Vote at the MRAs 2011 here!



Monday, November 29, 2010
The Saturdays - Ego + Interview live @ BRMB



The Saturdays were on BRMB recently to give Birmingham a string of performances which include Just Can't Get Enough, Missing You, Ego and Higher. The girls did a solid job as usual and you can check out Ego above with an interview backstage.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:33 PM | comment link here





Justin Bieber - Somebody To Love/Baby on The X Factor



Tween pop megastar Justin Bieber was on The X Factor to perform a medley of his biggest recent hits Baby and Somebody To Love. The teen lipsynched his way to a performance we've seen a gazillion times before and flirted with Cheryl Cole after his performance. Eeyuck. Fame has gotten to his head. Cheryl Cole's way out of his league, just that The X Factor judge is too nice to say so. Someone needs a rude awakening.. Am I being overly negative? Perhaps. But the boy needs to deflate his ego before it becomes like Kanye's.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:26 PM | comment link here





The Wanted - Lose My Mind live on The X Factor



To plug their latest single, hit boyband The Wanted (aka the boyband Simon wants One Direction to be) took to the X Factor to perform Lose My Mind. Recreating the bumper cars of the music video, the boys did a solid job as usual. But I'm still not sure they can properly work a big stage. Still, it's another hit for sure, I don't think they're sorry.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:16 PM | comment link here





Nicole Scherzinger - Poison live on The X Factor



Because Europe seems to be the only place in the world that gives Nicole Scherzinger a slot, the Pussycat Doll singer took to The X Factor (UK) to deliver her first ever performance of Poison. Vocally it was alright, nothing special, but unlike Cheryl Cole, she performed it live and did some solid choreography as well. Just which she put on the white outfit in the Poison, not the black one which includes the.. Cat hair. Ooh, Lewis Hamilton's in the audience as well.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:03 PM | comment link here





The Wanted - Lose My Mind [Music Video Premiere]



British boyband The Wanted is no stranger to success. After the while #1 debut single All Time Low, they followed it up with #2 single Heart Vacancy. Now they've a new single in the pipeline Lose My Mind. The woah-oh-woah-oh chants at the beginning are a bit intoxicating, and it's yet another earworm/hit for the boys. It's not as good as the bloody brilliant All Time Low or as strangely good as Heart Vacancy, but fans are sure to eat this one up for sure.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:33 PM | comment link here





Friday, November 26, 2010
Billboard Update



Rihanna recently hit #1 on the Hot 100 with second single What's My Name? featuring Drake, but now, the lead single from upcoming set Loud has hit the top of the Hot 100 as she collects her ninth #1, becoming the first artist in history to ever have the second single from the album hit #1 before the first single. Meanwhile, the aforementioned Drake-assisted track What's My Name? has slipped to #8 despite getting the Airplay Gainer title for a second week in a row. Could P!nk be on her way to collect another hit #1 with Raise Your Glass? Seems like it. The track surges to #2 this week and might rise again next week after the high profile appearance at the AMAs. Ke$ha's We R Who We R rises to #4 this week after slipping to #6 last week. Katy Perry's Firework is also creeping up the charts, hitting a new peak of #6 for the popstar's latest single. The Glee cast have crashed the Hot 100 yet again this week, as Forget You and Singing In The Rain/Umbrella debut at #11 and #18 respectively. Last week's big Glee track Teenage Dream falls to #36, but still charting strongly compared to other Glee tracks. The Black Eyed Peas fall to #13 with their latest single The Time (Dirty Bit). Awww, looks like not everyone's liking the new track eh, Peas? Bruno Mars' Grenade rockets up to #17 this week as smash hit #1 single Just The Way You Are continues to slip (slowly) down the Top 10 of the Hot 100. OneRepublic's Secrets is still lingering around the Top 30, moving up to #24 this week, a couple spots from its peak of #21. Rihanna's next single S&M debuts at #53 this week. Carrie Underwood moves up one spot with Mama's Song making a new peak at #58. Christina Perri is back on the charts and moving up with Jar of Hearts hitting #62 this week. Taylor Swift's next single Back to December is moving up as well, climbing to #67 this week. Shakira's Loca remains entrenched at #83. Ne-Yo's One In A Million is also moving up, hitting a new peak of #92 this week. Jason DeRulo though, has fallen quite sharply to #96 after peaking at #76 last week. Ke$ha's promo track lifted from Cannibal called Blow debuts at #97 this week.

Susan Boyle continues her reign on the Billboard 200 Albums Chart with The Gift hitting #1 for a second week in a row. Another freakishly talented singer Jackie Evancho with her debut EP O Holy Night debuts at #2 while pop megastar Rihanna has to settle for third place for Loud, but also boasts her best first week sales yet. Glee's Christmas album debuts at #8 while Taylor Swift's Speak Now falls to #9. P!nk's Greatest Hits... So Far! debuts at #14 this week. Lee DeWyze' post-Idol debut Live It Up has become the lowest-selling Idol debut album since Kris Allen debuted at #11 with his self-titled post-Idol debut album, entering the chart at #19, selling roughly 39, 000 copies. Oh dear. Mariah Carey's Merry Christmas II You falls to #22 this week while her first Christmas album Merry Christmas surges up to #124.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:16 PM | comment link here





Carrie Underwood - Thanksgiving Special



Country superstar Carrie Underwood's CBS Thanksgiving Special recently aired on the network and televised performances of hit singles Mama's Song, Undo It, and her televised debut of her contribution to the upcoming Narnia soundtrack with There's a Place For Us. You can check out the grand ballad above and Mama's Song and Undo It respectively below.



Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:10 PM | comment link here





Thursday, November 25, 2010
Taylor Swift on Chelsea Lately



Country/pop star Taylor Swift was on Chelsea Lately to plug her latest album Speak Now and her upcoming world tour and talked about her performance at the AMAs as well. Genuinely quite funny stuff. And she didn't keep the straight hair! *SHOCK!* not.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:18 PM | comment link here





Ke$ha - We R Who We R and TiK ToK live on Jimmy Kimmel Live



Introducing Ke$ha with her signature blue lip stick, Jimmy Kimmel had Ke$ha on his talk show to promote recently released Cannibal. Of course, Ke$ha was as whacky as usual, putting on a headpiece and put on those alien goggles again during the second half of the performance. It wasn't as big as her AMAs performance or her The X Factor Australia performance but it was still a solid performance.



