Vote at the MRAs 2011 here!



Friday, October 29, 2010
Nicole Scherzinger - Poison [Music Video Premiere]



Nicole Scherzinger of the Pussycat Dolls has been trying for years to make it big as a solo artist but somehow, all her releases were lackluster till we heard Posion, which is on the forefront of the pop/dance explosion in music right now so I'm actually thinking this could be a hit.

The music video just shows Scherzinger walking around, fighting criminals, and dancing with an army of back-up dancers behind her a la Cheryl Cole.

But while I was watching this video, I actually had an idea. What if Scherzinger stripped the track to its core into a heartbreaking ballad, and the video shows Scherzinger slowly being overcome by this "poison" which she so speaks of as she touches this man that she will "never get" because he is the poison that's "on her mind"? I know this might not be making a lot of sense now but the video was so boring I kind of churned out a better idea methinks. Someone call up her label..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:22 PM | comment link here





Billboard Update



Far East Movement's Like A G6 stays at #1 this week on the Hot 100. It's an easy #1 for the group since there isn't much music out right now. Still, Just The Way You Are, Bruno Mars former #1 remains at #2 for a second consecutive week. Rihanna's Only Girl (In The World) is back at its peak of #3, moving up a spot from last week. P!nk's latest single Raise Your Glass continues to move up strongly, crashing the Top 10 at #10, getting the Airplay Gainer title. Taylor Swift's latest promo single Mean falls just short of the Top 10, debuting at #11, making it her first promo single lifted from Speak Now to not debut in the Top 10. Meanwhile, the official lead single Mine has risen a spot to #13; previous promo single Back To December drops to #30; while first promo single and title track Speak Now falls to #86. Shakira's latest single Loca makes a gigantic leap to #32 up from #84. Daughtry's latest single September has been slowly dropping down the Hot 100 lately, but the song has rebounded back up to hit a new peak of #36 this week. Sara Bareilles' King of Anything has been bouncing up and down the chart, and this week, Bareilles has managed to move up to #37 up from #42. Katy Perry's latest single Firework has found its way on the Hot 100, making a splash at #57 this week, and it's set to move up next week thanks to release of the music video. Available on the Hannah Montana Forever soundtrack, Gonna Get This featuring Iyaz has made a debut at #66. Carrie Underwood's latest single Mama Song makes a move up to a new peak of #68. Rihanna, if you don't collect a #1 with Only Girl (In The World), resassured, because What's My Name looks set to be another hit as the track featuring Drake debuts at #83.

Country group Sugarland top the Billboard 200 Albumms Chart this week, with 3 more debuts in a string below - Kings of Leon's Come Around Sundown, Elton John/Leon Russel The Union, Rod Stewart's Fly Me To The Moon The Great American Songbook. Glee's The Rocky Horror Glee Show makes a debut at #6 while Shakira's latest album Sale El Sol makes a debut at #7. The soundtrack for Hannah Montana Forever makes a debut at #11 this week. Selena Gomez & The Scene's sophomore pop album A Year Without Rain falls four spots to #18 this week. Katy Perry's sophomore pop effort falls to #22 this week. David Archuleta continues to fall hard as The Other Side of Down falls sharply to #125.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:45 PM | comment link here





Katy Perry - Firework [Music Video Premiere]



After shooting out whipped cream from her chest in her California Gurls video, pop star Katy Perry is shooting out sparks from her chest in her video for her latest single Firework. It's not exactly the most original song, and as much as Perry says it's not cliche, it does have a layer of cheese on it. You can't run away from cheesy lyrics when it comes to an inspirational song.

Still, it's a passable song, and the video just shows Perry looking pretty and lighting Europe up. Speaking of which, Perry will be performing on the upcoming MTV Europe Music Awards.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:30 PM | comment link here





Sara Bareilles - King of Anything lie @ Ellen DeGeneres Show



Pop/AC singer Sara Bareilles has done pretty well for herself so far. Her sophomore album Kaleidoscope Heart managed to top the Billboard Albums Chart while it's lead single King of Anything looks like it's going to stay around on the charts for quite a while - as with many AC singles. Nevertheless, Bareilles went on The Ellen DeGeneres Show to perform King of Anything. While it's not groundbreaking, it's clear Bareilles isn't all studio effects. Check it out above!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:16 AM | comment link here





Thursday, October 28, 2010
Alexandra Burke - The Silence [Music Video Premiere]



The X Factor (UK) graduate Alexandra Burke recently hit Asia to do a little promo for Overcome and recently returned home to London. But before she left for Asia, Burke shot the video for her brand new single The Silence. The video shows nothing but a gorgeous Burke at a photoshoot. I expected a lot more from the video though. At least the song is good..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:38 PM | comment link here





Big News: Ke$ha unveils Cannibal + Animal



This girl doesn't even need to try. Pop megastar Ke$ha has already 4 hits off her debut album Animal, and a feature on 3OH!3's My First Kiss which hit the Top 10 on the Hot 100 as well. Unsurprisingly, Ke$ha has decided to re-release Animal in the form of Cannibal. Above is the cover for Cannibal + Animal. The first single released from Cannibal called We R Who We R looks like it's set to be yet another hit for her. But of course.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:40 PM | comment link here





Big News: Listen to Jessica Mauboy's next single!



After the horrendous flop that was Get 'Em Girls, Australian pop/R&B diva has dropped the urban sound that we heard on Get 'Em Girls and has gone a little more pop to regain some steam with her next single Saturday Night featuring Ludacris. Saturday Night is moderately catchy, but I do hope it does better Get 'Em Girls, otherwise, her sophomore album Get 'Em Girls might flop as well.

But first of all, Get 'Em Girls didn't do well not because it was a horrendous song, but because of the horrendous letdown of a video. Still, it managed to debut at peak at #19 on the ARIA Singles Chart, so all hope isn't lost yet.

