Vote at the MRAs 2011 here!



Saturday, July 31, 2010
Diana Vickers - The Boy Who Murdered Love live @ Magic Numbers



I love this crowd.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:29 PM | comment link here





Pixie Lott live @ iTunes Festival

Turn It Up


Boys And Girls

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:01 PM | comment link here





Diana Vickers - The Boy Who Murdered Love live @ iTunes Festival

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:43 PM | comment link here





Carrie Underwood - Undo It live @ Today Show

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:30 PM | comment link here





Friday, July 30, 2010
Billboard Update.



Eminem & Rihanna's collaboration on Love The Way You Lie stay put at the top of the Hot 100 while Katy Perry remains at #2 with California Gurls. Rounding out the Top 10 for a second consecutive week is Jason DeRulo with Ridin' Solo. Katy Perry's latest single Teenage Dream debuts at #20 on the Hot 100 thanks in part to high digital downloads. Carrie Underwood's Undo It remains strong at #24 for a second week. OneRepublic and Selena Gomez & The Scene are on the climb as Secrets and Round & Round move up to #35 and #37 respectively. Also on the upward trend is Ne-Yo's latest single Beautiful Monster standing at #53 this week while his R&B/Urban single Champagne Life makes a debut at #75. Christina Perri's Jar of Hearts and Sara Bareilles' King of Anything stand at #63 and #64 respectively. Adam Lambert's latest single If I Had You stays put at #69 this week. Ke$ha's latest single Take It Off has found its way into the Hot 100, re-entering at #92 this week.

It's same ol' same ol' on the Billboard 200 albums chart as Eminem takes top spot again this week with Recovery. Thanks to her success with her singles, Katy Perry's debut album One of the Boys has returned to the Billboard 200 albums chart at #70 this week. OneRepublic's Waking Up hit #112 this week thanks to the success of Secrets.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:00 PM | comment link here





Big News: Is J.Lo the next Idol judge?



Apparently, Jennifer Lopez is set to take up the judges seat on the Idol judging panel. Nope, she's not replacing Simon. She's replacing Ellen DeGeneres. The funny talkshow host we know and love. Unfortunately, she was very awkward on Idol and honestly, I'm glad she's leaving Idol. Not because I dislike her, because I don't. I just think she was never herself on Idol and am glad to see her returning to what she does best.

Jennifer Lopez apparently has been in talks with Idol execs and if you remember, she did mentor once in Season 6 and I thought she did quite alright. Hope she's better on Idol than Ellen.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:54 PM | comment link here





Allison Iraheta - Don't Waste The Pretty ft. Orianthi live on SYTYCD


Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:43 PM | comment link here





Big News: Taylor Swift's "Mine" single cover!



There's going to be a blood bath at the end of the year. Wanna bet?

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:19 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, July 28, 2010
Ne-Yo new track: Hurt Me



Ne-Yo's ready to make his big splash on the music industry again with his latest singles Beautiful Monster and Champagne Life and his upcoming album Libra Scale. The singles are still climbing the Billboard charts but we already have a new album track in our hands. This new uptempo number Hurt Me fits in with the album theme and I'm quite liking this. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:58 PM | comment link here





Saturday, July 24, 2010
Diana Vickers - The Boy Who Murdered Love live @ Suck My Pop

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:20 PM | comment link here





Christina Aguilera new track: You Lost Me (Hex Hector & Mac Quayle Remix)



Christina Aguilera's music career has been relatively quiet even though she has released her fourth studio album Bionic well over a month ago, which is sad because Bionic isn't half as bad. Her latest single You Lost Me hasn't really taken off yet, but Hex Hector & Mac Quayle have put some tempo into the diva's ballad. I love the remixed version of You Lost Me, and frankly I think it's pretty epic. I think you guys'll love this. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:34 PM | comment link here





Big News: Katy Perry "Teenage Dream" alternate cover & tracklisting!



If you were disappointed with Katy Perry's album cover for Teenage Dream, or more like disappointed that there was no text on the cover, here's the alternate cover for Teenage Dream. The cover will supposedly be used in some international countries. I genuinely like this just a smidge more. Also, the tracklisting has been confirmed. Check it out.