She also performed TiK ToK and got some audience members up to dance along with her. Hmmm. Solid, but not impressive.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:09 PM | comment link here





Pixie Lott - Can't Make This Over [Music Video Premiere]



British stunner Pixie Lott recently re-released multi platinum-selling debut album Turn It Up and Turn It Up Louder was preceded by Broken Arrow. Favouring the ballads on the release, Lott has moved on to her second single after Broken Arrow missed the Top 10 of the UK charts, peaking at #12 and becoming her 6th UK Top 20 single. Lott has chosen another ballad Can't Make This Over as the second single (in place of what was supposedly the album's next single Coming Home featuring Jason DeRulo). But unlike Broken Arrow, Can't Make This Over doesn't actually get old. Where I actually would rather not listen to Broken Arrow again, I can replay Can't Make This Over well.. Over and over again. It's one of those songs. Good thing then. Someone book her for a performance on The X Factor please. And where's the sass of Mama Do or the zing of Boys And Girls??

Let's hope she's saving killer stuff for the US..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:49 PM | comment link here





Cheryl Cole - The Flood [Music Video Premiere]



Cheryl Cole has had a relatively successful start to her sophomore album - the lead single Promise This hit #1 and became the fastest selling non-charity single in the UK and parent album Messy Little Raindrops hit #1 on the albums chart as well. It's full speed ahead with Cole as here we have the video premiere for second single The Flood. Lyrically, it isn't Cole's best song, but it has a decent hook and should go on to be another hit. The video isn't too complicated, but she looks a lot more beautiful here than she does for her video for Promise This, which really, is all she needs besides some banging songs.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:35 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, November 24, 2010
Christina Aguilera - Burlesque + Beautiful live on Dancing With The Stars



After a fabulous performance at the American Music Awards, Burlesque star Christina Aguilera has been everywhere performing songs from the soundtrack, promoting her upcoming flick. Aguilera has been on top of her game with all the Burlesque performances lately, nailing every single one of those performances. Aguilera was on Dancing With The Stars to perform Burlesque and got her Beyonce on and nailed that performance. She then followed it up with Beautiful, one of her biggest hits to date. Vocally, it was fine, but you can tell that her voice is detiorating with age. It's not exactly really bad but that wasn't her best vocal performance of Beautiful and her high notes aren't as glorious as they used to be. But she still outsings almost all her contemporaries right now so no complaining.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:30 PM | comment link here





Black Eyed Peas - The Time (Dirty Bit) [Music Video Premiere]



The weirdest single of the year still goes to The Black Eyed Peas with The Time (Dirty Bit), but it's still shaping up to be quite a hit, debuting at #11 on the Billboard Hot 100 last week. After a high profile appearance at the recent American Music Awards, the Peas have released their music video for The Time (Dirty Bit). They are clearly gunning for a big jump next week on the Hot 100. The music video doesn't do anything much for me, but it's less what-the-crap-is-this-mess and more.. Well, fine to listen to.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:51 PM | comment link here





Monday, November 22, 2010
Ke$ha - Take It Off/We R Who We R live @ AMAs 2010



Putting the T in trashy was Ke$ha, who started off with an outrageously autotuned version of Take It Off before launching into her latest Hot 100 #1 We R Who We R. The performance of We R Who We R was the usual performance, nothing new, except she looked like she flew into a rage at the last bit of the song, smashing the guitar and kicking her mic stand to the floor. And it wasn't the usual I'm-just-going-wild-and-having-fun type thing that Ke$ha normally does. That was genuine anger in her eyes. WOAH.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:38 PM | comment link here





Taylor Swift - Back To December live @ AMAs 2010



No awards show is an awards show without a performance by multi-platinum selling recording artist Taylor Swift. With a stage setup similar to the performance at the CMAs, Swift played a piano against a glittery forest performing Back To December, the official second single off Speak Now. Of course, it wasn't a fantastic vocal performance, and I'm not sure if I'm liking the straight hair, but it should do its job in boosting sales for Miss Swift here. However, a major mistake she did was incorporate OneRepublic's Apologise which was way too big for her. Apologise is NOT an easy song to sing and with medicre vocals like Swift here, it was a wrong move. Surprising, but ultimately, that fell flat. Oops.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:21 PM | comment link here





Christina Aguilera - Express live @ AMAs 2010



Popping up everywhere to promote her latest upcoming flick Burlesque, Christina Aguilera took to the American Music Awards to perform Express from the official soundtrack. Of course, Aguilera was vocally as on point as ever, and her look harks back to the Back to Basics era. Even though her stage props/set-up wasn't as ginormous as some of the other stars on the AMAs, Aguilera made the most of what she got and basically slayed that performance.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:17 PM | comment link here





P!nk - Raise Your Glass live @ AMAs 2010



If there's anyone who you can count on to deliver a rocking live performance, it's P!nk. Despite being, you know.. PREGNANT, the pop/rock megastar pranced around the stage like a proper rockstar. Sure, she was out of breath. Sure, her backup singers did half the work, but it's P!nk. You can't help but love her. It's definitely gonna get a major sales boost after this performance.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:07 PM | comment link here





Black Eyed Peas - The Time (Dirty Bit) live @ AMAs 2010



Dividing critics and fans' opinion on the Black Eyed Peas' new single The Time (Dirty Bit), an over-autotuned wreck, the foursome delivered their first major debut performance of The Time (Dirty Bit). It was generally alright, didn't do much for me. It's definitely going to get a big sales boost though.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:58 PM | comment link here





Katy Perry - Firework live @ AMAs 2010



Using a children's choir, pop megastar Katy Perry delivered another performance of Firework. But because of the children's choir, the first half of the song was turned into a ballad, which isn't something Perry's spectacular at. They outsung her and stayed on pitch more than she did. Nevertheless, the sparklers came out and Firework hit it's full swing when the adrenaline pumping chorus rang through the room. Kidding. It wasn't that great. It's the usual Katy Perry performance. Just with a children's choir. But hey, at least she tried to do something different.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:52 PM | comment link here





Miley Cyrus - Forgiveness And Love live @ AMAs 2010



No matter how cliched or dramatic a song is, teen Queen Miley Cyrus always knows how to sell it with her vulnerability and believability. This performance wasn't any different. Despite what's going on surrounding her parents' divorce, Cyrus took to the stage to perform Forgiveness And Love, a ballad that has shades of country in it which always works in Cyrus' favour. However, I think, she could've done better if she performed Stay, which if you study the lyrics, applies more to Miley than ever. Still, it was a great performance.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:42 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - Love The Way You Lie Part II/What's My Name/Only Girl (In The World) medley live @ AMAs



Being the multi-platinum selling recording artist that Bajan pop star Rihanna is, she landed the opening slot on the AMAs, to deliver 7 and a half minutes of hits from her latest album Loud. She took the opportunity and really delivered, sitting on a tree, kicking off the night with Love The Way You Lie Part II. It was moody, it was dark, but not for long. After the chorus, Rihanna went on to deliver a carefree version of her latest Hot 100 #1 What's My Name before launching into a more aggressive version of europop/dance number Only Girl (In The World).

