Vote at the MRAs 2011 here!



Tuesday, August 30, 2011
Big News: Britney's new single to be Criminal!



Britney Spears has had a relatively successful album era for seventh disc Femme Fatale, collecting her third Top 10 single from the album with I Wanna Go, picking up 2 MTV VMAs, and now ready to launch her third single to follow #1 hit Hold It Against Me, Top 3 hit Till The World Ends and the aforementioned Top 10 I Wanna Go. Previously, she got her fans to vote for what they wanted to see as the next single, but then came rumours that Trouble For Me was to be the next single, rendering the earlier poll meaningless.

However, Britney herself confirmed the ballad/midtempo Criminal would be the upcoming single. Take a listen for yourself below, I've got a feeling this could be shaping up to a new twist to the Femme Fatale era.



Omgzzzz! A new ballad from Brit Brit?! Omggggg!!!!!!!!11!1!111!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:08 PM | comment link here





Big News: JoJo returns with Disaster!



It's been a long time coming. Messy label problems aside, JoJo has given us an insight to what her next album era could be like, flipping Drake's Marvin's Room to a female perspective and cursing up a storm while doing so, singing about making love in the paint with Travis Garland, crooning about being someone's lover only in the bedroom with The Other Chick and releasing the "edgy" mixtape that was Can't Take That Away From Me last year.

Now, however, JoJo has returned to her roots with her angsty breakup song to smash JoJo back into the charts and into the ears of the new dance/pop music loving generation. Disaster has been described as reminiscent to her smash single Too Little Too Late back in 2006, and it's true. It's guitar-driven and has a huge swept up production sweeping the chorus in the same way Joe Jonas' See No More does too.

Queen JoJo's back and better than ever.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:20 PM | comment link here





Friday, August 26, 2011
Billboard Update



Yes yes let's just get this part out of the way, Katy Perry's Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.) is still #1 on the Hot 100, followed by LMFAO's Party Shit Anthem at #2. Now for the more interesting part, Christina Aguilera and Maroon 5 have collected the Airplay Gainer title for their collaboration on Moves Like Jagger, standing strongly at #4. Britney's I Wanna Go rounds out the Top 10 at #10. Rihanna shoots up to #17 with latest single Cheers (Drink To That) while the single is still rising up the ranks on the iTunes chart. Lady Gaga picks up the Digital Gainer Title and You And I skyrockets to #35 on the Hot 100. Lady Antebellum's rather bland single We Owned The Night debuts at #47 while Jason Aldean and Kelly Clarkson's Don't You Wanna Stay re-enters at #50. Demi Lovato's ballad Skyscraper is starting to make its way up again, rising to #76 this week. They keep tryna make this girl happen: Nicole Scherzinger's new US single Don't Hold Your Breath did really well in the UK, but now being plastered all over VEVO, Scherzinger's landed at #86 on the Hot 100. Colbie Caillat's Brighter Than The Sun finally makes an appearance on the Hot 100, arriving at #90 this week.

Jay Z and Kanye West's collaboration album Battle of the Egos Watch The Throne is still #1 on the Billboard 200, but Adele's 21 picks up the Greatest Gainer at #2 and holds firmly at #2.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:42 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - Cheers (Drink To That) [Music Video Premiere]



Rihanna's on tour. She also has a new single. Therefore she's done of those tour music videos thing that looks more like a fanmade documentary than anything.

*Yawn*

"OOH AVRIL LAVIGNE!" Oh wait, she's gone now.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:39 PM | comment link here





Thursday, August 25, 2011
Big News: Listen to The Saturdays' new B Side "Ladykiller"!



The Saturdays' All Fired Up isn't due till September 4th, which will contain a new song called Ladykiller which serves as the single's b side. But lo and behold, Amazon screwed up and released All Fired Up a little early and now we've got Ladykiller on our hands. The Saturdays mentioned before that their new album will have a lot of "man bashing", and so we've got the girls here singing of a dangerous man, but still can't help but falling prey to this charming man.

