4 minutes. Prior to the release of the single, the band asked fans to guess what the next single would be and create a single cover for their guesses. But the official one you see here was a pre-picked single cover, not a fan's submission. I really like the single cover, it's pretty cool. What do you think?

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:07 PM | comment link here





Thursday, September 23, 2010
Selena Gomez & The Scene - A Year Without Rain live @ Ellen



It's a good performance in a Selena Gomez way. Ish. She still doesn't belt out the hook till one of the last few hooks. Still looking cute as a button though.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:20 PM | comment link here





Big News: The Idol panel is unveiled!



Quick! Let's pretend we completely didn't see this coming! The industry's worst kept secret ever, the new Idol judging panel has finally been confirmed. Yes, so it'll include Randy Jackson, Jennifer Lopez & Steven Tyler. Honestly, I don't mean to be superficial but what is up with Steven's face? Anyway, I really think this panel wouldn't work, but the three of them dropped by Ryan Seacrest's radio station and they actually have a little chemistry going on.



Interested to see how this panel will work on live television though.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:44 PM | comment link here





Tuesday, September 21, 2010
Big News: Mariah Carey unveils album cover for Merry Christmas II You!



I know I'm a little late on this, but I didn't want to post this till a higher quality picture of the album came out. Which album? Mariah Carey's second Chritmas album of course. The album will be out November 2nd, which is more than 10 years since Mariah's first Christmas record came out. Merry Christmas II You will involve producers such as American Idol's Randy Jackson, multi-platinum hit-making producer Jermaine Dupri, James Poyser (acclaimed producer for Aretha Franklin, The Roots, Lauryn Hill and more), and five-time Oscar nominee and Grammy/Tony/Emmy award winning composer Marc Shaiman. I think she looks pretty good for someone who's 40, a.k.a. the age where female celebrities who's popularity starts to wane. Nevertheless, the album will be preceded by the lead single Oh Santa. Interesting to see how this one will sell..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:23 PM | comment link here





Daughtry - September live @ George Lopez Show



Chris Daughtry and his band dropped by Lopez Tonight to give another performance of their latest single September which is still slowly climbing the charts. It was another one of those Daughtry performances where Chris sort of hits the big notes but it's pretty shaky. But it should ensure September's steady climb upwards on the charts.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:16 PM | comment link here





Sunday, September 19, 2010
Big News: Glee Cast talk about upcoming Season 2



I can't wait to watch Season 2. I can't wait for Charice & Lea to sing Lady Gaga's Telephone. I. Just. Can't. Wait.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:43 PM | comment link here





Cheryl Cole - Promise This [Music Video Premiere]



Take note that the television channel logo for ITV2 is inverted, so all the visuals for the video are probably inverted. Nevertheless, Cheryl Cole's Promise This will be released October 24th while her sophomore solo album Messy Little Raindrops is set to see a November release. I like Promise This but she's not looking as gorgeous as usual (which is a complete letdown). I've also been liking fellow Girls Aloud member Nadine Coyle's solo debut single release Insatiable as well and it'd be interesting to see how these ladies battle it out with their solo careers.

In other Cheryl Cole news, she's set to leave The X Factor (UK) to join Simon Cowell on the panel of The X Factor (US). In essence, what this means is.. Bye bye The X Factor (UK). Oh yes, Nicole Scherzinger is also reportedly joining the panel in the US.

UPDATE: Here's the one posted on her VEVO account, the official, non-inverted one.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:10 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - Who's That Chick [Music Video Premiere]



An obvious unauthorized leak, this is Rihanna with her "fun" new image in the video for a new David Guetta produced track called Who's That Chick. In all honesty, it sounds like a b-side to a Ke$ha single and the colours in the video are, ummm, a tad TOO colourful. It does disguise that awful red hair quite a bit though. I really don't like this one. Try again, Rihanna.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:00 PM | comment link here





Alexandra Burke - Bad Boys + All Night Long live @ Concert For Heroes



Concert For Heroes had major stars performing at the stadium including Pixie Lott, Robbie Williams, The Saturdays and of course, Alexandra Burke. We've seen Start Without You already but now, two more performances are finally up, namely her UK #1 Bad Boys and UK Top 5 hit All Night Long. I love her crowd interaction, a stellar performer I can see making it big all around the world. Watch Bad Boys above and peep All Night Long below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:42 AM | comment link here