1. Teenage Dream
2. Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)
3. California Gurls (feat. Snoop Dogg)
4. Firework
5. Peacock
6. Who Am I Living For?
7. The One That Got Away
8. E.T.
9. Circle The Drain
10. Pearl
11. Hummingbird Heartbeat
12. Not Like The Movies


The album will be in stores August 24th!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:39 AM | comment link here





Friday, July 23, 2010
Diana Vickers - The Boy Who Murdered Love live

Loose Women


Live From Studio Five

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:55 PM | comment link here





Billboard Update



Eminem has officially taken over the Hot 100 with Rihanna with Love The Way You Lie dethroning Katy Perry's California Gurls, nudging her a spot down. Jason DeRulo's continues rounding out the Top 10 with Ridin' Solo at #10 again this week. Carrie Underwood's sitting just one spot below the peak of Undo It at #24 this week. Christina Perri's breakout single Jar of Hearts may stick out like a sore thumb amongst the likes of Katy Perry or Ke$ha's latest singles but that's not stopping her with Jar of Hearts hitting a new peak of #34 this week. Selena Gomez & The Scene's Round & Round rebounds to #39 this week. OneRepublic's latest single Secrets shoots to #46 up from #70 this week. Colbie Caillat's I Never Told You has stopped rising and it's now sitting at #53 from last week's peak of #48. Ne-Yo's Beautiful Monster has moved up a spot to #55. Sara Bareilles' King of Anything drops a spot to #64 but Adam Lambert's latest single If I Had You rises to #69. P!nk and Miranda Cosgrove's Glitter In The Air and Kissin' U has respectively moved up to #72 and #77. American Idol Season 3 winner Fantasia's latest release Bittersweet moves up to #92 this week while Miley Cyrus' alter ego Hannah Montana's Ordinary Girl debuts #91 this week.

Eminem's Recovery spends a fourth consecutive week at #1 on the albums chart. Miley Cyrus' latest album Can't Be Tamed falls 11 spots to #22 in its fourth week. Falling too is Christina Aguilera's Bionic, who falls 29 spots to #59 this week. There's better news for Selena Gomez & The Scene, Colbie Caillat and P!nk though, with their latest album releases Kiss & Tell, Breakthrough and Funhouse all making their way up at #66, #71 and #76 respectively. Miranda Cosgrove's debut Sparks Fly also moves up, standing at #114 this week. OneRepublic's Waking Up is really hitting its stride, literally flying up to #123 this week, up from #184 last week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:49 PM | comment link here





Katy Perry new track: Teenage Dream



Katy Perry is on a high even though the lead single California Gurls from parent album Teenage Dream has dropped to #2 on the Hot 100. Perry is ready though, in terms of a new single, the title track Teenage Dream. The chorus isn't as big as California Gurls but it's yet another catchy pop confection that should become yet another hit. The song is a grower and I think it's pretty good. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:28 PM | comment link here





Big News: Katy Perry's official album cover for Teenage Dream!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:27 PM | comment link here





Christina Aguilera - You Lost Me [Music Video Premiere]



Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:24 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, July 21, 2010
Big News: Leona Lewis "Labyrinth Tour" to be on DVD!



If you missed pop/R&B diva Leona Lewis' first big UK tour The Labyrinth Tour, fear not, because the June 18th show at London's iconic The O2 Arena has been filmed. Leona confirmed it herself on Twitter and The Daily Mail has also confirmed it. Meanwhile, apparently Leona has headed back into the studio recording her third studio album after the moderate-selling Echo didn't manage to reach the heights her debut album Spirit did. But I'm still a fan no matter what and I can't wait to get my hands on this DVD release.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:16 PM | comment link here





Big News: Allison Iraheta to keep opening for Adam Lambert on the Glam Nation Tour!



All Alliholics rejoice! And Glamberts too. It appears Allison Iraheta is staying on Adam Lambert's Glam Nation Tour after fans took to an online petition persuading Jive Records to let Iraheta continue as Lambert's opener on the tour. the online petition collected about a thousand signatures and it appears it worked! She'll continue to open for Adam till the end of the tour, which is September 21st and you can check out all her dates HERE!

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:43 PM | comment link here





Big News: Miley Cyrus' new single is..