But why do I have a bad feeling I see some very poor computer effects of Mauboy riding in a car on a Saturday Night with the wind blowing in her hair while she has fun singing along? That scene does remind me of the horrendous computer effects that Jason DeRulo's video for Ridin' Solo suffered when DeRulo was in the car that wasn't even moving, but poor effects just spun the wheels and the background and it looked so fake.

Still. This record looks like one I'll be bumping my head to when I'm on holiday.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:18 PM | comment link here





Taylor Swift - live on David Letterman, Today Show & Regis And Kelly







Pop/country megastar Taylor Swift dropped by David Letterman, the Today Show, and the David Letterman Show for some promo for her latest studio album Speak Now which punters are expecting to shift an astounding million copies in its first week of release, easily beating Eminem's remarkable 700, 000+ units of Recovery shifted this year.

The Today Show stuff were alright, I still like Speak Now better than all the other songs. Although going from You Belong With Me to crashing weddings in Speak Now seems a little.. creepy. Nevertheless, check out the Today Show performances above. Along with Speak Now, Swift performed Love Story and Mine.



Over on the David Letterman show, Swift sat down with David Letterman. Looking as pretty as a doll, they talked about the music, the Grammy, her perfume etc. She performed Speak Now below and you can peep the interview above.



On Regis And Kelly, Swift performed Mine and sat down for a little chat. Side note: she has a couple of crazy fans in the audience who have ear-shattering screams. Yeap, same ol' same ol'. Oh yes, and Taylor Swift stalks her fans.



Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:42 PM | comment link here





Big News: Jennifer Lopez unveils new viral video!



To be honest, I really don't like this. Her vocals were way too autotuned and the song is kind of boring. J.Lo, if you were going to release a viral video, at least make it different, not generic and boring. Dull.

Still, I'm looking forward to her on Idol.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:05 AM | comment link here





Tuesday, October 26, 2010
Big News: Alexandra Burke confirms next single!



UK pop/R&B star Alexandra Burke has had a very strong career coming off The X Factor (UK) since she won the reality TV singing competition back in 2008, beating out pop boyband JLS. Burke has had 3 UK #1s and all of her other singles have all been Top 10 hits in the UK. I've always wanted Burke to release a ballad as a single, but I knew Simon would never allow Burke to because we all know very well Burke is a threat to ballad queen Leona Lewis' crown.

Surprise, surprise! Burke's next single is The Silence, a fantastic gem from her album. RedOne says that there'll be a new version out on December. Interesting. I'm stoked for this, partly because it's Burke's first ballad release. But when there were rumours swirling that Dumb was going to be the next single, my absolute favourite from the album Overcome, it kind of made me anticipate that news. But oh well, The Silence is great, and we all know Burke can sing the heck out of the song. Check it out below and be prepared to get chills.



Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:56 PM | comment link here





Cheryl Cole on Piers Morgan's Life Stories

Part 1


Part 2


Part 3


Part 4


Honestly, I have newfound respect for this classy lady. Obviously, she's a private person, and always has been. But I think what's so special about Cheryl is that she's not fake. There were some moments in the interview where there were awkward silences, but it's a hard thing to go through, especially like what she said, on a public scale. Life's hard when you're a popstar, isn't it?

I genuinely hope she can find happiness and love again. I really do. Team Cheryl.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 9:26 PM | comment link here





Mariah Carey - Merry Christmas II You



Pop/R&B star Mariah Carey has been struggling to stay afloat in a music industry where the pop/dance explosion took over, leaving Carey to settle for songs like Obsessed to get a hit. Carey eventually gave up on her 12th studio album Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel after it's later two singles failed to take off. The Memoirs Remixed album was also canned after its first two singles Up Out My Face featuring Nicki Minaj and Angels Cry featuring Ne-Yo didn't take off as well. Carey then decided to cash-in on the Christmas albums rush by doing a follow-up to her 1994 hit Christmas album with this years' Christmas album Merry Christmas II You. I'm interested to see how this album will do, but for now, here are the tracks. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:15 PM | comment link here





Monday, October 25, 2010
Pixie Lott - Broken Arrow live @ National Lottery



Looking fit and fab as usual is UK pop star Pixie Lott who took to National Lottery to perform her latest single, the ballad Broken Arrown lifted off the re-release of her debut album Turn It Up, marketed as Turn It Up Louder. Lott did the usual performance so it was alright. Nothing special. Girl if you want to get back into the Top 10 of the UK Singles Chart, just give us an epic performance on The X Factor and skip all these smaller shows, a la Cheryl Cole. Still, it wasn't half-bad, check it out.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:29 PM | comment link here





Cheryl Cole - Promise This live @ The X Factor (UK)



Looking ever so spectacular, The X Factor (UK) judge Cheryl Cole showed exactly why she deserves to be a judge on the show. Performing Promise This, the lead single from her sophomore solo effort Messy Little Raindrops. Cole didn't dance as much as I would've liked her too, but she actually sounded decent, although she was performing over a backing track. Still, judging from the crowd (who erupted with applause and went absolutely nuts), expect Cole to be #1 next week with Promise This. And I'm really glad with the outcome of the performance. She didn't blow off a big opportunity like Diana Vickers did or leave a meh.. first impression like Joe McElderry did. Funny how both of the artists mentioned were Cole's proteges on the show in 2008 and 2009 respectively.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:18 PM | comment link here





Michael Buble - Hollywood live @ The X Factor (UK)



Jazz/pop Canadian crooner Michael Buble took to the UK to perform Hollywood, the new single from the re-release of his multi-platinum selling album Crazy Love. The performance wasn't a great vocal, but the crowd was great. It was fun for the most part, but he has a weird way of holding his microphone when he performs which is a little.. Queer. Nevertheless, Buble gave a solid performance which should see him clinging on to the Top 5 for the most part. The plug at the end for his music video for Hollywood made me crack up. "It's pretty good."