SMASH!

Rihanna's really delivering with her live performances these days. Good stuff.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:22 PM | comment link here





Alexandra Burke - Start Without You live @ T4's Stars of 2010



Like what's happening with Pixie Lott (read below), Alexandra Burke is performing past hits at these big stages, even though Burke already has a new single The Silence in the pipeline, but obviously, they're gonna save a wanking live performance of that on The X Factor. Nevertheless, it's same ol' same ol' with this performance. Just with a bit more glitter.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:46 AM | comment link here





Pixie Lott - Broken Arrow live @ T4's Stars of 2010



The T4's Stars of 2010 had a star-studded line-up including Jason DeRulo, Alexandra Burke, Ellie Goulding, The Saturdays, and of course, Pixie Lott. The blonde British pop star took to the stage to perform her latest UK Top 20 hit Broken Arrow. Her label should get their act together and release the next single already because she's landing these big stages and she's singing past hits. She performed Turn It Up on Children In Need. Need I say more? Bring on Can't Make This Over or Coming Home ft. Jason DeRulo already! Whichever is the next single, c'mon!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:39 AM | comment link here





Re-Introducing: The Saturdays



The last time I listened to the Saturdays was when I reviewed their debut album Chasing Lights, which was quite a while ago. I was left a bit cold and a little unimpressed and quickly dismissed them. Then, I posted Wordshaker, their second album, but I didn't even listen to it. Little did I know that after I stopped listening to them, the girls went on to collect 8 UK Top 10 singles so far. So I decided to give them a shot again and listened to Higher. That's when I started really loving them. The past couple of days, I've been on YouTube watching their past interviews, performances, music videos and I might be a fan now. They actually do have personalities and they can actually sing live, and do a pretty good job of it as well.

So from now on, I'll be tracking their latest performances/interviews and I'll start posting them again.

Meanwhile, check out their latest live performance of Higher on T4's Stars of 2010. I think this live performance accurately captures the carefree vibe of the song while they prance around the stage, recreating bits of the music video.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:29 AM | comment link here





Saturday, November 20, 2010
Christina Aguilera on Ellen



Christina Aguilera continues promotion for her first role on the big screen Burlesque. Aguilera chatted with Ellen about being festive (again), life as a single mother (again), and her son Max (again). But Ellen and her audience sing a birthday song for the songstress who turns 30 this December.

And things get even better. Aguilera slayed Something's Got A Hold On Me which is on the Burlesque soundtrack and it takes her back to where she's best: soul-meets-classics-meets-pop.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:13 PM | comment link here





Alexandra Burke - Start Without You live @ Children In Need



UK pop songstress Alexandra Burke's new single is The Silence, but Burke took to Children In Need to perform Start Without You again, but her performances never get old. I think she should be able to break the US. I HOPE. Enjoy.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:42 PM | comment link here





Cheryl Cole - Promise This live @ Children In Need



Introduced as the Nation's Sweetheart, Cheryl Cole took to Children In Need to perform her UK #1 Promise This. I'm pretty sure they were using the same backing track as the one on The X Factor, but she still did a great job and she hardly does any promotion. The performance was alright, and she looked great as usual.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:23 PM | comment link here





Friday, November 19, 2010
Billboard Update



Far East Movement's Fly Like a G6 reigns on top of the Hot 100 while Rihanna's Only Girl (In The World) has rocketed up to #2 while her previous #1 last week What's My Name? featuring Drake falls to #7 despite getting the title of Airplay Gainer. P!nk's Raise Your Glass has barged into the Top 4, hitting #4 this week. Ke$ha's latest single We R Who We R falls to #6 this week. Glee's Teenage Dream shifts a colossal 200, 000+ units in the first week of its release, debuting at #8 on the Hot 100, while Start Me Up/Livin' On A Prayer, Stop! In The Name of Love/Free Your Mind, One Love (People Get Ready) debut at #31, #38 and #41 respectively. Katy Perry's also on the move up with Firework hitting a new peak of #9 this week. The Black Eyed Peas' dreary autotuned fest of a new single The Time (Dirty Bit) debuts at #12 this week. Jason Aldean's duet with Kelly Clarkson on Don't You Wanna Stay flies up to #56 up from #93 last week. Carrie Underwood's Mama's Song has cracked the Top 60 with the country songbird's latest single hitting a new peak of #59 this week. After being announced as her next single, Taylor Swift's Back to December has returned to the Hot 100, re-entering at #74. Christina Perri's debut single Jar of Hearts moves up a spot to #75 while Jason DeRulo's latest single What If turns out to be a slow-burner, debuting at #76 despite being released quite sometime ago. Ke$ha's promo single Cannibal debuts at #77 this week.

Susan Boyle's The Gift continues her #1 album streak this week, holding Taylor Swift off the pole position as Speak Now falls to #2. Michael Buble's Hollywood: The Deluxe (EP) moves 3 spots up to #40 up from #43. Christina Perri's Ocean Way Sessions (EP) debuts at #144 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:34 PM | comment link here





Lee DeWyze - Sweet Serendipity live Ellen



Lee DeWyze is on a promotional roll, promoting his post-Idol debut album Live It Up which is expected to sell 45, 000 to 50, 000 in its first week of release, which is admittedly a little shabby, but anyway. The Chicago native was on The Ellen DeGeneres Show and performed post-Idol debut single Sweet Serendipity and it was an alright performance. Check out his backstage message for Ellen below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:26 PM | comment link here





Thursday, November 18, 2010
Selena Gomez - A Year Without Rain live @ Lopez Tonight



The last time Selena Gomez was on Lopez Tonight, she lost her voice and couldn't speak, but she's fully regained her voice and even performed her current single A Year Without Rain on the show. Vocally she was a little off in the first verse but she picked herself up and delivered one of her better live performances, straddling between Spanish and English effortlessly when the song hit the bridge and the final chorus. I'm impressed.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:49 PM | comment link here





Christina Aguilera on The Tonight Show With Jay Leno



Christina's BAAAAACKK! I know I said this with Bionic but I think Burlesque could really seal the deal for the struggling singer who's lost a bit of her popularity releasing Bionic. After that, she went through a very public divorce, becoming a single mum, suffering from serious media backlash etc. Her life is finally getting back on track and she seems genuinely happy now. Check out Part 1 of the interview above and Part 2 of the interview along with a performance from the Burlesque soundtrack called Bound To You.



Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:03 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - What's My Name live @ David Letterman Show



Rihanna's latest album Loud is expected to debut at #4 or #5 on the Billboard 200 Albums Chart nest week while her second single from her album What's My Name? featuring Drake reigns on the Hot 100 this week. Still, the Bajan pop star performed her hit single on The David Letterman Show and it was a surprisingly great performance. She seems to be upping her game lately and it's definitely refreshing to see.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:03 AM | comment link here





Wednesday, November 17, 2010
Katy Perry - Firework live on BBC Radio 1 Teen Awards



Katy Perry seems to love the UK. She's abandoning the US in favour of promo spots in the UK and European market. She performed her UK smash hit Firework (which is currently #2 on the US iTunes chart as we speak) on the BBC Radio 1 Teen Awards. A good live performance needs a good vocals, visuals, and an enthusiastic crowd. Unfortunately, this was one of Perry's weaker vocal performances (things didn't start to pick up till the second half) but where her vocals faltered, the crowd absolutely made up for it. Jumping, screaming, cheering, and singing along, they were one of the best crowds ever. Check it out.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:46 PM | comment link here





Ke$ha - We R Who We R live @ Sunrise



Ke$ha is continuing her Australian promo with a performance on popular Breakfast TV Show Sunrise and perfomed her latest international hit We R Who We R. It's basically the same performance as the one she did on The X Factor Australia except on a smaller scale. But as she threw glitter on the couch where the hosts were sitting, I think they were more miffed than anything. Awkward.. Besides that, it was pretty alright.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:27 PM | comment link here





Ke$ha - Cannibal



Pop star Ke$ha has gone the Lady Gaga route and will be releasing an EP titled Cannibal, paired with platinum-selling debut album Animal which features the single We R Who We R. It's now here a week earlier than its official release date. Nevertheless, Ke$ha's delivered another fun, frivolous effort that should resonate with fans. Yup, we have yet another winner from Ke$ha. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:10 PM | comment link here





Tuesday, November 16, 2010
Rihanna - What's My Name? live @ MTV's The Seven



Another day, another hairdo for Bajan pop songstress Rihanna. The pop superstar took to MTV's The Seven to deliver a more "aggressive" performance of her latest and reigning Hot 100 #1 single. The performance itself was alright, I wish she had a bit mmore energy though.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:55 PM | comment link here





Ke$ha - We R Who We R live @ The X Factor Australia



Pop megastar Ke$ha is in Australia for a little promotional tour and she delivered her first televised performance of We R Who We R on The X Factor Australia. It was easily one of her best live performances. Ever. Not exactly up to the standard of Cheryl Cole's performance of Promise This on The X Factor (UK) but this definitely came close.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:52 PM | comment link here





Lee DeWyze - Sweet Serendipity live @ The Today Show



Raspy-voiced American Idol Season 9 winner Lee DeWyze is a on a promotional kick as Live It Up, his post-Idol debut album, is released November 16th. DeWyze performed Sweet Serendipity, the first single from the album on The Today Show. It was an okay performance to me, and the instruments seem to be louder than DeWyze himself.

Check out DeWyze' five-song set on Walmart Soundcheck here which is easily one of his best string of performances he's done so far.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:44 PM | comment link here





Monday, November 15, 2010
Jennifer Hudson - It's A Man's World/Respect live @ Mark Twain Prize to Honour Tina Fey



Looking fit and fab was Jennifer Hudson at the Mark Twain Prize to Honour Tina Fey. Hudson delivered a medley of It's A Man's World and Respect, and vocally, Jen was fantastic. I can't wait to hear her next album which will be out next year. Check it out above.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:41 PM | comment link here





OneRepublic - Good Life [Music Video Premiere]



OneRepublic's singles from the sophomore album Waking Up have all been slow burners, only becoming hits months after they are released. So their next single Good Life, another radio-friendly ditty, should catch on probably next year. The music video has just premiered and it shows the band and Ryan Tedder walking around in a beautiful field.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:56 PM | comment link here





Sunday, November 14, 2010
Diana Vickers - My Wicked Heart live on Koko Pop



Petite pop UK princess Diana Vickers narrowly missed the Top 10 on the UK Singles Chart and Scottish Singles Chart, debuting at #13 and #12 respectively. Still, it's a return to form after second single The Boy Who Murdered Love had a less than stellar showing, only peaking at a measly #36 on the UK Singles Chart. Vickers has been in a promo tour for the single and will go on her debut headlining tour at the end of the year. She performed My Wicked Heart at Koko Pop and it is one of her best vocal performances of that song, though the Vickers lacked a little energy to pull of the sassy track.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:49 PM | comment link here





Big News: 2010 MRAs nominations!



It's that time of the year again.. Yeap, it's time for the MRAs 2010! This post is FINALLY here and honestly, I can't wait to get to it! Here are the nominations!

Best Newcomer:
Ke$ha
Jason DeRulo
We Are The Fallen
Christina Perri
Tamar Kaprelian
Emily Osment
Diana Vickers
Lee DeWyze

Tour Of The Year:
Leona Lewis - The Labyrinth Tour
Rihanna - Last Girl on Earth Tour
Kelly Clarkson - All I Ever Wanted Tour
American Idols LIVE! 2010 Tour
Adam Lambert - Glam Nation Tour

Live Performance Of the Year:
P!nk - Glitter In The Air (Grammys)
Christina Aguilera - Not Myself Tonight/Bionic (MTV Movie Awards)
Carrie Underwood - Undo It (American Idol)
Allison Iraheta ft. Orianthi - Don't Waste The Pretty (So You Think You Can Dance)
Alexandra Burke - Start Without You (A Concert For Heroes)
Cheryl Cole - Promise This (The X Factor UK)

Comeback Album Of the Year:
Fantasia - Back To Me
Katy Perry - Teenage Dream
Sara Bareilles - Kaleidoscope Heart
Christina Aguilera - Bionic
Katharine McPhee - Unbroken
Cheryl Cole - Messy Little Raindrops
Taylor Swift - Speak Now

Song Of The Year:
Katy Perry ft. Snoop Dogg - California Gurls
Pixie Lott - Turn It Up
Rihanna - Only Girl (In The World)
Diana Vickers - Once
Jessica Mauboy ft. Snoop Dogg - Get 'Em Girls
Cheryl Cole - Promise This
Shakira ft. Dizzee Rascal - Loca

Debut Album Of The Year:
Ke$ha - Animal
Jason DeRulo - Jason DeRulo
We Are The Fallen - Tear The World Down
Tamar Kaprelian - Sinner or a Saint
Emily Osment - Fight or Flight
Diana Vickers - Songs From The Tainted Cherrytree
Lee DeWyze - Live It Up
Charice - Charice