Hollywood Records, home to many Disney stars such as Demi Lovato, Selena Gomez, Ashley Tisdale etc., has chosen Disney's teen queen Miley Cyrus' new single from her third studio album Can't Be Tamed. Apparently, they are sticking with the safe route, selecting Two More Lonely People as the next single. What a pity. Her transition and Can't Be Tamed sassiness could've been stronger with the release of Robot, by far one of the best album tracks. I mean, even if they were going to choose a safe ballad, why not the amazing Stay or Take Me Along? Still, Two More Lonely People will be released next month.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:09 PM | comment link here





Big News: JoJo's coming!!



After lying low for a couple of years since 2007's The High Road, pop/R&B starlet JoJo's already been in the studio working on her third album All I Want Is Everything with producers Chad and Kenna, Tank, DJ Toomp, J. Moss, Toby Gad, The Underdogs, Danja, J.R. Rotem, Billy Steinberg, Bryan-Michael Cox, Marsha Ambrosius, Madd Scientist, Tony Dixon, Eric Dawkins, and J. Gatsby. On her Twitter lately, she confirmed she's going to release her new mixtape Can't Take That Away From Me next month which features (I Only Know Him) In The Dark. I'm so excited for this new release!

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:52 PM | comment link here





Jessie James - Boys In The Summer live @ Charlotte Today!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:50 PM | comment link here





Sunday, July 18, 2010
Big News: 3 artists to be Augusts' Artist of the Month!

We're already halfway into July and you can expect August to come soon. Instead of putting up a poll where you guys vote for the following month's Artist of the Month, I'll have 3 artists to be August's AOTM all at the same time. First up is R&B/Soul singer Fantasia, who releases Back To Me on 24th of August. Along with Fantasia, Katy Perry and Jessie James will also be featured. All 3 artists will release their respective albums on the same date. Katy's is Teenage Dream and Jessie James' is Daughter of a Gypsy.

Labels: , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:55 PM | comment link here





Big News: Christina Perri's sending waves through the industry



Everyone's fighting for Christina Perri. Well, at least record labels are. Her debut single Jar of Hearts is slowly inching up the charts and she's got everyone talking. She performed Jar of Hearts on So You Think You Can Dance recently and she's probably going to keep climbing the charts. Jar of Hearts broke the Top 60 on the Hot 100 this week and she's not stopping. She's confirmed she's working on her EP and has met with various record labels to get it out. Also, she confirmed on her Twitter page that she's recorded 3 new songs called Love Bite, Tradgedy, and I've Had Enough. Well I genuinely can't wait.

Source: HERE
Music Reviews 10 @ 11:19 AM | comment link here





Big News: Christina Aguilera premieres new video stills for 'You Lost Me' video!



This looks like a decent video. At least from the video stills, pop diva Christina Aguilera's You Lost Me video looks less like everything else today and more Christina. She looks almost 10 years younger and I think the Gaga comparisons should fade away now. I'm excited.

View video stills: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:13 AM | comment link here





Big News: New video stills from Kris Allen's new music shoot!



The boys at Kris Allen France have shots of Kris Allen himself on the set of his latest music video for The Truth which apparently has been postponed thanks to the rain. Featured on the single is Pat Monahan of Train and he's going to be in the video as well. There's a bed, a girl, Kris and Pat on the video. Looks set to be simple yet great. I'd love another gigantic ticking clock, Kris.

View the pictures: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:06 AM | comment link here





Big News: Jessie James reveals new album title!



Ooh. Pop/country starlet Jessie James has revealed to Beatweek Magazine the title of her upcoming sophomore album. Guess what? I'd have never guessed it. It's Daughter of A Gypsy. I'm intrigued. It's an interesting title and perhaps the album will be a tad darker compared to her self-titled debut? Either way, I'm excited. Apparently, the inspiration for Daughter of A Gypsy came from one of the songs on the album What Am I Here For, which has a line in it that says "Daughter of a gypsy, fourteen different homes" which refers to her upbringing in fourteen different places as they always travelled, "sometimes for no reason at all". The album is scheduled to drop August 24th. By the way, Boys In The Summer has debuted on the Bubbling Under Hot 100 chart standing at #16 so far. Oh, Katy Perry's smash sophomore album Teenage Dream is scheduled to drop on the same date. If Boys In The Summer is a surprise smash for Jessie, she could be Katy Perry's rival on that date. (Though that's unlikely to happen thanks to little promo).