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:51 PM | comment link here





Sunday, October 24, 2010
Diana Vickers - Interviews



The ever so lovely Diana Vickers has been making the rounds promoting her spanking new single My Wicked Heart. She appeared on Live From Studio Five (which you can watch above) and T4 which you can catch below. She didn't perform but she's ever so bubbly and cute so it still works (somewhat). By the way, she's set to perform My Wicked Heart on the Alan Titchmarsh Show on November 2nd. Also, My Wicked Heart has entered the UK Singles Chart at #10, Ireland Singles Chart at #22 and #9 on the Scottish Singles Chart.



PS. Do you guys like the new banner? The nominations for MRAs 2010 will be posted soon. So excited! Keep an eye out for that!

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:31 PM | comment link here





Saturday, October 23, 2010
Taylor Swift - Mine live @ The Paul O' Grady Show



Pop/country star Taylor Swift recently hit the UK to squeeze in a little promotion for Mine, the official first single from her upcoming third studio album Speak Now. Here is Swift performing on the Paul O' Grady Show. It's not the best vocal that Taylor has ever done, but it's definitely got the crowd moving. It's getting a bit dull to watch her but.. At least she looks cute.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:01 PM | comment link here





Big News: Listen to clips of Jessica Mauboy's upcoming album!



Pop/R&B Aussie diva Jessica Mauboy just released 30 second clips of the songs on her upcoming sophomore album Get 'Em Girls to YouTube and one thing's for certain.

She's no longer the Jessica Mauboy we saw on Australian Idol, or the Jessica Mauboy on her debut album Been Waiting. This is a new Jessica Mauboy, but not necessarily a bad one. Her trademark silky smooth vocals are still here, of course, but what differs from Been Waiting is a more urban sound than Mauboy has gone for. Although you usually can't tell much from clips, it's clear this album is a cohesive and nice sounding effort that I'm looking forward to. There's a clear standout from the clip and it's What Happened To Us featuring Jay Sean that I really really really like. The next single might be Saturday Night featuring Ludacris but please give What Happened To Us the single treatment.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:15 PM | comment link here





Friday, October 22, 2010
Billboard Update



Far East Movement has dethroned Bruno Mars' Just The Way You Are on the Hot 100 with their debut single Like A G6 hitting #1 this week while Just The Way You Are slips to #2. Rihanna makes a rebound up to #4 this week with Only Girl (In The World) while Taylor Swift collects yet another Hot 100 Top 10 debut with her second promo single Back To December. P!nk looks like she's seeing yet another hit with Raise Your Glass skyrocketing to #11, leaping an impressive 40 spots on the Hot 100 after it's debut at #51 last week. Another week, another round of Glee debuts on the Hot 100. This week, Lucky, River Deep, Mountain High, Happy Days Are Here Again, Don't Go Breaking My Heart, Sing!, Le Jazz Hot enter at #27, #41, #48, #50, #87, #94 respectively. Carrie Underwood's latest single Mama's Song moves up to #70 this week. Shakira's latest single Loca hits a new peak of #84 this week. Selena Gomez & the Scene's A Year Without Rain moves up 9 more spots to #91.

Lil Wayne's I Am Not A Human Being hits the top of the Billboard 200 Albums Chart this week, reigning at #1. Selena Gomez & the Scene's A Year Without Rain drops to #14 while Katy Perry's sophomore pop album Teenage Dream drops to #16. Sara Bareilles sophomore album Kaleidoscope Heart remains entrenched at #49 on the chart. After dropping off the chart, Miley Cyrus' third pop album Can't Be Tamed re-enters at #195 this week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:42 PM | comment link here





Big News: Listen to clips of Taylor Swift's tracks on new album!



Pop/country star Taylor Swift is just about a couple days away from the release of her brand new album Speak Now. Now, however, 30 second clips of each song on the album has premiered and allthough you can't tell much from the clips, it's obvious Swift is sticking to the winning formula. I'd be really interested to see if she can pull off the Speak Now era as effortlessly as the Fearless era when she was snatching awards she didn't deserve as much some of the other nominees aka Vocal Performance of the Year, a Grammy for Album of the Year etc.

The songs all pretty much sound the same except for Better Than Revenge and Haunted.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:55 PM | comment link here





Black Eyed Peas new track: The Time (The Dirty Bit)



The Black Eyed Peas have managed to stay on the forefront of the music industry last year when they took over the Hot 100 with their #1 singles Boom Boom Pow and I Gotta Feeling. The group also managed to scrape in a third #1, albeit a less successful one, Imma Be. Nevertheless, the group is back with some new material (though they are still on tour). The Time (Dirty Bit) is the lead single lifted off from their upcoming studio album The Beginning. Honestly, I really don't like this one. It's hardly as immediately infectious as the likes of Boom Boom Pow and I Gotta Feeling. In fact, they actually sample Dirty Dancing's Time Of My Life, which is every bit as cheesy and corny as sampling an old song can be, however, it's also one of the best bits of the song, which shows how bad this song is.

I'll admit, I'm not ready for new BEP material yet. Fergie, just go solo again, please.

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Check out the official single and cover respectively, below.



Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:25 PM | comment link here





Big News: Take a listen to Cheryl Cole's next single The Flood!