In true Sats fashion, Ladykiller sounds like something that could've been on their last album, but more progressed and with a bit more sass, very much like all the material we've heard this new album era, first with Notorious, it's b side Not That Kinda Girl, the rave club stomper All Fired Up, and now this brilliant tune.

Check it out below.



Admittedly, I do goddamn miss Vanessa's powerful lungs. But her voice needs rest now. So it's Una's turn to flex her range on this song.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:10 PM | comment link here





Big News: Nicola Roberts unveils album cover + tracklisting!



Let's be real. Out of all of the Girls Aloud solo projects, Nicola has the highest quality music. But since her debut single Beat of My Drum tanked on the chart, a lot is riding on her second single Lucky Day, released on the 18th of September. Nevertheless, the Ginger Queen revealed the artwork for debut album Cinderella's Eyes, out September 4th. The cover is flawless obviously, but I didn't expect anything less than perfect, much unlike Cheryl Cole's cheap looking Messy Little Raindrops album sleeve.

Sophisticated, classy, gorgeous. But will anyone actually buy it? Fingers crossed the album does well and sells on quality alone, and Nicola becomes everyone's favourite indie/mainstream pop singer.

Check out the track listing below:

1. Beat Of My Drum
2. Lucky Day
3. Yo-Yo
4. Cinderella’s Eyes
5. Porcelain Heart
6. i
7. Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime
8. Say It Out Loud
9. Gladiator
10. Fish Out Of Water
11. Take A Bite
12. sticks + stones


Looks like the flawless Girls Aloud-esque Beat of My Drum b side Porcelain Heart has made the final tracklisting! It's a good day, y'all.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:57 PM | comment link here





Demi Lovato - Skyscraper live @ America's Got Talent + Album news!



After strong digital sales, Demi Lovato's career resurgence went into full swing as Skyscraper became the highest charting single of her career in the United States, peaking at #10 so far. The single so far has been plummeting down the Hot 100, but radio has only just started to really eat the song up and Demi's only just started doing promotional rounds. She first performed the empowering ballad on VH1's Do Something Awards, but has taken things up an entirely new level for her most recent visit to America's Got Talent. She emerged out of a scrap heap, before setting the stage on fire, playing the piano during the song's bridge, and truly taking the song by the neck and absolutely reigning over it. Sure, there was a moment where she got a little caught up in the moment and her vocals slipped a bit after effortlessly hitting that high note, but she got herself back together again and truly proved why she's still the most vocally talented starlet to have ever been associated with the Disney machine.

And if you haven't seen it yet, Demi unveiled the cover of her album and the tracklisting which you can check out both below.



1. All Night Long (Featuring Missy Elliott & Timbaland)
2. Who’s That Boy (Featuring Dev)
3. You’re My Only Shorty (Featuring Iyaz)
4. Together (Featuring Jason Derulo)
5. Lightweight
6. Unbroken
7. Fix a Heart
8. Hold Up
9. Mistake
10. Give Your Heart a Break
11. Skyscraper
12. In Real Life
13. My Love is Like a Star
14. For The Love of a Daughter
15. Skyscraper (Wizz Dumb Remix)


I'm just sayin', it sounds like All Night Long's gonna be one hot collaboration. Oh, and has anyone realised For The Love Of A Daughter, a song she didn't put on her last album as it was too personal and a little out of reach for her tween fans, is actually on this album? Sounds like Demi's finally grown up and is more about being an artist now.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:36 PM | comment link here





Friday, August 19, 2011
Big News: Matt Cardle announces debut album 'Letters'!



Remember Matt Cardle? Oh you know, the painter that hit the big time after he won The X Factor in the UK last year? Fast forward a year, Simon's brought the show to the States, humiliating Cheryl Cole in the process, revamping The X Factor UK with three quarters of the judging panel completely replaced by Take That's Gary Barlow, N Dubz' Cheryl Cole Tulisa, and pop/R&B songstress Kelly Rowland.