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:52 AM | comment link here





Friday, July 16, 2010
Diana Vickers - The Boy Who Murdered Love live @ The 5 O' Clock Show



This is Diana Vickers, one of UK's rising pop acts. She was in The X Factor (UK) the same season Alexandra Burke won. Diana didn't win but I'm loving her single choices. Check her out!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:09 PM | comment link here





Billboard Update



Katy Perry may still be on top of the Hot 100 with California Gurls again this week, but this isn't going to last. Apparently, it'll slip to #2 next week while this week's #2 Love The Way You Lie, Rihanna and Eminem's collaboration will take top spot. Jason DeRulo rounds out the Top 10 this week with Ridin' Solo. Ke$ha and Lady Gaga are stuck together again with Your Love Is My Drug and Alejandro at #12 and #13. Alicia Keys' latest single Un-Thinkable (I'm Ready) rises to a new peak this week, sitting just outside the Top 20 at #21. Carrie Underwood's Undo It's still pretty strong, sitting at #25 this week. Colbie Caillat's I Never Told You is still climbing up, hitting a new peak of #48 this week. Selena Gomez & The Scene's Round And Round continues to slip, falling to #53 this week. Ne-Yo's Beautiful Monster hits a new peak of #56 this week. Surprisingly, Christina Perri's debut single Jar of Hearts is also another single that's climbing the charts as the track hits #58 this week. Sara Bareilles' snazzy new single King of Anything however, falls to #63 this week. Another single on the rise is OneRepublic's Secrets, hitting #70 this week. Adam Lambert and P!nk's If I Had You and Glitter In The Air are at #73 and #74 respectively. Miranda Cosgrove's Kissin' U is also getting back on track, hitting #82 this week. Fantasia's latest single Bittersweet enters the Hot 100 at #94.

On the Billboard 200 albums chart, Eminem holds the top spot again in its third week on the chart. Miley Cyrus' Can't Be Tamed has slipped out of the Top 10, dropping 2 spots to #11 this week. Christina Aguilera's Bionic also falls 2 spots, this week sitting at #34. Daughtry's latest release, Leave This Town: The B-Sides debuts at #70 while the parent album flies up to #66. Selena Gomez & The Scene's Kiss & Tell also shoots back up, hitting #78 this week. Thanks to the success of second single Secrets, OneRepublic's album Waking Up has returned to the chart, re-entering at #184.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:55 PM | comment link here





Thursday, July 15, 2010
Selena Gomez & The Scene - Round And Round live @ America's Got Talent

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:27 PM | comment link here





Ne-Yo - Champagne Life [Music Video Premiere]

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:20 PM | comment link here





Big News: David Cook in the studio Vlog!



Through his official website, pop/rock singer David Cook gave his fans a little tease about what's to come.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:16 PM | comment link here





Ne-Yo - Beautiful Monster [Music Video Premiere]

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:13 PM | comment link here





Tuesday, July 13, 2010
Alexandra Burke - Start Without You live @ T4 on the Beach

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:17 PM | comment link here





Ellie Goulding - The Writer [Music Video Premiere]

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:15 PM | comment link here





Sunday, July 11, 2010
Christina Perri - Jar of Hearts live @ The Early Show


Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:10 PM | comment link here





Esmée Denters - Love Dealer (acoustic live @ Billboard)

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:14 PM | comment link here





Big News: Glee goes Britney!



Since its debut last year, Glee has taken over the world. They did a Lady Gaga and Madonna-themed episode which saw a boost in sales for both artists. There has been speculation for a long time coming about Glee doing a Britney-themed episode and it's finally confirmed. Glee's creator Ryan Murphy has confirmed they are writing a Britney-themed episode. Can't wait.

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:58 AM | comment link here





Saturday, July 10, 2010
Jason DeRulo - What If [Music Video Premiere]



Can't watch the video? Watch it HERE.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:50 PM | comment link here





Big News: They're out and about!