UK pop singer Cheryl Cole hasn't begun promoting Promise This, the lead single from Cole's upcoming sophomore solo effort Messy Little Raindrops, but the Girls Aloud singer's The Flood has already hit the web. The Flood is the seond single lifted off from Messy Little Raindrops and it is essentially a pop ballad in the vein of Selena Gomez & The Scene's A Year Without Rain. In all honesty, they both are rather similar, in terms of the concept and how these mediocre singers 'belt' out the hooks from the second single off their second albums. I think it's alright, I like it, but it's no Parachute.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:11 PM | comment link here





Wednesday, October 20, 2010
Shakira - Loca live on Dancing With The Stars



Getting her dance on was Shakira who shook and shimmied to her latest single Loca from her latest album Sale El Sol live on Dancing With The Stars. The crowd looked like they were really enjoying the performance and Shakira is definitely fit! It's nice to see Shakira getting so much love from the crowd.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:31 PM | comment link here





Big News: Rihanna unveils "What's My Name" single cover!



She actually looks really good here. I'm rather surprised I really like her single covers this era. Featured artist Drake may not be on the single cover, but What's My Name will be released featuring Drake (it's no longer a remix).

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:07 PM | comment link here





Diana Vickers - My Wicked Heart live on This Morning



British pop star Diana Vickers hit This Morning to give a much better performance of her latest single My Wicked Heart compared to her performance on The X Factor. Vocally, it was a lot better than the X Factor performance, perhaps she wasn't as nervous here. With the theatrics toned down just a little due to being on a smaller stage, Vickers was the centre of attention this time. Check out that performance above and the interview below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:46 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - Who's That Chick (Day/Night Versions) [Music Video Premiere]



So, here's the video for Who's That Chick, part of the Doritos campaign and also French DJ David Guetta's next single from the upcoming release One More Love. Here's the day (the fun, happy bright) and the night (dark, bold, sassy) side to the video for Who's That Chick.

The song's definitely grown on me, and I don't cringe as much in the HQ version compared to the colourful LQ video that leaked a while ago.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:15 PM | comment link here





Tuesday, October 19, 2010
Adam Lambert - If I Had You live on The X Factor Australia



There was something vocally off about this performance, I just don't know what. Anyway, Adam Lambert is currently on his Glam Nation Tour but he is in Australia for these three days promoting his music. He hit The X Factor Australia to give a performance of If I Had You, the third international single lifted off from his debut album For Your Entertainment. I think he's just tired. He even messed up a bit of the lyrics at the end. Take a little rest dude. But props to him for working so hard for his success.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:20 PM | comment link here





Monday, October 18, 2010
Pixie Lott - Turn It Up Louder



English pop star Pixie Lott has won over audiences from all over the world and her UK debut album Turn It Up has gone 2x platinum, shifting more than 600, 000 copies in the UK alone. Not surprisingly, Lott has decided to re-release her debut album, marketing it as Turn it Up Louder. 5 brand new tracks and some old material that didn't make the original album make up Turn It Up Louder. The first single Broken Arrow from Turn It Up Louder debuted at #12 on the UK Singles Chart, #30 on the Irish Singles Chart and scraped into the Top 10 at #10 on the Scottish Singles Chart. Here are the bonus tracks, enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:54 PM | comment link here





Big News: Preview Cheryl Cole's Messy Little Raindrops!



Looks like we have a treat here. Cheryl Cole has taken over the UK with her solo music career, and is ready to move on to her sophomore effort Messy Little Raindrops coming out later this year. Cole will be performing the lead single Promise This live on The X Factor (UK) next week, which should help boost the single and it might hit #1 like her debut solo single Fight For This Love did. Cole has now given us snippets of the rest of the songs on the album. The second single from the album will be The Flood, which reminds me of Selena Gomez' A Year Without Rain, both in concept wise, and the way they 'belt' out the hook, though I'm pretty sure just like Gomez, she wouldn't be able to pull it off live. Also, does anyone hear her sample A Thousand Miles by Vanessa Carlton?

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:35 PM | comment link here





Katy Perry - Firework live on The X Factor



Diana Vickers wasn't the only star performing on The X Factor's latest results show. International pop star Katy Perry took to the stage to perform her brand new single Firework. The performance, like Vickers, worked because the stage set-up and the props were top notch. But unlike Vickers, Perry was actually vocally impressive, for a Katy Perry performance that is. But when she first started, she was barely audible, till she hit her stride and blasted the first chorus and she stayed at full confidence since then.

Just a note: next week, Rihanna & The X Factor judge Cheryl Cole will take to the stage. Rihanna will most probably sing Only Girl (In The World), while Cheryl will perform Promise This, the lead singles lifted off from their fifth album LOUD! and sophomore album Messy Little Raindrops respectively.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:29 PM | comment link here





Diana Vickers - My Wicked Heart live on The X Factor



UK pop star Diana Vickers returned to The X Factor, the show that gained her nationwide exposure. Since then, she went on to release her debut album Songs From The Tainted Cherrytree which went to #1, along with its lead single Once. Her follow-up single The Boy Who Murdered Love underperformed, but Vickers is ready to move on to My Wicked Heart, available on the re-release of Songs From The Tainted Cherrytree to be released later this year.

About that performance, she looked pretty good. But the vocals were probably not her best, and she was yelling the last 4 lines of the chorus. Nevertheless, it's a performance worth checking out because the song's a hoot, and the stage set-up, props and costumes were pretty cool.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:14 PM | comment link here





Saturday, October 16, 2010
Big News: Katy Perry unveils a snippet of Firework



Earlier today, Katy Perry gave fans a sneak peek of Firework, the music video for her next single to be lifted off her sophomore pop album Teenage Dream. Hopefully, this single can help her album sales a nice boost. I'm already sick of Teenage Dream so Firework has come at the right time.