Nevertheless, along with his fellow X Factor contestants Cher Lloyd, Rebecca Ferguson One Direction, Matt has been hard at work on his debut album, now announced to be titled Letters released October 17th. Above is the album cover, which I absolutely love. The first single to be released is Run For Your Life, described as "reminiscent of Snow Patrol's biggest hits", and that it's the only song on Letters Matt didn't co-write on. In fact, the song was written by Gary Barlow, the Gary Barlow that's on The X Factor UK panel.

Songwriter Guy Chambers whom Matt worked with on Letters, said that Matt is powerful and emotive, a cross between "Coldplay, Travis and Snow Patrol".

I'm interested to see how his career will take off from here, and I sincerely hope his album is what songwriters are claiming it is.

And is it just me, or is Rebecca Ferguson taking an awful long time to give us some new music? Hmmm.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:41 PM | comment link here





Billboard Update



After a billion desperate attempts to hit #1 on the Hot 100 and make chart history, Katy Perry has finally gone and done it. Last Friday Night (TGIF) finally dethrones LMFAO's overrated Party Rock Anthem, shoving it to #2 while Maroon 5's Christina Aguilera-assisted Moves Like Jagger vaults to #3 getting the Airplay Gainer Title. Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley's duet on Remind Me rise a spot to #17 while Rihanna leaps up 25 stops to #25 with latest single Cheers (Drink To That). Jason DeRulo's new single It Girl makes its way to #39 this week. Adele's Someone Like You continues its upward crawl, sitting just outside the Top 50 at #51 this week. Avril Lavigne's Smile has started to fall, after peaking at a measly #68 last week, the pop/rock number has taken a tumble to #73 this week. After plummeting down the chart since its top 10 debut last month, Demi Lovato's Skyscraper finally makes a move up to #82 while Taylor Swift's new single Sparks Fly re-enters at #84. Lady Gaga's You And I re-enters at #96 as well.

The world's two biggest egos Jay Z and Kanye West have teamed up and their album Watch The Throne bows at #1 over on the Billboard 200 Albums Chart. On the opposite spectrum of the chart, David Cook's close to falling out of the chart as This Loud Morning holds unsteadily at #188.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:37 PM | comment link here





Demi Lovato - Skyscraper - live VH1 Do Something Awards



Ever since its debut, Demi Lovato's Skyscraper had a music video and countless amateur YouTube stars taking to their channel to do their own take on the song, but we never had Demi herself sing the empowering ballad live. However, Demi made her first televised live performance of the song on the VH1 Do Something Awards.

It wasn't anything to shout home about, with a relatively simple stage setup, before virtually rising above the smoke and the stage "like a skyscraper" during the final chorus. Demi effortlessly slayed the high note in the bridge, proving she's still one of the best pop vocalists out there.

Lovato will be releasing her third studio album Unbroken on September 20th.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:16 PM | comment link here





Thursday, August 18, 2011
Big News: JoJo to return with "Disaster"!



JoJo has been keeping under the radar ever since her record company ran into financial problems, and she demanded to be released from her contract, quickly being signed again under a new deal with Blackground/Interscope Records. Ever since then, she dropped a mixtape Can't Take That Away From Me and changed the title of her forthcoming third disc from All I Want Is Everything to Jumping Trains.

Nevertheless, JoJo sneaked a new single The Other Chick to iTunes which flopped. Not surprising, considering no one knew JoJo had a new single, and the single was much too dated for 2011 pop radio.

But now, we finally have something concrete: JoJo herself tweeted, ""DISASTER" - 1ST OFFICIAL SINGLE FROM JUMPING TRAINS. Can't Wait For You All to Hear It. #TWEETUrFaveRadioStation #MoreDetailsComingSoon" I assume since they're starting to build up hype for it, it's actually going to happen.

Apparently, American radio station 933FLZ has heard the song, and tweeted to a JoJo fansite that Disaster "sounds similar to "Too Little Too Late." Pure pop and really good! Coming to 93.3 FLZ and pop radio soon."

Meanwhile while you're hyperventilating over new JoJo music that's actually going to see our favourite childhood pop star return to slay Katy Perry, Rihanna, Lady Gaga and all the other ridiculous pop tarts that think they can stand in the way of The JoJo, you can check out her uber sexy collaboration with close friend Travis Garland on Paint, a song off his mixtape.