A couple of music's biggest stars have been spotted out and about shooting their music videos for their latest single releases. First up is Christina Aguilera's who's been struggling with her latest release Bionic and its singles. She's returned to her roots for her third single, You Lost Me, the big ballad I have said over and over again about its wrong timing. The clip above shows Christina filming You Lost Me, should look interesting. And is it just me, or does she look a decade younger?



Next up is hugely successful Jason DeRulo with his forthcoming single What If from his self-titled debut album. The video above is a little sneak peek, like a movie trailer. Looks interesting. Can't wait.

Also shooting a music video is Ke$ha. Spotting a new do which I think looks so much better on her, Ke$ha's filming the video for her lastest single Take It Off which sounds like another smash. There's no clip, but you can check out some pictures HERE

Labels: , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:36 PM | comment link here





Friday, July 9, 2010
Billboard Update



Katy Perry's summer anthem racks up another week at #1 on the Hot 100, once again holding off Eminem and Rihanna's Love The Way You Lie. Jason DeRulo's Ridin' Solo hits a new peak of #9 this week. Ke$ha's Your Love Is My Drug seems to always be stuck with Lady Gaga's Alejandro, with both songs at #11 and #12 respectively. No fear for Ke$ha fans though, Take It Off will be the new single. Justin Bieber's latest Somebody To Love creeps up to #15. Alicia Keys' Un-Thinkable (I'm Ready) is back on its way up, moving up to #24 this week. Carrie Underwood's Undo It also moves up and hits #27 this week. Selena Gomez & The Scene's latest release Round And Round falls 24 spots down to #48 this week. Sara Bareilles' sassy new single King of Anything hits a new peak at #51 this week. Colbie Caillat's single I Never Told You is another creeper, hitting a new peak #56 this week. After a stunning performance of Beautiful Monster at So You Think You Can Dance, Ne-Yo's new single breaks the Top 60 this week sitting at #60. A newcomer Christina Perri breaks the Hot 100 with the raw ballad Jar of Hearts, which shot to the Top 10 of the iTunes chart after being featured on So You Think You Can Dance and it has reportedly sold 47, 500 copies, debuting at #63. P!nk's Glitter In The Air is going up once again, hitting #75 this week while Lady Antebellum's Our Kind of Love enters the Top 80 at #80. OneRepublic's latest single Secrets re-enters the charts at #83. Adam Lambert's If I Had You moves up to #85 thanks to digital downloads. After a relatively short chart run with radio-friendly single Kissin' U, Miranda Cosgrove's catchy pop/rock number moves back up to #88 after re-entering the chart last week.

On the Billboard 200 albums chart, Eminem hogs the top spot with his latest album Recovery while The Twilight Saga: Eclipse's soundtrack flys to #3 the movie itself opened at #1 at the box office. In its second week out, Miley Cyrus' Can't Be Tamed falls to #9. Alicia Keys' The Element of Freedom goes back up to #27. In its fourth week out, Christina Aguilera's Bionic falls 10 more spots down to #32 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:20 AM | comment link here





Tuesday, July 6, 2010
T4 on the Beach!

UK's hottest popstars came together to perform at T4 on the Beach and of course, all of them did well.

Pixie Lott - Boys And Girls


Pixie Lott - Turn It Up


Alexandra Burke - All Night Long


Alexandra Burke - Bad Boys


Ellie Goulding - Starry Eyed

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:13 PM | comment link here





Sunday, July 4, 2010
New Artist: Christina Perri



You guys might not be familiar with this artist just yet, but if you managed to catch So You Think You Can Dance recently, a song called Jar of Hearts was featured and it's a pretty ballad by a new artist called Christina Perri. Jar of Hearts propelled to the Top 10 on the iTunes Songs chart after the So You Think You Can Dance feature. She's a Youtube star as well and you can check out her Youtube channel here. I love her single Jar of Hearts, it's so raw amd emotional. Check it out.

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:19 AM | comment link here





Saturday, July 3, 2010
Big News: New Poll!

The new poll for Best Album of the month is up! It includes June, May and April's releases. Teenage singing sensation Charice' debut international self-titled album Charice is up against gothic rock band We Are The Fallen's debut record Tear The World Down, Jason Castro's sunny self-titled debut Jason Castro, Pop starlet Christina Aguilera's latest album Bionic, Teen superstars Miley Cyrus' Can't Be Tamed and Miranda Cosgrove's Sparks Fly. Vote now!