Album Of The Year:
Katy Perry - Teenage Dream
Lady Antebellum - Need You Now
Taylor Swift - Speak Now
Fantasia - Back To Me
Rihanna - Loud
Jessica Mauboy - Get 'Em Girls

Music Video Of The Year:
Tamar Kaprelian - New Day
Katy Perry ft. Snoop Dogg - California Gurls
Kris Allen ft. Pat Monahan - The Truth
Alexandra Burke ft. Pitbull - All Night Long
Lady Gaga ft. Beyonce - Telephone
Cheryl Cole - Parachute
Christina Perri - Jar of Hearts
Ke$ha - Take It Off
Diana Vickers - My Wicked Heart

Artist Of the Year:
Carrie Underwood
Pixie Lott
Taylor Swift
Christina Aguilera
Rihanna
Katy Perry

These are the final nominations and the polls are now up! Vote, vote, vote! The polls close on 31st December at midnight. Let's go!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:43 AM | comment link here





Saturday, November 13, 2010
Pixie Lott - One Night Stand With Pixie Lott

Looking as pretty as a doll was Pixie Lott on her ITV2 special One Night Stand with Pixie Lott, and you thought Cheryl Cole's Night In was badly titled. But anyway, like what Chezza did to plug her album/singles, Lott did the same and performed hit after hit after hit. So it's just a teaser of what you'd expect her debut headlining tour The Crazycats Tour to be then.



Opening with her debut #1 UK Single Mama Do (Uh Oh Uh Oh), the crowd looked like they were having fun and were incredibly supportive, probably her bigger fans then, because the performance was a little lifeless and dull. Oops.



Turn It Up was the usual kind of Turn It Up performance you'd come to expect from Pixie. Come on Pixie, up the energy level a little!



Lott then moved on to a cover of Plan B's She Said acoustic, just before a costume change. I must say, her guitarist isn't too shabby a player (see the beginning before Pixie comes out).



Lott continued her acoustic set with Kings of Leon's mega hit Use Somebody. Again, Lott didn't do anything special with it, but the energetic audience seemed to love it.



After another change of outfit, Pixie returned with her third single Cry Me Out. As usual, it was okay, not memorable, but okay. Vocally, however, it was probably one of the best moments of the show.



She then went on to her perform her latest UK Top 20 single Broken Arrow. Vocally, it was another pretty good performance, but it was rather devoid of emotion. Pity, could've been great. The usual Broken Arrow performance then.



Lott then moved on to Can't Make This Over, a track from Turn It Up Louder. She confirmed on Twitter that she was going to shoot, or has already shot a video for the song, and seeing that she just delivered her first televised performance of the song, it's probably going to be her next single. Sounds like another Top 20 to me, but I desperately need an uptempo for the next single (or Catching Snowflakes, a standout from Turn It Up Louder).



Lott then moved on to a medley of Last Nite, Meet Me Halfway and You Were Young and actually had some energy this time. Hmmmm. Well, as a last performance, it's a little too late to save the whole show. Wonder why she skipped Boys And Girls though.



Okay, she DID end the night with Boys And Girls but the performance STILL lacked a bit of energy. The break in the performance with the dancing wasn't spectacular but it had shades of brilliance.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:19 PM | comment link here





Big News: Taylor Swift selects Back to December as next single!



Taylor Swift's Mine, the lead single from million-selling third studio album Speak Now, has started to wear off now so it's time to select the second single. It was kind of easy to guess, Swift performed Back To December on the CMAs, was her highest charting promo single released to iTunes before the actual album release, so you can guess that Swift's smart label has decided to go with the heartbreaking ballad Back to December. I think it's a good choice, since it's reaching the end of the year, where a lot of ballads are released, plus it's really relatable, which is always handy for Swift.

Watch a performance of Back to December at the CMAs recently and tell me what you think of Back to December as a single release.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:03 PM | comment link here





Katy Perry - Firework live on Paul O Grady



Looking absolutely gorgeous, Katy Perry delivered a rather stripped down version of the gigantic pop anthem Firework which is shaping up to be quite a hit everywhere around the world. The poppy sound of the song is gone, which gives more focus on Perry's vocals, and this is actually her best vocal performance of Firework yet. Not bad. Check out the interview below!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:38 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - What's My Name? feat. Drake [Music Video Premiere]



American rapper Drake plays Rihanna's love interest in her latest music video (and #1 single on the Hot 100) for What's My Name?. The video is simple, and frankly I got bored halfway. But it's more tolerable compared to the dreary video for Only Girl (In The World). Plus, the song's laidback vibe is channelled into the video so it's not all that bad. Check it out above.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:53 PM | comment link here





Friday, November 12, 2010
Billboard Update



In its third week, Rihanna's What's My Name? has shot straight to the top of the Hot 100 and gets the Airplay Gainer title. Not bad, methinks. Her previous single Only Girl (In The World) stays strong at #4, pushing last week's #1 Ke$ha with We R Who We R, down to #5. P!nk's Raise Your Glass moves up to #7 this week after its video premiered last week. Katy Perry collects her third Top 10 from sophomore pop album Teenage Dream with Firework, nudging its way into the Top 10, getting the Digital Gainer title. Taylor Swift's Mine barges into the Top 20 again, moving up from #21 to #16 this week. Jumping 9 spots is OneRepublic's Secrets, which sits a spot away from its peak of #21 and #22 this week. Sara Bareilles' King of Anything continues to impact strongly, moving up a spot to #35 this week. Ke$ha's promo track Sleazy debuts at #51 on the Hot 100. Carrie Underwood's latest single Mama's Song leaps to a new peak of #66. Christina Perri's Jar of Hearts continues to make an impact on the charts, as it moves up to #76 after its reappearance at #96 last week on the Hot 100.

Taylor Swift's Speak Now continues to reign on the Billboard 200 Albums Chart, leaving country superstar Jason Aldean to settle for #2 with his latest release My Kinda Party. Mariah Carey debuts at #4 with Merry Christmas II You, shifting 55, 000 copies in its first week of release. Katy Perry's sophomore pop album Teenage Dream moves up 5 spots to #13 this week. Shakira's latest album Sale El Sol falls to #40 in its third week. Carrie Underwood's Play On has moved up to #46 from #52. Rihanna's album Rated R released last year has re-entered the charts at #186, mostly due to the success of Only Girl (In The World) and What's My Name?. Imagine the horror when they realise this is bitter Rihanna at work and not the happy, colourful Rihanna she is now.. LOL.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:27 PM | comment link here





Jessica Mauboy - Saturday Night [Music Video Premiere]



Aussie pop/R&B/urban songstress Jessica Mauboy's video for Saturday Night premiered yesterday but I know the video was blocked in different countries (including mine) so I had to patiently wait for a random YouTuber to post it so.. Here it is!