Labels: , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:47 PM | comment link here





Rihanna new track: What's My Name feat. Drake



Instead of pushing Only Girl (In The World), Bajan pop star Rihanna already has her second single planned, called What's My Name. But now what we have here is the remix version featuring chart-topping American rapper Drake. Rihanna already has plans to shoot videos for the original and remix versions so keep an eye out for that. Personally, I don't really like this very much because it's pretty monotonous and I'm really not looking forward to LOUD! if I'm being honest. Nevertheless, check it out!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:04 PM | comment link here





Friday, October 15, 2010
Billboard Update



Bruno Mars' single Just The Way You Are is still dominating the Hot 100 at #1 this week. Katy Perry's Teenage Dream drops one spot to #4 while Rihanna's Only Girl (In The World) moves up to #6. Taylor Swift's promo single Speak Now from her upcoming album of the same name makes a high debut at #8. OneRepublic's latest single Secrets flies up to a new peak of #21 this week. The songs covered on Glee last week I Want To Hold Your Hand, One of Us, Only The Good Die Young, Losing Me Religion, Papa Can You Hear Me?, Bridge Over Troubled Water and I Look To You debuts at #36, #37, #50, #60, #65, #73 and #74 respectively. Daughtry's September has stopped its upward climb, dropping two places to #39 this week while Sara Bareilles rounds out the Top 40 at #40. P!nk's Raise Your Glass, the upcoming lead single from her Greatest Hits... So Far! debuts at #51. Carrie Underwood's brand new single Mama's Song continues its upward climb, moving up to #75. Shakira's Loca makes a surprise entrance at #98 this week. Selena Gomez & The Scene's A Year Without Rain rounds out the Hot 100 standing feebly at #100 this week.

Toby Keith's Bullet's In The Gun debuts atop the Billboard 200 albums chart while Katy Perry's sophomore pop album Teenage Dream flies up to #8, getting the title of Greatest Gainer from #18 last week, most possibly thanks to that SNL episode. Selena Gomez & The Scene's A Year Without Rain stays strong at #10 this week. David Archuleta's sophomore pop album The Other Side Of Down debut at #13 after moving over 20, 000 units in its first week of release. Sara Bareilles' sophomore album Kaleidoscope Heart falls for 4 slots down to #49. With the success of OneRepublic's latest single Secrets, the parent album has shot up to #133 from #177 the previous week. Disney Channel's soundtrack for Sonny With A Chance makes a debut at #163. Emily Osment's debut full-length studio album Fight Or Flight enters the chart at #170.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:16 PM | comment link here





Pixie Lott - Broken Arrow live @ Live From Studio Five



Pretty good. Pixie Lott hit Live With Studio Five to promote Broken Arrow.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:40 AM | comment link here





Ke$ha new track: We R Who We R



Pop star Ke$ha has gone from a nobody to one of pop's biggest artists in just over a year. She's known for her infectious, fun tracks. So when it came to re-release of her debut album Animal - called Cannibal - she has decided to stick to this winning formula in the form of We R Who We R. It's a pretty fun track, it's not immediately as impactful as some of her best singles but it's a grower. Plus, it sounds like a surefire hit. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 11:05 AM | comment link here





Big News: Cheryl Cole unveils "Messy Little Raindrops" album cover!



I know I'm a little late on this, but the ones floating around the Internet were all of shabby quality and I was just waiting for one with a better quality. Nevertheless, above is official cover for Cheryl Cole's Messy Little Raindrops. I really do not like this one single bit, simply because it looks so tacky. I'm sure any fan could do better. The font looks cheap and she doesn't ooze class like on her previous album cover compared to this. Oh well.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:59 AM | comment link here





Nicole Scherzinger new track: Poison



Nicole Scherzinger has tried possibly the most times out of all the other Pussycat Dolls going solo but none of her songs/singles failed to make much impact because honestly, her singles all sounded like filler. But hopefully, to change all that, Scherzinger hooked up with RedOne to create some dance/pop jams that are in trend. To be honest, I think it's pretty good, and it's definitely a thousand miles better than anything else that she's put out solo. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:16 AM | comment link here





Thursday, October 14, 2010
Pixie Lott - Broken Arrow live @ Simon Mayo Drivetime on Radio 2



Pixie Lott's still making her rounds doing promo for her latest single Broken Arrow, which she incessantly tells you to buy all the time on Twitter. Nevertheless, the pop princess hit Simon Mayo Drivetime on Radio 2 to perform an acoustic version of Broken Arrow plus one more performance, a cover of You To Me Are Everything which you can check out below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:10 PM | comment link here





Lee DeWyze new track: Sweet Serendipity



After winning Season 9 of American Idol, Lee DeWyze is ready to move forward with his music, post-Idol. Live It Up was supposed to be his debut single but at the eleventh hour, Sweet Serendipity has become his debut single and apparently music critics who were treated to 4 brand new tracks from the album preferred Live It Up. Neverthless, Lee DeWyze' Sweet Serendipity has a feel-good factor, Kris Allen meets Maroon 5 kind of vibe for me. It's exactly what I expected so it's not too bad. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 8:01 PM | comment link here





Rihanna - Only Girl (In The World) [Music Video Premiere]



It took forever but it's finally here. Rihanna's long-overdue video for Only Girl(In The World) is honestly just alright. I'm not looking forward to the new album but hey, if she's adamant on bringing LOUD to us this November, only the likes of Lady Gaga, Beyonce and Ke$ha can stop her. I guess, better now than next year. Next year will be a bloodbath - Britney Spears, Beyonce, Gaga, Kelly Clarkson etc. She'll get slayed, in other words.

But back to the video for Only Girl, it kind of bored me, but at least it's not a clubbing video like I thought it was going to be.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:55 PM | comment link here





Taylor Swift new track: Back To December



In yet another string of new tracks from her upcoming album Speak Now, pop/country-lite Taylor Swift has released a brand new one called Back To December. It's a pretty song, but her songs from the Speak Now era are startlingly similar, even more so than usual, and that's saying a lot. Back To December isn't as good as the previous iTunes promo single that she released called Speak Now though. But it does get me wondering if she'll ever reach the heights of the success of Fearless.