Labels: , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:33 PM | comment link here





Friday, July 2, 2010
American Idol's Season 9 Tour kicks off!



Well it American Idol's current crop of Top 10 finalists have kicked off the tour and the full setlists have been revealed, along with a couple of reviews.

Didi Benami - Finishing the competition in tenth place means this singer-songwriter got the honour to open the show, with Kyler England's Lay It On Me as her opening song.

"Thank you all so much!" she says over the audience's cheers. "I was little bit terrified before I came out here, to see all these faces, but I just realized that I'm among family.

"Speaking of being Terrified … " she says, trailing off as she dons her acoustic guitar.

- Brian Mansfield of Idol Chatter

And of course, delivers the crowd favourite Terrified, the stunning Katharine McPhee song she delivered with great emotion in Hollywood Week where she first started to steal hearts.

Andrew Garcia is second, and starts with his acoustic guitar and his well-known cover of Paula Abdul's Straight Up, yet another song that stole America's hearts back in Hollywood Week. He then plays Maroon 5's Sunday Morning.

Next up is 17 year old Katie Stevens, who kicks off her set with Demi Lovato's Here We Go Again and concludes with Christina Aguilera's Fighter, the song the Top 12 girls sang with Christina Aguilera herself. Adam Graham of The Detroit News called her "the evening's most current performer" while Brian Mansfield of USA Today said she looked like a less-hyper Lovato during her performance of Here We Go Again but closed his article saying, "Katie rarely rocked this hard on the show -- it's a much better direction for her than the older songs and ballads she favored on the show." The show meaning American Idol of course.

Heartthrob Tim Urban was next, gaining "applause" that "gets a little louder and last a little longer than any of the previous contestants." Nevertheless, he kicked off his set with The Goo Goo Dolls' Better Days and ending his with Coldplay's Viva La Vida. Brian Mansfield noted that though "Tim had his best moments on TV with smaller, less ambitious melodies -- a pretty good choice for Tim (and one he sang during Hollywood Week, though it wasn't never shown). When he closes his eyes and tilts his head back just so on the chorus, he looks and sounds perfectly at home singing it. And the girls get into it, too, waving their hands and singing along."

Then on comes Season 9's screamer. Siobhan Magnus' set starts with The Rolling Stones' Paint It Black while she "emerges amid billowing smoke and purple and white lights." After that it's No Doubt's Spiderwebs and then Muse' Stockholm Syndrome, where Brian Mansfield who says she "stretches it for all its worth, ending on her knees with an impressive scream."

On a completely different note, a very young Aaron Kelly was "the evening's most pleasant surprise" according to Adam Graham of The Detroit News, who opens with Keith Urban's Somebody Like You who "roams the stage like a pro" according to Brian Mansfield and then launches into Marc Cohn's Walking in Memphis. His closing song is Rascal Flatt's Fast Cars And Freedom and Brian Mansfield makes a big statement saying, "On the show, he often sounded like a promising kid who liked to sing ballads. Tonight, he sounds like a young guy that's ready for the big time. Both he and Siobhan have made strong cases that they should have placed higher than they did."

Then came the first group song, Miley Cyrus' The Climb. Andrew Garcia, Tim Urban and Didi Benami start first, sitting on stools, strumming their acoustic guitars and then are joined by Aaron Kelly, Siobhan Magnus and Katie Stevens.

Michael Lynche starts the second half with This Woman's Work, and then India.Arie's Ready For Love, arguably his most memorable performance on Idol. Brian Mansfield described his set as "sexy ballads" as Lynche's closing number is Justin Timberlake and T.I.'s My Love which causes Adam Graham to state the song choice as the "riskiest song choice of the evening" and that Lynche seemed "worn out by its close".

Casey James' set is described as "inconsistent" by Adam Graham and that James' is a "better guitarist than singer." His set consisted of I Got Mine by the Black Keys, Don't! by country/pop darling Shania Twain, It's All Over Now, and Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman? with Michael Lynche originally by Bryan Adams.