I just wanna do you in the paint, I wanna make love to you in the place I I, rollin' around in the mess that we made, brushin' and strokin' the best sex we made. And imma put it in your hair, and you're rubbin' it on everywhere. I just wanna do you in the paint oh oh.. Boy don't be shy I know you ain't..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:58 PM | comment link here





Big News: Kelly Clarkson announces "Mr. Know It All"!



After what seems like forever, Kelly Clarkson has has announced her comeback single Mr. Know It All. From the title, it seems Kelly still has got her teeth sunken deep in her scum boyfriends even after the anthemic Since You Been Gone, gritty Never Again etc. The unveiling of the title of her first official single (oh, it's not the bloody brilliant Let Me Down then) comes with the announcement of her new album - Stronger. Cliched, you might say. Well yes, but I'm sure Kelly's a lot stronger as a person after taking all the shit from RCA Records.

Nevertheless, you can check out the single cover below.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:44 PM | comment link here





Big News: Simon Cowell and Leona Lewis end 'Collide' publicity stunt



Well here's something we all saw coming. Earlier last month, British crooner Leona Lewis gave fans her new single Collide which was to be released on the 4th of September, facing stiff competition from Pixie Lott's All About Tonight and The Saturdays' rave club banger All Fired Up. Regardless, shortly after releasing Collide to her VEVO page, Leona got sued for a plagiarism case by DJ no one's really heard of outside of the club circuit - Avicii.

A lot of drama on Twitter happened, and with all the bitching and sniping, it was hard to tell what was really going on behind the scenes. To me, it sounded like another one of the manipulative Simon Cowell's publicity stunts to get people buzzing about Leona again, especially since Lewis' second album Echo underwhelmed compared to brilliant debut album Spirit.

And as predicted, the publicity stunt and all it's fakeness and drawn to a close, with an official press release saying Leona and Avicii have decided to "work together" aka "this was all just a lie and now you know who Avicii is and heard about Collide" benefitting both parties. Above on the single cover of Collide, you can see both Leona and Avicii's names on it.

Bullshit. Utter bullshit. I've lost all respect for Simon Cowell, never had any for Avicii (since I never knew of his existence till now), and like Leona a little less now.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:19 PM | comment link here





Sunday, August 14, 2011
The Saturdays - All Fired Up live @ Tonight's The Night + Higher



While the Sugababes have been struggling to get views on YouTube for their Freedom video, The Saturdays have amassed more than 200, 000 views since it's premiere earlier this week. Since then, the girls went on a "mini-break" (well, not really) and have been prepping for their first televised performance of All Fired Up. Their latest tune and club banger will be released September 4th, and will have to battle it out with the likes of Pixie Lott's All About Tonight and Leona Lewis' Collide, if Leona's plagiarism court case doesn't delay the release date that is.

Nevertheless, the girls performed All Fired Up at a Summer gig but dropped by Tonight's The Night to give the audience a proper showing of the dance floor-filling anthem. You can check that out above and a performance with Connie Nash on one of their earlier but still recent hit Higher where Connie sort of fit in with The Saturdays. Surprisingly decent. For interests' sake, you can peep that one below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:42 AM | comment link here





Saturday, August 13, 2011
Billboard Update



LMFAO's rubbish Party Rock Anthem is still on top, reigning at #1 on the Hot 100 again while Katy Perry's Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.) is still entrenched at #2. Hell Meets Evil's Bruno Mars assisted second single Lighter vaults to #5, notching up the Airplay Gainer Title. Britney Spears' third Top 10 single from #1 album Femme Fatale, I Wanna Go, rises up to a new peak of #7 while Maroon 5 and Christina Aguilera's collaboration on Moves Like Jagger lands the Digital Gainer Title and shoots up to its original peak position of #8 when it debuted on the chart earlier up from #25 last week. Jennifer Lopez' I'm Into You is just beginning to gain some serious momentum, rising to #41 this week. Rihanna's new single Cheers (Drink To That) enters the top half of the Hot 100 for the first time, skyrocketing to #50 up from #91 last week. Adele's Someone Like You is finally getting exposure in the US, vaulting up to #57. Avril Lavigne may have announced that she's shot the video for third single Wish You Were Here from the underperforming Goodbye Lullaby album, but second single Smile is still making its way up the chart, hitting a new peak of #68. After making a US edition of song Starry Eyed, it seems the American audience has finally warmed up to Ellie Goulding as her most recent UK single Lights debuts at #85 on the Hot 100.