The video is a slight improvement from the hot mess that was Get 'Em Girls featuring Snoop Dogg, but the girl needs her old directors back, because this wasn't that great either. Dear Hype Williams, I beg you, stop destroying her videos. Thank you.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:54 PM | comment link here





Ke$ha new track: Blow



Trust Ke$ha to give us the goods. In a countdown to upcoming EP Cannibal, the pop megastar (who took home an MTV EMA this week), has released a track from the EP called Blow following promo singles Sleazy and title track Cannibal. And guess what? It's fantastic. Blow is another irresistable stomper that will get everyone moving that's for sure. Hmmmm, maybe I will get Cannibal after all.

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:29 PM | comment link here





Thursday, November 11, 2010
P!nk new track: Heartbreak Down + Whataya Want From Me



Pop/rock megastar P!nk is getting ready to release her Greatest Hits compilation Greatest Hits... So Far! and it includes a couple of brand new tracks including two that just surfaced - Heartbreak Down & Whataya Want From Me. The latter may have been Adam Lambert's Top 10 hit but P!nk co-wrote it for Funhouse but wasn't used and thus was given to Lambert. Miss P!nk is obviously wanting to get a little slice of that cake.

Heartbreak Down is your average P!nk pop/rock track that trods on mindlessly and ends before you know it. Smells of filler to me, sorry. Whataya Want From Me is a little better, and only because Lambert's version has reigned over radio so many times that this one doesn't just start and end before you know it. Surprisingly Lambert's version doesn't have much variation from the P!nk original and both are just as good.

Heartbreak Down:
Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Whataya Want From Me:
Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:24 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - Only Girl (In The World) live @ Le Grand Journal



Rihanna continues with her European promo tour for upcoming disc Loud and its lead single Only Girl (In The World). The Bajan pop star was in France to perform Only Girl on Le Grand Journal. The singer looked like she was having some fun and it seems she's put down all that bitter anger and sadness for more colourful performances. Great.

Oh yes, What's My Name? featuring Drake has hit the top of the Billboard Hot 100. Interesting.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:58 PM | comment link here





Jessica Mauboy - Saturday Night live on The X Factor Australia



Aussie pop/R&B/urban songstress Jessica Mauboy invaded The X Factor Australia with her new single Saturday Night which features American rapper Ludacris. Mauboy hasn't had much success on the charts so far but she's still getting these big promotional spots so.. Anyway, Saturday Night isn't Mauboy's strongest vocal performance, but it's a lot better than any live performance she did for Get 'Em Girls. Let's hope this does well on the charts.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:41 PM | comment link here





CMAs 2010 Performances



Your hosts Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley opened the night with Songs Like This, a standout track from Underwood's latest album Play On, with a little help from fellow Country superstar Keith Urban. They all did a fantastic job and got the night of to a very energetic start, methinks.



Brad & Carrie then opened with a monologue and everyone from Taylor Swift to Tiger Woods to BP (and the oil spill in the gulf) was mentioned. There were a few genius one liners in there and these two definitely have a lot of chemstry going on. HILARIOUS STUFF.



Underwood and Paisley then sang a little song for newly engaged Country stars Blake Shelton & Mranda Lambert. And of course, Brad reminds all of us that it's her four month wedding anniversary.



Of course, with all her success, a performance at the CMA Awards was in order. Country/pop megastar Taylor Swift performed Back to December with a string section behind her while she played the piano. It was hauntingly good and if you were wondering why Swift mouthed a big "WHAT?" at the end of the performance, it was because she was shocked that she received a standing ovation, at least that's what reports are saying..



Jason Aldean teamed up with pop/rock superstar Kelly Clarkson on his latest single Don't You Wanna Stay and delivered their first BIG performance of the duet. Together, the pair weren't as strong as they were individually, but Kelly was phenomenal, and she sounded as on point as ever.



Despite being totally snubbed for any awards, Underwood took to the stage to perform Mama's Song, her latest single. The props and everything looked wonderful.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:10 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, November 10, 2010
Christina Perri - Tragedy live @ Ocean Way Studios



Philly singer/songwriter Christina Perri has been recording for her debut album that's set to be released either late this year or early next year, but in the meantime, the Jar of Hearts singer has released a live EP The Ocean Way Sessions EP and you can watch the performance of Tragedy via ShockHound.

Honestly, Tragedy is along the lines of Jar of Hearts but the latter was more brutal and soul-baring compared to the former. Still, Perri has delivered yet another well-written piece. Can't wait to hear her debut album.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:42 PM | comment link here





Lee DeWyze - Sweet Serendipity live @ The Tonight Show with Jay Leno



American Idol Season 9 winner Lee DeWyze recently got his band together and started playing together and so here is the result. DeWyze delivered his first televised performance of post-Idol debut single Sweet Serendipity. To be honest, it was alright, and the highlight of the performance is when DeWyze stretched his vocals on "I ain't got no car, and I got one pair of jeans". The rest of the performance was rather bland. But the song's radio-friendly so it should do alright on the charts. Let's hoping his band gets more chemistry as they progress. As it always does with Idol's acts signed right after the show, such as Kris Allen or Allison Iraheta's band.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:36 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - Only Girl (In The World) live @ The X Factor Italy



Looking pretty good was Rihanna on the X Factor Italy's stage, where she performed her hit Only Girl (In The World). The Bajan pop star jumped, danced, pranced around the stage like a proper star who actually had energy, and it was pretty good performance, especially by Rihanna's standards. Not bad, not bad at all.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:05 PM | comment link here





Shakira - Loca live on The X Factor Germany



After a great performance at the MTV Europe Music Awards, Shakira is continuing European promo for her album Sale El Sol and the fantastic single Loca. The Latin pop superstar took to German version of The X Factor to perform a fun version of Loca to a more than enthusiastic crowd. She just never disappoinnts with live performancesof Loca, eh? Oh yes, her next single is set to be the album's title track Sale El Sol which is more pop/rock ballad than I would've liked but..

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:58 AM | comment link here





Tuesday, November 9, 2010
Big News: Listen to clips of Crystal Bowersox' new tracks!



Lee DeWyze isn't the only contestant from American Idol's Season 9 who landed a major label recording deal. Fellow runner up Crystal Bowersox ended up signing with Jive and her debut album Farmer's Daughter will be released on the 14th of December. Take a listen to clips of Hold On, Farmers Daughter and Lonely Won't Come Around (it's listed as Lonely on Wikipedia).