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 7:44 PM | comment link here





Tuesday, October 12, 2010
Pixie Lott - Broken Arrow live @ Alan Titchmarsh Show



Pixie Lott continues her string of promotional spots for Broken Arrow, performing the song on The Alan Titchmarsh Show. Check out the interview below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:03 PM | comment link here





Hilary Duff on Today Show



Hilary talks about her new book called Elixir. Any of you guys read it yet? Am wondering if it's any good.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:50 PM | comment link here





Jessica Mauboy - Get 'Em Girls live @ Australian KCA



This was a mess from note one. Jess has been a mess and has delivered nothing but disappointments so far. She's much better than that. After lipsynching through her first televised performance of Get 'Em Girls, she decided to sing it live at the Australian Kids Choice Awards. Looking all glamorous, she then started to sing. I cringed. She was out of breath from note one and continued running around the stage, further wearing her vocals out, or what was left of it. At some points, she was so out of breath that she didn't sing, which led to awkward silences. Oh well. We all make mistakes.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:44 PM | comment link here





Big News: 3 tracks streaming on Katharine McPhee's Facebook!



The music business has been really slow lately, but a couple small but nice things came up today. First, Katharine McPhee, as you know, is releasing her first Christmas record entitled Christmas Is The Time To Say I Love You on the 12th October. A couple days ago, Amazon gave us a 30 second clip of each track but now, McPhee has premiered 3 new tracks in full on her Facebook. It's pretty interesting, and Jingle Bells is actually not cheesy and is pretty fun. The only original on the album, Christmas Is Not The Same Without You is a very beautiful ballad that showcases her gorgeous voice, and so does the title track Christmas Is The Time To Say I Love You which showcases her pipes. Am liking what I'm hearing so far.

Listen to the three songs: HERE
Read a positive review of the album from All Music Guide: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:28 PM | comment link here





Saturday, October 9, 2010
Big News: Ke$ha is set to release Cannibal!



With a multi-platinum pop star, you'd better have a fantastic marketing department. Well it appears Ke$ha does have one. After she released a second version of the music video for Take It Off, there's yet another thing to get excited about for a Ke$ha fan. Cannibal. Yeap, the re-release of Animal will be Cannibal. In my point of view, I think this is marketing genius. Along with Pixie Lott's Turn It Up Louder, Cannibal is the best re-release title for a pop star.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:37 PM | comment link here





Pixie Lott - Broken Arrow live @ Lorraine



Well, you know how it is with UK single releases. Promote the song in its opening week with many televised performances and not care about it afterwards (not counting festivals/concerts etc.). So here is British pop darling Pixie Lott with her brand new single Broken Arrow. She poured in emotion by the truckload, and it's refreshing to see her take on a ballad again. Now, all they need to do is send her over to the US and invade the Hot 100 with Boys And Girls, her debut US single, also known as her second #1 in the UK. Nevertheless, check out the performance above. It was pretty good.

UPDATED: The interview has now been included. Talked about, music, fashion and romance.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:24 PM | comment link here





Jessica Mauboy - Get 'Em Girls [Music Video Premiere]



Because I expected a disappointment, I'm not half as disappointed/angered as some of Jessica Mauboy's fans with her new video for Get 'Em Girls. The video is pretty much what you've seen in the clips, pictures, behind the scenes stuff so it's safe to say there wasn't going to be much of a surprise watching this video. However, while Mauboy sounds okay, she looks plain awful in that yellow, orange, red and other jumbled up colours suit that she wore in one of the scenes. But she does look great standing beside Snoop Dogg though, but he looks like more like paedophile so that was a bit. Painful.

Yuck.

Looks like her Aussie audience isn't showing much support for Get 'Em Girls, either. Not like I didn't see it coming. But you know what? I love her debut album and I think if she returns to that kind of sound, she might be a hit once again. C'mon Jessica..

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:06 PM | comment link here





Friday, October 8, 2010
Billboard Update



Bruno Mars once again continues to lead the Hot 100 this week with Just The Way You Are standing at #1. Katy Perry's Teenage Dream rounds out the Top 3 at #3 this week. Rihanna's lead single Only Girl (In The World) from her upcoming album LOUD stays at #8 after it dropped to #8 last week from #3. Taylor Swift and Ke$ha sit at #12 and #13 this week with Mine and Take It Off respectively. Glee debut high at #16 with their cover of Britney Spears' classic Toxic, #26 with Paramore's The Only Exception (the Paramore original has leaped to #25), I'm A Slave 4 U, Stronger, Baby One More Time, and Me Against The Music at #52, #53, #54, #56 respectively. Sara Bareilles and Daughtry make movements up the chart this week, with King of Anything moving up to #35 and September making a new peak at #37. Selena Gomez' A Year Without Rain falls to #82 this week while Carrie Underwood's latest single Mama's Song re-enters the Hot 100 at #87, this time impacting as an official single.

On the Billboard 200 albums chart, Kenny Chesney debuts at #1. Selena Gomez' sophomore album A Year Without Rain falls 6 spots down to #10. Katy Perry's Teenage Dream stands at #18 this week. Fantasia's Back To Me falls to #29 this week. Making another sharp drop again this week, Sara Bareilles' Kaleidoscope Heart falls to #42 from #19 last week.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 6:25 PM | comment link here





Miley Cyrus - Who Owns My Heart [Music Video Premiere]



After all the this-could-be-a-single-no-wait-that-will-be-a-single mess that has plagued Miley Cyrus' latest album Can't Be Tamed, I just lost all interest and just patiently waited. Then there was news of Cyrus releasing Every Rose Has Its Thorn as the second single in the States (bad move) while Who Owns My Heart will be the next international single. Well, sure took her long enough. The music video for Who Owns My Heart has finally arrived and it has that Europop sound currently dominating airwaves, charts, whatever that I just can't wrap my head round why in the world Hollywood Records didn't want to release this in the States. But then again, you never know, they're messing up promotion with Can't Be Tamed anyway.