Friday, September 17, 2010
Billboard Update



Pop superstar Katy Perry continues to top the Hot 100 at #1 for a second consecutive week. Ke$ha's latest single Take It Off sticks at #8 for a second week in a row. Inching its way up on the Hot 100 is OneRepublic's latest offering Secrets and Adam Lambert's latest dance/pop single If I Had You sitting at new peaks of #26 and #31 respectively. It's the release week of Sara Bareilles' sophomore album Kaleidoscope Heart which means it has propelled the lead single King of Anything to #32, a new peak for the single. Selena Gomez & The Scene's latest single A Year Without Rain makes a debut at #35. Michael Buble's latest single Hollywood makes a debut at #55 while Daughtry's latest single September hits a new peak of #57. Rihanna's latest single Only Girl (In The World) makes a debut at #75 on airplay alone, a singles artist she truly is. Spurred by the success of A Year Without Rain, Selena Gomez & The Scene's lead single Round And Round moves up from #82 to #77.

Singer songwriter Sara Bareilles dominates the Billboard 200 albums chart this week with Kaleidoscope Heart storming in at #1 with over 90, 000 copies sold in its first week. Katy Perry's Teenage Dream holds on to its position at #4 while Fantasia's Back To Me sits outside the Top 10 at #11. Looks like Sara Bareilles both starts and ends the chart as her debut album Little Voice re-enters at #200.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:57 PM | comment link here





Big News: Jessica Mauboy premieres Get 'Em Girls



Australian pop/R&B songstress Jessica Mauboy is returning to the music industry with her new urban/pop single Get 'Em Girls that doesn't have the energy of previous singles Up/Down or Burn but you'd better believe this is a much different direction for Mauboy. It's noticeably more urban compared to her previous singles, and I hope she doesn't lose that mainstream pop/R&B sound that I liked so much on her debut album that I thought was worthy of an international release. Get 'Em Girls features a guest rap from Snoop Dogg, which doesn't really make much of a difference to me but the track is definitely growing on me and I love the chorus. What do you think? Take a listen below!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:27 PM | comment link here





Big News: Go behind the scenes and take a sneak peek at Season 2 of Glee!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:23 PM | comment link here





Pixie Lott - Broken Arrow [Music Video Premiere]



Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:09 PM | comment link here





Thursday, September 16, 2010
Big News: Take a listen to Glee's Empire State of Mind



Anyone excited!?

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:47 PM | comment link here





Big News: Jessica Mauboy to return with "Get 'Em Girls"!



I should probably admit here that I loved Jessica Mauboy's debut album Been Waiting so much that it was the only album I listened to consecutively for a week earlier this year. Her debut album Been Waiting went 2x platinum in Australia thanks to the success of the six singles released from the album.

Now though, she's moving on with her sophomore album titled Get 'Em Girls set to be released on the 5th November and you can check out a snippet of the title track and lead single below.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:22 PM | comment link here





Daughtry - September live on Ellen



My favourite release from Leave This Town so far.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:18 PM | comment link here





Jessie James - Dear John [Music Video Premiere]



The music video above is for Jessie's Dear John, which since was posted on Jessie James' VEVO account on YouTube, I'm counting on it being an official release instead of some viral video (although it does look like one..) that the label is putting out to maintain at least some interest. She still looks as beautiful as ever, the song's not too bad, but I wish the chorus was just a tad more explosive. Plus, what's the deal with Daughter of a Gypsy anyway?

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:09 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, September 15, 2010
Big News: Jordin Sparks gives a sneak preview of Beauty & The Beast



"Disney’s #1 most requested title returns to movie theaters for an exclusive two-day cinema event on September 29, 2010 and October 2, 2010 hosted by Jordin Sparks with an exclusive sneak peek at her “Beauty and the Beast” music video!"

I need to hear the song in full and I want Jordin to have some big notes, but daaaanngggg, Jordin's looking good!