Adele reclaims her #1 spot on the Billboard 200 Albums Chart while Kelly Rowland takes a ten spot tumble down to #13 with Here I Am. David Cook's sophomore album This Loud Morning stands at #142 this week while Avril Lavigne's Goodbye Lullaby rises two spots up to #160. Ellie Goulding's debut album Lights re-enters at #200 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:42 PM | comment link here





Friday, August 12, 2011
Nicola Roberts - Lucky Day [Music Video Premiere]



Even while flashing her knickers at us, Nicola Roberts looks bored. You may have beat to her drum before, but that was a hard hitting electronica number that failed to catch on in the UK, peaking only at a measly #27 on the UK Singles Chart. However, there's hope in Nicola as Beat of My Drum and it's B-sides Porcelain Heart and Disco, Blisters And A Comedown were absolutely flawless.

The edit of the music video for Lucky Day without the special effects leaked earlier, but with the special effects, it's not a dramatic change. In fact, I was kind of hoping for effects seen in Cher Lloyd's video for the so bad it's good debut single Swagger Jagger, mixed with the effects used in Allison Iraheta's effing flawless pop video Friday I'll Be Over U. Instead, all we get are some lame lighting effects following the motion of Nicola's hands. Meh.

Still, the song fits that kind of lazy summer song where you're not too lazy to go listen to a ballad, but one where you're home, tired, and would like to put on a feel good record. And that's exactly what Lucky Day is.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:52 PM | comment link here





Thursday, August 11, 2011
Jessie J - Who's Laughing Now [Music Video Premiere] + performance on Alan Carr



Just because you've got a broken leg and just so happens to be Britain's "pop star of the year" doesn't mean you don't go to work. Jessie J may have fallen off a stage during a summer gig, landing her foot in a cast and all, but she most recently filmed the video for fourth UK single Who's Laughing Now and did a performance on Alan Carr.

The music video shows a young Jessica Cornish in school getting bullied and taunted by the pretty girls in pink. But by the time the first chorus starts, lil' Jessie's had enough and goes all bad ass on us, wrecking some of the school property in the most innocent 8 year old manner you can think of. Well, you know, when you were 8 and not actual 8 year old monsters these days. Jessie herself appears as a cleaner, lunch lady and a teacher, watching lil' Jessie turn herself into a gangsta brat, before joining young Jessie for the final chorus.

Hoping to land herself another hit, Jessie hit up Alan Carr: Chatty Man recently to talk about her injury, the message behind Who's Laughing Now etc., before taking the stage to perform Who's Laughing Now. By Jessie standards, it was another flawless vocal performance, unlike her performance of the same song at Radio 1's Big Weekend, where I suppose she could barely hear herself, and ended up catching herself in the wrong key almost the entire way through, making the performance almost unbearable. Check all of them out below.





Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:42 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, August 10, 2011
The Saturdays - All Fired Up [Music Video Premiere]



Pop trio Sugababes may have just premiered their rather boring video for their "edgy" new single Freedom, but it appears The Saturdays are here to steal the show again. Both girl groups have gone for a simple black and white theme, but while the Sugababes did nothing but stand in front of a wind machine in a make shift club, The Saturdays have brought to mind Glee's cover of Singing In The Rain/Umbrella, combining black and white, glitter and water together. The back up dancers look fierce too, whipping their hair along with the girls while dancing in the water.