But hopefully, this is a fresh start. Cyrus is sticking with the skank image (though I don't like her hair here) and it's obvious she wants to rid every bit of that Disney image, therefore annihilating more of her core fanbase.

Someone give this girl some advice, please.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:19 PM | comment link here





Big News: Lee DeWyze has his new album/single lined up!



Breaking the tradition of the usual self-titled post-Idol debut that most past Idols have done with their first albums, American Idol Season 9's Lee DeWyze will be releasig his debut album Live It Up on the 16th of November (while Season 9 runner-up Crystal Bowersox is targeting a Spring release) and it will include the first single of the same name. Live It Up is described as "being in the a Jack Johnson/Jason Mraz vein] is a breezy shuffle that DeWyze co-wrote with Toby Gad". Interesting.

Read more: HERE & HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:30 PM | comment link here





Big News: Kris Allen selects Alright With Me as the next single!



Simply because Jive sucks at promoting, underrated American Idol winner Kris Allen didn't do well with his second single The Truth. I loved the video for The Truth but I felt Pat Monahan's presence was rather irrelevant. But I digress. He's moved on to his third single, the catchy, radio-friendly Alright With Me which many have been dying to see released as a single. Okay then. Hopefully, he'll regain some steam with this one and release Can't Stay Away next.

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:50 PM | comment link here





David Archuleta - Elevator live @ Wendy Williams Show



This is raw talent you just can't manufacture. I've no idea how he can sound so good all the time. Nevertheless, David Archuleta dropped by Wendy Williams Show and performed his latest single Elevator lifted off his latest album The Other Side of Down. After the brilliant performance, he chatted with Wendy Williams Show and he is, after all, a goofy teenager underneath and made the blunder of the Idol judges. Hilarious. Watch the girls scream their heart out for him.

Side note: His album The Other Side of Down is predicted to sell only a meagre 22 to 25, 000 copies in its first week. Disappointing. But let's change that. So, while you're reading this, go up and get October's Artist of the Month's album now!

UPDATED: David also dropped by Regis And Kelly and performed Elevator and an album track called Falling Stars. Check them and the interview out below.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:29 PM | comment link here





Taylor Swift - Mine live @ The X Factor (Italy)



Pop/country starlet Taylor Swift is no stranger to ruling the charts (and awards) and it appears the promotional single Speak Now from her upcoming album of the same name is storming the iTunes charts right now (not surprising). Swift flew to Italy to perform Mine, the official lead single released from the album. Her live performances have actually been okay for the Speak Now era. Sure she's no Demi Lovato (although her back-up singer kinda looks like Demi) but in a Taylor Swift-standard for a live performance, it wasn't too bad.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 1:16 PM | comment link here





Ke$ha - Take It Off [Alt. Music Video Premiere]



Not satisfied with one video for her latest Top 10 hit, pop star Ke$ha has released an alternate version. The crew were caught on set a couple weeks ago and photos leaked online. Ummmmm. To this video, I'm kind of mixed. Number 1, she looks horribly trashy (even more so than usual); Number 2, the whole laser, shooting thing, people, animals make it seem like a homage to the villians of the Power Rangers series. However, it is more fun and adventurous compared to the previous video, which I reckon is the reason why another music video for Take It Off was shot. But it's just alright. Not a very big fan of this video. Neutral, I guess. What do you think?

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:55 PM | comment link here





Enrique Iglesias ft. Nicole Scherzinger - Heartbeat live @ Paul O' Grady



I've never cared much for Latin American superstar Enrique Iglesias' music, so I'm posting this because of Nicole Scherzinger. Heartbeat featuring the Pussycat Dolls singer is the latest single to be lifted off his latest album Euphoria. Heartbeat as a song is alright and this performance was pretty good. So good that it looks pre-recorded, which I think it is. So I still have doubts on whether Enrique can really sing live while I definitely know Nicole can sing, regardless of whether this was pre-recorded or not. Check it out.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 12:44 PM | comment link here





Tuesday, October 5, 2010
Jason DeRulo - The Sky's The Limit [Music Video Premiere]



Nothing much going on in Jason DeRulo's latest music video for his upcoming single The Sky's The Limit. Besides the fact that it's still not as In My Head, though a lot less annoying compared to Ridin' Solo, DeRulo's been a hit worldwide and I'm sure this one will conitinue his success internationally.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:50 PM | comment link here





Taylor Swift new track: Speak Now



Just a couple of weeks away from her third album release Speak Now, country/pop starlet Taylor Swift has gained herself a Top 3 hit with Mine when it debuted at #3 on the Hot 100 a good couple of weeks ago. I wish she'd release a brand new single from the album since Mine has lost a little momentum but instead, Swift will be releasing a brand new song from the set every week on iTunes, following in the footsteps of Carrie Underwood and Katy Perry who did pretty much the same thing with Play On and Teenage Dream respectively. So the first promo single is Speak Now, the title track and it opens with acoustic guitars, slowly building up into a midtempo, light-hearted pop/country song. So, it's obvious Swift has stuck to her winning formula. I'm getting a little sick of Mine so I could definitely do with some new songs. Enjoy!

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:54 PM | comment link here





Jenifer Hudson on Live With Regis & Kelly



Looking fit and fab is Jennifer Hudson who dropped by Live With Regis And Kelly talking about her new svelte figure, shooting her upcoming movie in Winnie is South Africa and the new album, which was actually all I wanted to listen to. Apparently record label exec Clive Davis gets a bigger say regarding the songs to be on her album. To that, I say, WHAT THE HECK?! Oh Hollywood.. Nevertheless, she barely even talked half a minute on her new album when she was cut off which means she didn't spill much juice regarding new music on her album. Oh well.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:38 PM | comment link here





Monday, October 4, 2010
Big News: Take a listen to clips from Katharine McPhee's Christmas record!