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:06 PM | comment link here





Cheryl Cole new track: Promise This



UK pop starlet Cheryl Cole embarked on her solo career in music which was a highly successful one. She had a hit single with her debut Fight For This Love when it stormed the UK at #1. She released 2 more singles from her debut album 3 Words which all went on to hit the Top 10 on the UK charts. She wasted absolutely no time, heading straight into the studio to create more music for her upcoming sophomore solo album. The lead single Promise This from as-yet-untitled album just premiered and it sounds very eurodance pop, a sound that's dominating the charts right now. It's catchy, sounds like a hit, and since she's Cheryl Cole, it WILL be a hit. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:33 PM | comment link here





Tuesday, September 14, 2010
Christina Perri - Jar of Hearts [Music Video Premiere]



WOW this is good. It's a really interesting concept and I love it.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:44 PM | comment link here





Monday, September 13, 2010
Big News: Take a listen to Diana Vickers' My Wicked Heart



Well, after I mentioned of a new Diana Vickers track, you can bet I wanted to hear a smash. But.. My Wicked Heart premiered on radio yesterday and I think it sounds just okay. It could be a grower, I don't know. But My Wicked Heart has hit the Internet and here it is in all it's medium quality glory. It sounds a bit like a pop record from last century and while it's fun and everything, it's hardly the genius that was Once or The Boy Who Murdered Love. Maybe I'll like it when it leaks in high quality but I'm so disappointed. Oh well, take a listen below and tell me what you think.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:53 PM | comment link here





Selena Gomez & The Scene - A Year Without Rain



Many of Disney's stars nowadays act and sing and Selena Gomez is just one of the three reigning Disney queens, the others being Miley Cyrus & Demi Lovato. Nevertheless, Selena Gomez tried her hand at a singing career last year with her pop/rock-tinged debut single Falling Down which failed to even crack the Top 90 songs on the Hot 100. She then switched lanes and released a pop/dance flavoured single Naturally which was a big hit for her and they have stuck with that ever since. Her pop/dance lead single Round And Round from her album A Year Without Rain soon beat Naturally to become her and her band's highest charting single in the US. But I think she outdid herself again with the fantastic title track off her upcoming album. Taking everything into consideration, the entire album is just alright for me and the title track and second single A Year Without Rain is still the best offering from the album. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE (8 tracks)

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:03 PM | comment link here





Pixie Lott & Alexandra Burke - Help For Heroes

Pixie Lott - Boys And Girls


The gorgeous pop starlet Pixie Lott sang her second consecutive UK #1 single Boys And Girls live at Help For Heroes. The blonde pop princess did a little dance routine in the middle, making her miss a couple of big notes in the performance. Boo.

Alexandra Burke - Start Without You


Former The X Factor (UK) winner Alexandra Burke took to the stage to sing her third UK #1 single (it just hit #1 yesterday *or today depending on where you are in the world*) Start Without You and delivered a good performance, something I've long expected from her. Also, Start Without You hit #1 on the Scottish Singles Chart and #5 on the Irish Singles Chart. Congrats, Alexandra!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:19 PM | comment link here





Friday, September 10, 2010
Big News: Get ready for another Diana-confection!



After The X Factor (UK)'s star Diana Vickers criminally underrated second single The Boy Who Murdered Love peaked at a less than spectacular #36 on the UK Singles Chart, she's decided to record another new track altogether. Especially since this was the follow-up to her poptastic debut single Once which stormed the UK Charts at #1. Nevertheless, Popjustice said of the new single My Wicked Heart as "a little bit bonkers and quite a lot amazing" which means just as fantastic as Once and The Boy Who Murdered Love. Trust Vickers to give us such quirky titles. Her debut album Songs From the Tainted Cherrytree will be re-packaged and re-released early next year. My Wicked Heart will be released digitally 7th November. But you don't have to wait too long to hear My Wicked Heart, which will premiere September 12th on Radio 1 (UK) at 8pm. Oh yes, I've got quite high expectations for this single and for Vickers to make a killer comeback on the charts.

She's going on tour at the end of the year as well which you can see dates here.

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:36 PM | comment link here





Big News: David Archuleta gives fans a sneak preview of new album!