But y'all know it's all about Queen Vanessa in here.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:22 PM | comment link here





Lauren Alaina - Like My Mother Does [Music Video Premiere]



Country powerhouse Lauren Alaina may have lost to fellow Country artist Scotty McCreery on the tenth season of American Idol, but she hammers through her debut single and coronation single Like My Mother Does effortlessly. The youngster's rich tone to her voice is as melodic as ever.

Now it's time to wipe those tears, get out the steel guitars, and get her hair a little messy to a manbashing song ala Carrie Underwood.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:15 AM | comment link here





Tuesday, August 9, 2011
Maroon 5 - Moves Like Jagger (ft. Christina Aguilera) [Music Video Premiere]



To make themselves relevant again, judges of hit reality TV singing competition The Voice, Adam Levine of Maroon 5 and Christina Aguilera of.. Well, Christina Aguilera, have joined forces to create a summery pop jam that is Moves Like Jagger. It's already been a decent chart success, debuting at #8 on the Hot 100 before plummeting down the chart, only to start gradually rising again.

The video itself is a tribute to rock legend Mick Jagger, with the clip seeing many auditionees trying to imitate Jagger while Adam and Christina take the vocals. The scenes cut between Adam and his band and the random auditionees gave me a massive headache, before Christina the Diva stepped in, took control of the mic stand, and overall, saved the day.

#TeamChristina #TeamMovesLikeJagger

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:43 PM | comment link here





Scotty McCreery - I Love You This Big [Music Video Premiere]



Eighth place finisher Pia Toscano might have just released her debut music video, but eventual American Idol Season 10 winner isn't about to let the big voiced balladeer steal the spotlight. McCreery has also released the music video for his average coronation single I Love You This Big, which despite what naysayers like me might say, has managed to stick around the chart for a while, something Pia has had to enjoy.

The video comes as a surprise as Idol winners don't usually film music videos for their coronation singles, and the most prominent one would have to be Kelly Clarkson's A Moment Like This, which was unfortunately destroyed by short clips from Idol, making it seem more like a way to keep people talking about the song while spending $5 on the music video instead of doing a proper clip.

Thank god Scotty hasn't done that though. The deep voiced country singer has shot a video that includes a summer barbecue, something close to home for him. It's a nice clip, now bring on Lauren Alaina's.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:33 PM | comment link here





Pia Toscano - This Time [Music Video Premiere]



"I'm mad as hell, and I can't take it no more" hollers American Idol Season 10 finalist Pia Toscano on her debut single This Time's opening line. The big voiced American/Italian may have placed a shocker eighth position, but she might prove to be the most exciting one to watch out of Idol's current crop of Season 10 talents. Of course, being the first to release new material is always a nerve-wracking one, especially since This Time hasn't actually done anything yet on the charts.

However, the crooner's hoping the release of the music video might help boost some meagre sales of the single so far. There isn't much going round in the clip, but Pia looks stunning and for a debut, it is decent. The song's penned by Ester Dean, who helped co-write Rihanna's timeless pop classic What's My Name? so the song, lyrically, fares pretty well.

We haven't had a big voiced diva take over the pop world since Leona Lewis so let's see if Pia can rise to fill that role.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:20 PM | comment link here





Monday, August 8, 2011
Nicole Scherzinger - Wet [Music Video Premiere]



The music video for The Pussycat Dolls' Nicole Scherzinger's new single Wet has just premiered. The clip is nothing spectacular, with the Hawaiian native donning leather outfits and whipping her hair to her latest club banger Wet. The fact that she brought about one quarter of a normal sized army of back up dancers Cheryl Cole usually has along with her shoots out nothing but Pussycat Dolls vibes.

As much as I'd like to hate her, she's making decent single choices with an average album.

Jessica Sutta's new tune Show Me puts this to shame though.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:15 PM | comment link here





Saturday, August 6, 2011
Jessica Sutta - Show Me [Music Video Premiere]



America's best girl group of recent years - The Pussycat Dolls - have all split up and pursued different solo careers. Nicole and Kimberley have managed to make a dent on the UK charts with Scherzinger stealing Cheryl Cole's job on the X Factor US while Wyatt has gone all La Roux on us, teaming up with a DJ to form her own duo Her Majesty And The Wolves. Melody, also known as the small girl with the big voice, recently released some studio demos that sound alright but nothing worth shouting about. Ashley hasn't done anything much but Resident Redhead Jessica Sutta tried to gun for a solo career with the trashy I Wanna Be Bad.