Hold On

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.



Hold On is the first single and I think it's pretty good, actually. While it's not immediately a hit song at first impressions, the song does grow on you and in fact, it sounds very Lee DeWyze-esque. Heh.

Farmers Daughter

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.



To call any Crystal Bowersox track "overproduced" is a little ridiculous, but I think Farmers Daughter sounded a lot better stripped down and acoustic.

Lonely Won't Come Around

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.



Lonely Won't Come Around is easily the best song out of the three from what you can hear at least. It's catchy and has a feelgood vibe which is always good if an artist wants some airplay.

Head over to mjsbigblog.com to listen to the clips if you can't listen to 'em above.

Overall, you can hear a little country, folk/pop influences which I think affirms the fact that she'll never find an audience with the pop mainstream audience, which is a good thing. I think she's in the right lane and she could be a kind of.. Indie-about-to-be-mainstream-hit kind of artist.

Check out the official album cover for Famers Daughter below. Very Carrie Underwood Some Hearts-ish, no?



Side note: The poll for the best album of September/October is now up! Nominees include Taylor Swift, Sara Bareilles, Emily Osment, David Archuleta and Selena Gomez & The Scene. The winner for previous poll "Best Album of August" is Katy Perry with Teenage Dream!

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:46 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - Loud



After leaking bit by bit, pop star Rihanna's fifth sudio album Loud is finally here in full. Loud might be one of her better efforts so far. The uptempo tracks are all nice to listen to but the slow numbers, especially California King Bed stand out among the others. What's My Name featuring Drake is still fantastic to listen to, and Love The Way You Lie (Part II) feat. Eminem is still a nice addition side by side to the original. Fellow Bajan Shontelle co-wrote Man Down which is a cheeky track but verges on a little bland. Skin is a creeping ballad that sounds like another standout. S&M is set to be the third single from the album. Rihanna sounds like she might have a hit with this one.

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:51 AM | comment link here





Monday, November 8, 2010
Miley Cyrus - Who Owns My Heart live @ Wetten Dass...?



Teen pop star Miley Cyrus has finally embarked on her European promo tour for latest single Who Owns My Heart, the second International single lifted from her third studio album Can't Be Tamed. Cyrus headed to German TV show Wetten Dass...? to perform Who Owns My Heart and while it wasn't a strong vocal performance, I think Cyrus pulled it off for the most part. And I love how the audience was happily clapping along in the beginning when there was hardly a beat but the clapping faded away when the beat-heavy chorus kicked in.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:41 PM | comment link here





Rihanna new track: Cheers (Drink To That) + Complicated + Raining Men feat. Nicki Minaj



Pop megastar Rihanna just collected her next UK #1 with Only Girl (In The World). Her latest single What's My Name? featuring Drake also looks like it's going to be a hit in the States as well. Her fifth studio album Loud seems to leaking bit by bit and here we have three brand new tracks - Cheers (Drink To That) which samples Avril Lavigne, a ballad called Complicated. Hmmm, funny, didn't Avril have a hit with a song titled Complicated as well? Interesting. Besides those two, another track titled Raining Men featuring the hottest feature artist right now, Nicki Minaj has surfaced online. Check them all out!

Cheers (Drink To That)
Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Complicated
Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Raining Men feat. Nicki Minaj
Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:57 AM | comment link here





Saturday, November 6, 2010
Orianthi - Courage feat. Lacy of Flyleaf [Music Video Premiere]



Aussie guitarist/singer/songwriter Orianthi has decided to team up with Lacey of Flyleaf to hopefully boost diminishing sales of Orianthi's singles and album Believe released last year. The single is not going to do anything on the charts, let's face it, but the video looks beautiful. I'm not expecting anything to happen with this but, oh well. Oh Orianthi, just go back into the studio and record something more substantial. Thanks.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:15 PM | comment link here





Billboard Update



Ke$ha has taken over the Hot 100 with latest single We R Who We R debuting at #1 on the chart, the first female artist to do so since Britney Spears managed the same feat last year with 3 and the first artist male or female to do so since Eminem debuted at #1 with Not Afraid earlier this year. Rihanna's Only Girl (In The World) has been pushed down a spot to #4. P!nk continues to cling on to #10 with latest single Raise Your Glass. Taylor Swift has shifted a remarkable million copies of her third album Speak Now, and some album favourites have made their way on the Hot 100: Sparks Fly, Innocent, The Story Of Us, Dear John, Better Than Revenge, Haunted, Last Kiss, Enchanted, Never Grow Up, Long Live debut at #17, #27, #41, #54, #56, #63, #71, #75, #84, #85 respectively. Katy Perry's latest single Firework shoots up to #29 up from making a debut at #57 last week. Unfortunately, Shakira's latest single Loca has fallen to #58 after it reached a peak of #32 last week. Rihanna's latest single What's My Name? hits a new peak of #60, gaining the title of Airplay Gainer. Glee Cast's Time Warp enters the Hot 100 at #89 while Michael Buble's latest single Hollywood re-enters the Hot 100 at #90. Christina Perri's Jar of Hearts returns to the Hot 100 at #96 this week while Ne-Yo's One In A Million finally finds its way to the Hot 100, debuting at #97 this week.

Over on the Billboard 200 albums chart, Taylor Swift has shifted over a million units of her third studio album Speak Now, which has thus been certified platinum in its first week of release. Glee's The Rocky Horror Glee Show falls a spot to #7 from its debut at #6 last week. Michael Buble's Hollywood: The Deluxe EP makes an entrance at #10 this week. Shakira's latest record Sale El Sol falls to #16 while the Hannah Montana Forever soundtrack has fallen to #17. Katy Perry's sophomore pop album Teenage Dream moves up to #18 up from #22 last week. Michael Buble's multi-platinum selling album Crazy Love skyrockets to #27 up from #115, earning the Greatest Gainer title. David Archuleta's sophomore pop album has fallen to #163. Glee's Mark Salling's first studio album Pipe Dreams debuts at #189.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:15 PM | comment link here





Big News: Christina Aguilera returns to the studio



Like every good popstar with an album labelled as a 'flop', Christina Aguilera is ready to move on. The music star has a new movie Burlesque coming out, but it's been a rough past couple months for her following her highly publicised divorce with ex-husband, suffering media backlash with fourth studio album Bionic which is her least successful record, selling less than a million copies worldwide, and is the UK's lowest selling #1 album in chart history. Ever. Bummer.

But the singer's recent interview with InStyle shows that she's ready to move on. The songstress says that the next album will be "introspective" and have "a different vibe" and that "I think now we're back to going a little deeper, in the vein where I recorded my Stripped record, which was very personal and more introspective."