David Cook and David Archuleta seem to be doing this rather often..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:44 PM | comment link here





Fantasia on Live With Regis & Kelly!



'Tasia does a swingin' version of her new single I'm Doin' Me and chats for a short interview (that got cut). So it's.. shorter. Watch the performance above and the interview below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:31 PM | comment link here





JoJo - Can't Take That Away From Me (Mixtape Review)



Track Listing:
1. Can’t Take That Away From Me
2. Running on Empty
3. Pretty Please
4. Why Didn’t You Call
5. Just a Dream
6. When Does It Go Away feat. Travis Garland
7. My Time Is Money
8. What You Like feat. Jordan Gatsby
9. In the Dark
10. Boy Without a Heart
11. All I Want Is Everything

It only takes one listen to JoJo's new mixtape Can't Take That Away From Me for you to realise how much fans have missed her presence in the music industry. Fortunately, Can't Take That Away From Me doesn't disappoint and is a serious return to form for the 12 year old girl who came out of nowhere and grabbed everyone's attention with her debut single Leave (Get Out). She described the mixtape as experimental but the whole mixtape isn't very left-field besides the lead single In The Dark, in which JoJo ditches her powerhouse vocals for whispers and autotune. Besides that, the rest of the tracks on the mixtape sounds like they could be on her "mainstream" album All I Want Is Everything. Well, it makes you wonder if that's what her album will be called especially since All I Want Is Everything appears here on Can't Take That Away From Me. But actually, on first listen, the song that really grabs you is My Time Is Money, which sees JoJo pulling of a big, sassy, soulful number and JoJo is completely after Beyonce's blood with this track. That one is definitely a personal favourite of mine besides some pretty ballads such as Boy Without A Heart and Just A Dream. Another standout is When Does It Go Away, a smooth rythmic jam featuring Travis Garland that is a serious grower and could repeat the success of Jordin Sparks and Chris Brown's duet on No Air back in 2007/2008.

With Can't Take That Away From Me, JoJo's proved something. She's back and better than ever. Hold on tight!

Verdict: ☻☻☻☻☺

Download Link: HERE
Music Reviews 10 @ 12:12 AM | comment link here





Thursday, September 9, 2010
Billboard Update



Pop megastar Katy Perry's Teenage Dream has finally dethroned Eminem's single Love The Way You Lie which features Rihanna, slipping to #2 this week while Katy Perry takes over the Hot 100 at #1. Taylor Swift's Mine is on an upward climb this week, moving up to #7 from #9 last week. Also moving up is Ke$ha with her latest single Take It Off. OneRepublic is also on the move up with latest single Secrets entering Top 30 territory, hitting a new peak of #29 this week. Sara Bareilles' brilliant lead single King of Anything from sophomore set Kaleidescope Heart is back at it's peak on the Hot 100 of #51, which is bound to go up during the album release week, which is this week. Daughtry's fantastic new single September hits a new peak of #66 this week. After bouncing back up on her feet, Fantasia's single Bittersweet just kept climbing. However, Bittersweet has lost a little steam, falling to 81 this week after reaching a peak of #81.

Disturbed's Asylum makes a debut at #1 on the Billboard 200 albums chart while previous chart topper Katy Perry has slipped to #2 with Teenage Dream while Fantasia's Back To Me, last week's #2, has dropped to #5. After the movie release, the Camp Rock 2 Soundtrack has rebounded up the chart to #9 up from #22 last week. Carrie Underwood also rebounds up to #42 this week, flying up 20 spots up from #62 last week. In anticipation of her Glee premiere, Charice's self-titled international debut album has re-entered the chart at #160 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:37 PM | comment link here





JoJo - In The Dark [Music Video Premiere]



I will say, I expected more from the clip. I wanted more of a.. Christina Aguilera You Lost Me music video effect? The one where she sort of "fades away"..? Never mind. It's alright, but I expected more. But gosh, when she's without those blindfolds, girl looks SMOKIN'.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:47 PM | comment link here





Big News: Catch a clip of David Cook's upcoming album!