After transforming into a platinum blonde for her sophomore album Unbroken, pop songstress Katharine McPhee has decided to return to her brunette roots for her upcoming and first Christmas record Christmas Is The Time To Say I Love You which will be released through Verve Forecast Records October 12th. The album will consists of covers of Christmas classics although there will be an original titled It's Not Christmas Without You, a ballad McPhee effortlessly pulls off. Take a listen to clips from the album through Amazon below and hopefully this one will shift some units since it's a Christmas album and everyone shall know what a beautiful singer McPhee is.

Source: HERE

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 5:17 PM | comment link here





Jessica Mauboy - Get 'Em Girls live @ NRL Grand Finals



Okay. So. Here's Aussie pop/R&B/urban songstress Jessica Mauboy's first live televised performance of Get 'Em Girls and I'm sorry to say I was not impressed. It's obvious to see Jess lipsynched her way through the entire performance and seemed a little tired. It just seemed like she was randomly picked out on the streets while walking back home and shoved on this stage to perform. So she wasn't bursting with any kind of energy whatsoever and the dancing was just weird.

Hopefully, some other LIVE performances will redeem this uninspiring performance. Why, Jessica, why?! Oh yes, below is the album cover which I once again, dislike. It looks too copy and paste. Hopefully the music's good.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:31 PM | comment link here





Emily Osment - Lovesick live at Good Day New York



Disney star (who did not sign with Disney's Hollywwod Records) Emily Osment paid Good Day New York a visit to perform Lovesick, the second single off her upcoming album Fight Or Flight. The song itself is pretty infectious, but it's club-loving pop sound to it is lost in this live performance. And yes, it is actually live. Sure, her vocals are hardly mindblowing but hey, the song itself is pretty good. Check out the performance above.

Also, you can go to JSYK.com to listen to full album there. It's.. interesting for the most part. I recommend checking out Marisol.

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 4:20 PM | comment link here





Saturday, October 2, 2010
Mariah Carey new track: Oh Santa!



Right. So here it is. The lead single of Mariah Carey's followup Christmas album of her multi-platinum selling Christmas album released more than a decade ago. Nevertheless, after a less than spectacular album sales for her last studio release Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel, perhaps this is the album to put her back on top. Oh Santa is an uptempo track sure enough to get everyone into the Christmassy mood. I'd be interested to see how well this does. Enjoy!

View the official single cover for HERE

Download Link: HERE
Download Link 2: HERE
Download Link 3: HERE

Labels:

Music Reviews 10 @ 10:26 AM | comment link here





Friday, October 1, 2010
Billboard Update



Bruno Mars continues his Hot 100 domination with Just The Way You Are leading the pack at #1. Eminem and Rihanna's Love The Way You Lie has slipped however, falling to #3 while Katy Perry's Teenage Dream moves up to #2 after briefly falling out of the Top 3 at #4 last week. Rihanna's new single Only Girl (In The World) falls 5 spots to #8 this week after leaping up to #3 last week. I remember this happening to Taylor Swift's Mine after it made a glittering debut at #3, it kind of went downhill from then on. This week, Mine sits outside the Top 10 at #11 this week while Ke$ha's Take It Off falls a spot to #12 this week. The Glee Cast have invaded the Hot 100 once again after the first episode of Season 2 premiered last week and Empire State of Mind has made a debut at #21, Telephone at #23, Billionaire at #28, Listen at #38 and What I Did For Love at #51. OneRepublic has managed to reach yet a new peak with their latest single Secrets which is definitely a slow burner. Adam Lambert's latest single If I Had You has lost some steam, dropping to #31 this week after entering Top 30 territory last week at #30. Entering Top 40 ground this week is Daughtry, whose latest single has reached a new peak of #40 this week while it continues to climb. Sara Bareilles' King of Anything looks like it's a long distance runner as it bounces up to #41 this week after falling to #45 last week. Selena Gomez' A Year Without Rain rebounds back up to #53 this week.

Zac Brown Band's You Get What You Give makes a debut at #1 this week while Maroon 5's latest studio album Hands All Over debuts behind it at #2. Selena Gomez & The Scene's sophomore album A Year Without Rain makes a debut at #4 this week. Katy Perry's Teenage Dream drops to #13 this week while Fantasia's third album Back To Me falls to #16 this week. Falling really fast is Sara Bareilles' second album Kaleidescope Heart falls seven more spots to #19 this week in only its third week. Colbie Caillat's second album returns to #168 on the chart.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:47 PM | comment link here





Diana Vickers - My Wicked Heart [Music Video Premiere]



Didn't see this one coming. Anyway. The X Factor (UK) has produced chart-topping stars like Leona Lewis, Alexandra Burke, JLS and more, but none have been as quirky as Diana Vickers. Her debut single Once stormed the UK Charts at #1 and her debut album Songs From The Tainted Cherrytree made it to #1 as well. However, her follow-up single The Boy Who Murdered Love didn't do quite as well, only making a peak at #36. Perhaps it lacked the ginormous chorus and production beats of Once. Well, if that's the case, My Wicked Heart will be a hit. I'll admit I didn't like it upon first listen but it's definitely growing on me, and sort of brings to mind Pixie Lott's Boys And Girls except it's a lot more playful.

The music video is.. Colourful. And it shows Diana at her very own circus. Interesting.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 3:24 PM | comment link here





Justin Bieber - U Smile [Music Video Premiere]



The video is rather boring and song's chorus makes me cringe. Oh well.

Labels: ,

Music Reviews 10 @ 2:41 PM | comment link here