Obviously, it's easy to say Nicole is the most successful, but she's as interesting as a piece of cardboard and has average material handed to her while she trods out mindless choreography, barely keeping anything interesting. We've got a new chick on the block though. Jessica might have released the trashy I Wanna Be Bad, but she got picked up by Hollywood Records (Lord knows why), and has transformed into a slick, leather-wielding dance floor diva.

She's got a new track Show Me and an equally sexy music video. I do wish she had a dance break but she's looking all glamorous so let's not complain. Baby steps..

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:51 PM | comment link here





Friday, August 5, 2011
Billboard Update



LMFAO's terrible Party Rock Anthem is still reigning at #1 on the Hot 100, showing how shit American pop music is right now, while Katy Perry's still right on their tails with Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.) landing the Airplay Gainer Title. The Bruno Mars-assisted track Lighters has made a new peak at #7, while Britney's I Wanna Go launches into the Top 10 at #9 this week. Beyonce's new single Best Thing I Never Had, a supposedly emotional song devoid of emotion moves up three spots to #16. Maroon 5's summery pop brilliance that is Moves Like Jagger featuring Christina Aguilera vaults into the Top #25 at #25 this week. Jennifer Lopez' I'm Into You moves up to #49 this week. Clearly this diva doesn't even need to try. Two other tracks moving up are Adele's Someone Like You and Avril Lavigne's new tune Smile, shifting up to #73 and #75 respectively. Demi Lovato's Skyscraper takes another large tumble down to #80 this week. Another Adele track on the Hot 100 that's not Rolling in the Deep is her most recent UK single Set Fire To The Rain, re-entering the chart at #84, while 21 album cut Rumour Has It arrives on the Hot 100 at #96. Rihanna's new single Cheers (Drink to That) debuts at #91 this week.

Over on the Albums Chart, Country star Eric Church has landed the top spot with his album Chief while Adele follows closely behind with 21. Surprisingly, Kelly Rowland has notched up a Top 3 charting album with her latest set Here I Am. Colbie Caillat's All of You slips two spots down to #17. David Cook's sophomore album This Loud Morning clings onto the rim of the Top 100, standing at #93 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:02 PM | comment link here





Introducing: Katy B + Witches Brew [Music Video Premiere]



It seems as if all the interesting pop music acts are all British at the moment. I've had my eye on this relatively new artist - Katy B - for a while. Her music is a fusion of dubstep, electronica and some hard hitting beats that's definitely for the clubs. But her success isn't just defined by the clubs, as her debut set On A Mission managed to peak at #2 on the UK Albums Chart. Since then, she's released an array of hits, the most recent being the incredible Easy Please Me. However, that seems a little too underground for summer, so the single only managed to hit #25 on the UK Singles Chart. But it's fine because Katy's got a new single on the way.

Witches Brew, another catchy number that's not as brooding as previous singles Katy on a Mission or Easy Please Me, but it's obvious with every single release, she's growing and looking more and more like a full fledged pop star.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:15 PM | comment link here





Big News: The Saturdays unveil All Fired Up video teaser



The Saturdays have found themselves in an icky situation. Their upcoming single All Fired Up has lost them some fans of the old straight up pop sound they used to have, and their new single goes head to head with comeback singles Collide introducing Leona Lewis back into the music industry, while Pixie Lott launches herself and her new look with All About Tonight. I'll cover my chart predictions for that hectic release week when September 4th gets closer but for now, The Saturdays have unveiled a teaser of their video for All Fired Up.

Personally, I would've gone for a full-on rave in a club full of partygoers, instead of what we see here with the girls donning high street clothes and touching and whipping their air, with some glitter thrown in too. For this video, I will need choreography, I will need dancers, and I will need this to be epic, thanks.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:07 PM | comment link here