Oh that told us SO MUCH, RCA! Anyway, I wanna hear this album. Soon. Preferably by the end of the year.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:53 PM | comment link here





Big News: Rihanna's single cover for "Only Girl"!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:25 PM | comment link here





Fantasia live @ 106 & Park

I'm Doin' Me:


Interview Part 1:


Interview Part 2:


Bittersweet:

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:03 PM | comment link here





Katy Perry - California Gurls live @ The X Factor Italy

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:57 PM | comment link here





Sara Bareilles - King of Anything live @ Today Show



Girl needs more promo.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:49 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, September 8, 2010
Big News: Allison Iraheta parts ways with Jive Records!



The Idol world was set ablaze with rumours that Jive Records dropped the incredibly talented Allison Iraheta as she was no longer listed on the artist roster. More bad news came when her manager Gina Orr was leaving 19 Entertainment to manage fellow Idol contestant (but from a different season) Crystal Bowersox. But the news is now official. Her biggest fangroup Alliholics wrote a really heart-warming post on their site which you can read here. I'm confident Allison will be signed again and emerge stronger as an artist. She's still signed with 19 Entertainment by the way.

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:21 PM | comment link here





Ne-Yo - One In A Million [Music Video Premiere]

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:57 PM | comment link here





JoJo - Can't Take That Away From Me



The return of pop/R&B starlet JoJo is highly anticipated. She first gave fans a sneak peek to some new music with In The Dark and now, the complete mixtape is here! Can't Take That Away From Me is described by JoJo as experimental and it won't be as mainstream as the stuff you'll hear on her third studio album All I Want Is Everything. However, besides In The Dark itself, I think it isn't too far off from what you can expect. I really, really love this and I'm so glad it's an official release from JoJo and not a leak this time. You HAVE to download this and check it out! Enjoy!

Download it for free @ Rap-Up TV: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:41 PM | comment link here





Rihanna new track: Only Girl (In The World)



Pop/R&B songstress Rihanna has explored dance, pop/rock and urban genres which makes you wonder what she's going to do next. Well, for her fifth studio album Loud, Rihanna has decided to return to what she got her biggest hits with - dance. It's the hottest genre right now so that's not surprising. Her new single Only Girl (In The World) follows the dance trend and it sounds like a surefire hit. However, on the chorus, it sounds really manufactured so I'll see if she can pull it off live. I'm quite liking this track though, a million better than the cringe-inducing Rude Boy. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:35 PM | comment link here





Pixie Lott - Turn It Up live @ Michael Ball Show

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:42 PM | comment link here





Alexandra Burke - Start Without You live @ Daybreak

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:38 PM | comment link here





Big News: Glee Season 2 Sneak Peek!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:22 PM | comment link here





Katy Perry - live @ Alan Carr

Interview + performance

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:58 PM | comment link here





Sunday, September 5, 2010
Big News: Ke$ha will re-release Animal



After scoring four consecutive Top 10 hits on the Hot 100 as a solo artist, pop princess Ke$ha will be re-releasing her debut album Animal which hit #1 on the Billboard 200 albums chart the same week her mega smash TiK ToK was dominating the Billboard Hot 100. This is hardly surprising news that she will be heading back into the studio to write and record for the Animal re-release. According to Billboard, the re-release will be out in time for the "holiday buying season" and that as much as eight new songs will appear on the re-release. He says he'll be glad if he and his fellow producers Benny Blanco and Ammo can get "four or five great ones" on the re-release.

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:05 PM | comment link here





Big News: Kara DioGuardi has left the Idol panel



As much as I didn't want this to happen, it happened. Kara DioGuardi will no longer be on the Idol judging panel. News of her being fired months ago floated about the net, but now it's confirmed. She WON'T be returning to Idol's next season.

In a statement released by Fox, DioGuardi said, "I felt like I won the lottery when I joined American Idol two years ago, but I feel like now is the best time to leave Idol. I am very proud to have been associated with American Idol– it has truly been an amazing experience. I am grateful to Fox, FremantleMedia and 19 Entertainment, as well as the cast, crew and contestants, for all they have given to me. I look forward to my next challenge and want to thank everyone who has supported me. All the best to everyone on Season 10!"