Then, runner-up Crystal Bowersox strolls on stage, earning a standing ovation from the crowd. She perform's What's Up by 4 Non Blondes, a song she apparently tried to do on Idol. Her next song is Melissa Etheridge's Come To My Window, who she mentions is her new "good friend". She then proceeds with her Idol coronation single, Patty Griffin's Up To The Mountain and closes her set with her Idol audition song, Janis Joplin's Piece Of My Heart.

Next up? Winner Lee DeWyze of course! He takes the stage to perform Beautiful Day, his Idol winning anthem, but of course, he switches things up and transforms the song into an acoustic rock number. Think Kris Allen's version of Heartless on his self-titled album and you get the drift. Next is his take on Elton John's Rocket Man. He also shakes up the arrangement for Hallelujah and Treat Her Like A Lady, songs he did on the show before closing with the Kings of Leon's Use Somebody.

And of course, there's the last group number of the evening, as the whole Top 10 launches into Kelly Clarkson's #1 hit My Life Would Suck Without You.

Reviews:
Adam Graham of The Detroit News
Brian Mansfield of USA Today

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:36 PM | comment link here





Ne-Yo - Beautiful Monster live @ So You Think You Can Dance



The song's still a little haunting for summer but this performance was fantastic. Fantastic.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:27 PM | comment link here





Billboard Update



Katy Perry holds on to the top spot on the Hot 100 for yet another week trailed behind by Eminem and Rihanna's collaboration for Love The Way You Lie. Ke$ha's Your Love Is My Drug drops to #8 and Lady Gaga's Alejandro falls to #9 while Jason DeRulo's latest single Ridin' Solo shoots up to #10, making it his third consecutive Top 10 hit on the Hot 100. With the release of her new album Can't Be Tamed, Miley Cyrus' lead single and title track jumps back into the Top 20, sitting at #18 this week. Teen pop sensations Selena Gomez & The Scene's Round & Round debuts at #24, making it her highest charting single on the Hot 100 yet, while the other teenage sensation Justin Bieber's latest single Somebody To Love moves up to #25. Colbie Caillat's I Never Told You keeps inching its way up, rising to #58 this week, trailed behind by Sara Bareilles' snazzy new single King of Anything which debuts at #59. Ne-Yo's brand new single Beautiful Monster falls down one spot to #65. Remember one of the songs on Miley Cyrus' new album Can't Be Tamed I singled out to be a stand out ballad? Guess what, the stand out ballad Stay debuts at #75 this week thanks to digital downloads. Miranda Cosgrove's teen-friendly pop/rock debut single as a proper recording artist Kissin' U re-enters at #93 while Adam Lambert's latest single If I Had You debuts at #94.

On the Billboard 200 albums chart, Eminem sells well over 750, 000 copies of Recovery, which lands him a spot at #1 on the Billboard 200 albums chart. Miley Cyrus' latest album Can't Be Tamed debuts at #3, selling a meagre 102, 000 copies in its first week. (Anyone remember the disappointing album sales of Christina Aguilera's Bionic and she's been trying hard to keep afloat? Careful, Miley). Speaking of Bionic, which has been on the chart for a third week now, it hasn't just slipped out of the Top 10, it's slipped out of the Top 20 altogether, holding unsteadily at #22. Round And Round, Selena Gomez & The Scene's lead single from their upcoming sophomore album might not be available on their debut album, but it seems Kiss & Tell is seeing the effects of Round And Round hitting #118 up from #152 the previous week. After I feared that Charice's debut international album Charice would fall of the charts this week after slipping all the way to #173 last week, she has rebounded back at #139 this week. After Katy Perry's domination on the Hot 100, it's not surprising her debut album has found its way back in the chart, re-entering at #175.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:01 PM | comment link here





Thursday, July 1, 2010
David Archuleta new track: Something About Love



David Archuleta was up against David Cook on the Season Finale of American Idol Season 7 and even though he ultimately lost, his debut single post-Idol Crush was a humongous hit all around the world and his debut album has already shifted past 900, 000 copies in the States. He then made his first Christmas album and that sold about 200, 000 copies and he's back and ready to make an impact on the scene again. This song Something About Love serves as the lead single to his follow-up album and I don't this song will reach the colossal heights of Crush, and in fact, it's a little middle of the road but I'm sure Archie fans will snap this up. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:17 PM | comment link here