But I hope Aguilera can write a couple of songs her own, we know how well that did for Taylor Swift.. Can't wait.

2011: Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake (rumoured), and now Christina Aguilera?! BRING IT ON.

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:18 PM | comment link here





Rihanna new track: S&M



Pop megastar Rihanna is set to take over the UK when the chart is released tomorrow and you can expect Rihanna to reign on the Singles Chart with Only Girl (In The World). Also, over in the US, second single What's My Name is set to make a big leap next week. So all in all, some very good news. Making its way online is the third single S&M off the upcoming album Loud. S&M is on par with Only Girl (In The World) and it sounds like a hit, even if it's lyrics aren't THAT racy. "Sticks and stones may break my bones but whips and chains excite me" isn't exactly as risque as you would imagine from a song with a title S&M. So it should not have trouble trying to gain some plays on the radio. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:06 PM | comment link here





Big News: Listen to Lee DeWyze' Live It Up & album clips!



American Idol Season 9 winner isn't off to a shabby start after all. His debut single post-Idol Sweet Serendipity has entered the Hot 100 at #85 with 18, 000 copies shifted. The radio-friendly single is also impacting strongly on radio and it should be making a jump next week. However, things could've fatally changed for the Idol champ if it weren't for the label's sudden decision to release Sweet Serendipity as the first single as opposed to the album's title track which was supposed to precede the album. Live It Up isn't as catchy as Sweet Serendipity and although Sweet Serendipity is a safe choice, I think it was a good decision to release Sweet Serendipity instead of Live It Up as a introductory single. Take a listen to Live It Up below.




As for the rest of the album, DeWyze has opted for a Jason Mraz kind of folky acoustic pop/rock that works well in Lee's favour as opposed to the big rock anthem that was his Idol coronation single Beautiful Day. Take a listen to 30 second clips of the album below and tell me what you think. Enjoy!


Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:49 PM | comment link here





Ke$ha new track: Cannibal



Pop superstar Ke$ha just collected her second Hot 100 #1 with We R Who We R, the first single released from her EP Cannibal paired with her platinum-selling debut album Animal. Here we have the title track of Cannibal after an exclusive track Sleazy from Cannibal was secretly released to the Australian iTunes Store last week. Cannibal might be a little repelling the first few verses, but once Ke$ha hits the irresistable stomper of a chorus, you can't help but fall in love with it. The usual Ke$ha track, it seems. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:57 AM | comment link here





Thursday, November 4, 2010
Jessica Mauboy - Get 'Em Girls (Album Review)



Track Listing:
1. Get 'Em Girls (featuring Snoop Dogg)
2. Handle It
3. Accelerate That
4. Scariest Part
5. Saturday Night (featuring Ludacris)
6. What Happened to Us
7. Reconnected
8. Like This
9. Foreign
10. Can Anybody Tell Me
11. Fight For You
12. Maze
13. Here For Me
14. No One Like You
15. Forget Your Name (bonus track)

Part of why Aussie pop/R&B princess and Australian Idol graduate Jessica Mauboy enjoyed such success with her debut solo album Been Waiting was that it was formulaic, containing some surefire hits albeit generic songs that wasn't likely to fail at all. So when the platinum-selling songstress ditched her formulaic sound for a brand new urban sound, her target audience had some trouble adjusting to the new sound with the album's first single of the same title Get 'Em Girls and the track scraped into the Top 20 of the ARIA Singles Chart at #19.

Well, the album is finally here and if you hated the urban sound, be prepared, because Mauboy favours heavy Beyonce beats over the dance/pop sound heard on her debut album. The album opens with first single Get 'Em Girls which by a track standing on its own isn't horrid by any measure, but the music video just ruined it, so it's a rather bittersweet feeling when you re-listen to the track. The album then moves on to the even more urban sounding Handle It and Accelerate That. The album then prods on mindlessly before landing itself on Scariest Part, a nice ballad that really hits its stride when Mauboy lets loose of her vocal power on the chorus. It then returns to another uptempo number Saturday Night featuring Ludacris which is confirmed to be the album's second single. I'm not sure whether Ludacris actually improves the track but it's still catchy and will have no problem racking up some airplay Get 'Em Girls never could. The album then moves on to a tender ballad with Jay Sean called What Happened To Us which happens to be one of the album's highlights.

The next track opens with a very Coldplay Viva La Vida-esque strings section before it morphs into a very Kristinia DeBarge Powerless type of track lyrically. The next track Like This features yet another big name in the form of Iyaz. This track remains forgettable even after a couple plays though, it sounds just like a lot of the other tracks on the album without having something about it that stands out among the rest. Foreign sees Mauboy return to the urban sound that has enough sass in it to differentiate it from the other urban-sounding number Handle It. Can Anybody Tell Me is another catchy-at-first-listen but ultimately forgettable track. Toss this into the same pile as Like This suffers from.

Fight For You tries to be a cross between Jordin Spark's Battlefield and Cheryl Cole's Fight For This Love but is ultimately not as fierce as the former or brilliant as the latter. Still, don't write this off too soon, it's a grower. Maze is a solid album track that sounds like it could do well as a single but as an album track, it's just like some of the other tracks on the album so it doesn't feel like it's as good as it really is. Here For Me is another solid album track that also has potential to be a single, fitting into current Top 40 radio fare. No One Like You is a sweet ballad that is supposedly about her boyfriend which though is sweet, verges on a little boring. Forget Your Name, the bonus track sees Mauboy's smooth vocals run over a thumping beat and sounds like a fiercer version of Up/Down from her debut album though it's not half as good as the latter.

All in all, it's a solid album with a few standout tracks that do have single potential. Now if only her label would get their act together and create a good music video for second single Saturday Night. However, Hype Williams (who directed the video for Get 'Em Girls) has returned to direct the video for Saturday Night and from what I've seen of the snippet, don't expect too much, except a little cheap effects. Oh well. Still, Mauboy has the potential to rival Beyonce for her crown as the reigning pop/R&B/urban superstar on the charts if she gets some better material.

Verdict:
☻☻☻☻☺

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:59 PM | comment link here





P!nk new track: F**kin' Perfect



P!nk is definitely hitting a high. The pop/rock superstar is ready to release her Greatest Hits compilation Greatest Hits... So Far!. The compilation includes the first single Raise Your Glass which is moving up the charts quickly, recently hitting the Top 10 of the chart. Besides Raise Your Glass, there's another pop/rock ballad called F**kin' Perfect which is pretty nice to listen to actually, despite the swearing in the chorus. Well, it's P!nk anyway. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:02 PM | comment link here