Of course, the rest of the press release contains compliments from the Idol execs, but this is bad news. Really bad. I get it. She was awkward, a little annoying at times, but she knew 100% what she was saying. She was a strong judge but was always swallowed whole by Simon Cowell (who has left) and I thought that with Simon gone, she'd be the one to replace the judge who always knew what he was talking about. Now she's gone.

What's next, FOX!?

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:51 PM | comment link here





Saturday, September 4, 2010
Katy Perry live @ Letterman

Peacock


Waking Up In Vegas


California Gurls


Hot N Cold


Firework


Teenage Dream


I Kissed A Girl


Thinking of You


I'm sorry I didn't see this. Better late than never, I guess!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:25 AM | comment link here





Tamar Kaprelian - Sinner or a Saint



Track Listing:
1. New Day
2. Sinner or a Saint
3. Delicate Soul
4. Raining In Paradise
5. Should Have Known Better
6. March Mornings
7. Transcend
8. Raw
9. Purified
10. The Otherside (Aleatory)
11. New Day (Acoustic)

Singer/songwriter Tamar Kaprelian is worlds apart from most of today's pop artists but she brings to mind another Sara Bareilles. On her debut album, Kaprelian's Sinner or a Saint is as classy as they come and is refreshing to see. She soars best on simple ballads with beautiful melodies and lyrics such as The Other Side (Aleatory) and Transcend, my favourite cuts from the album. Surprisingly, working with OneRepublic's Ryan Tedder didn't give her a big ballad, instead, it gave her the sprightly title track which, to be honest, feels rather different from the entire record so it's interesting to see why it was chosen as the title. Other stunners from the album include the album's radio-friendly lead single New Day which is also racking up plays on my iTunes.

Overall, Sinner or a Saint is a pretty record and I'm keeping my eye on Tamar to see how far she'll go. Nevertheless, I love her record and I think it's easy to relate to.

Verdict:
☻☻☻☻☺

Download Link: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:52 AM | comment link here





Big News: Ne-Yo's new album cover gets revealed!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:35 AM | comment link here





Selena Gomez & The Scene - A Year Without Rain [Music Video Premiere]

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:26 AM | comment link here





Friday, September 3, 2010
Big News: American Idol tour ends



After a less than stellar season 9, American Idol is looking to spice things up for the next Season. But most of all, what Idol needs ultimately is fresh talent. I think I've seen quite enough of male singers with a guitar in hand. Oh. In some Idol news, it appears that the rumour mill has started again with Steven Tyler an apparent done deal for Idol (Urgh..) and J.Lo has also signed on (Oh ho, will Mariah & Kara be so ever disappointed..) to judge the new Season of talent. Nothing much has really surrounded Randy Jackson's position on the judging table so I assume he's resuming his role on the panel. But however, while the Top 3 of Season 9 have all secured recording deals with major labels, the rest.. Well. We'll see. Well, now that the tour is officially over, it means Michael Lynche, Tim Urban, Siobhan Magnus and Andrew Garcia are probably going to end up as Idol rejects while the others still have a bit of chance to make it big in the industry. Make no mistake, I love those 4, but do we really see them making it big in the industry? Michael Lynche? Err.. Nope. Tim? Needs more substance. Siobhan? Where oh where can she possibly fit in the industry? Andrew? One of a billion YouTube stars. Just a tad too bland for my liking.

Now, watch 17 year old Katie Stevens strut her stuff on Christina Aguilera's Fighter. Or headbanding on Demi Lovato's Here We Go Again.



Someone sign her, please. Please. And most importantly, give her good advice.

Labels: , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:31 PM | comment link here





Big News: Leona Lewis returns to the studio!



Pop/R&B British crooner Leona Lewis has returned to the studio for her supposedly upcoming third album, which record label boss Simon Cowell has set a deadline for Summer 2011. Nevertheless, Leona Lewis has returned to the studio with Ryan Tedder, the man behind the brilliant Bleeding Love and the robotic Happy. Hopefully she records something truly great to put her back on top again.

Source: HERE
Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:50 PM | comment link here





Billboard Update



The release week of Katy Perry's sophomore album Teenage Dream bumped up single sales for her current single, the title track and California Gurls, which helped push both tracks up a spot to reach #2 and #7 on the Hot 100 this week. Teenage Dream has reached a new peak by the way, standing at #2 while album track Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.) debuts down the chart at #67. However, the might of Katy Perry just cannot get a hold on Eminem and Rihanna, who have been ruling the charts for so long with Love The Way You Lie holding up at #1 again. However, I don't expect this to last for too long. After slipping off the Top 10 last week, Taylor Swift's Mine has returned to the Top 10, moving up to #9 this week while Ke$ha's latest single Take It Off rounds out the Top 10 and reaches a new peak of #10 this week on the Hot 100. Adam Lambert's latest single If I Had You stays at its current spot of #32 for a second week. OneRepublic has achieved a new peak for their new single Secrets as it swings into #35 this week. Sara Bareilles' King of Anything remains stuck at #58 this week, just 7 spots away from its peak when it debuted on the chart. Despite her personal life struggles, I truly believe Fantasia has overcome them and Bittersweet has yet moved up again to reach a new peak on the Hot 100 at #74. Daughtry's latest single September from platinum-selling sophomore album Leave This Town has moved up to a new peak as well, hitting #75 this week.

On the Billboard 200 albums chart, Katy Perry's Teenage Dream has hit #1, trailed by a very different artist Fantasia, with her latest set Back To Me. OneRepublic's second album Waking Up makes a move up to #105 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:01 PM | comment link here





Taylor Swift - Mine live @ CMA Music Festival: Country's Night To Rock



I expected an off-key, poorly-sung rendition of her own song, Mine, but Taylor Swift proved me wrong. She's still got nothing against Carrie Underwood but I definitely think she's gotten better vocally. Plus, Mine was stuck in my head the whole day today. But I'm pretty sure it'll be sticking around the charts for about 2 months even after she might release another single.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:54 PM | comment link here





Big News: What's up with Jessie James' album?



First came the release date of August 24th for Jessie James' sophomore album Daughter of a Gypsy, which was eventually pushed back almost a whole month to September 28th. Then, a couple weeks ago, all news of Jessie's upcoming sophomore set was removed from sites like Wikipedia and Amazon. Then came Jessie's tweets of going into the studio to write. Remember that Jessie's album was already confirmed to have been completed. By going back into the studio, I think Jessie's label is upset Boys In The Summer didn't do as well as it should have, debuting at #16 on Billboard's Bubbling Under Hot 100 chart and thus have instructed Jessie to return to the studio to record more hits-in-the-making for the album. Oh well. Looks like we have to wait again. Well then, Mercury Records, how about booking more live televised performances for Jessie? Here's another hit gone to waste (Boys In The Summer)..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:54 PM | comment link here





Selena Gomez & The Scene new track: A Year Without Rain



Selena Gomez and her band barely did any live televised performances for Round And Round, the lead single from their upcoming sophomore album A Year Without Rain, which has lead Round And Round to chart based on digital downloads and airplay. Hopefully, this changes with their brand new single, the title track of the upcoming album. Of course, I don't think they'll be doing many live televised shows but A Year Without Rain isn't too bad and I think it's slightly better than Round And Round and it could thrive on digital downloads as well. Oh well, enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:34 PM | comment link here





Big News: Go behind the scenes of Lee DeWyze' album shoot!



I won't be surprised if the album is self-titled. Nevertheless, Lee DeWyze' album hits stores November 16th!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:24 PM | comment link here





Thursday, September 2, 2010
Big News: Pixie Lott unveils single cover for "Broken Arrow"!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:45 PM | comment link here





Big News: Shakira unveils new album cover!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:14 PM | comment link here





Big News: Selena Gomez teases her upcoming video!



This is already sounding better than Round And Round.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:25 PM | comment link here





Shakira new track: Loca



Latin pop diva Shakira didn't do too well with last year's bilingual album She Wolf and thus headed back into the studio to record new material. Not surprisingly, her upcoming album Sale El Sol will also be bilingual. However, the new album will have more Spanish than English songs as opposed to She Wolf. The lead single off the new album is called Loca both in Spanish and in English. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE (Spanish Version)
Download Link: HERE (English Version)

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:01 PM | comment link here